We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent seafood with Nice Beachside Ambiance”
Review of Sunset Grille

Sunset Grille
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In business since 1990, we're located #SomewhereOnA1A across from the beach! We have several seating areas for laid back dining. Whether you're interested in dining indoors, outdoors in the beautiful open air on our first floor deck, first floor patio (which is dog friendly!)Or something even more laid back up on the second story deck, we can accommodate you! Also, our second story deck is wheelchair accessible! We're proud to be able to say that ours is an award winning menu with the best food on the beach!
St. Augustine
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood with Nice Beachside Ambiance”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Sunset Grille is always a treat. You know that the food is going to be good, and you know it's going to be fun as well--such a nice combination. The atmosphere is casual, so you can relax and enjoy your lunch or dinner. My husband and I had two of our favorites--he the fish and chips, and I the coconut shrimp with pina colada dipping sauce (yum!). We began with a cup of the New England clam chowder, which was delicious. Our server, despite the very busy restaurant, was attentive, pleasant, and efficient--he couldn't do enough for us. My coconut shrimp was actually an appetizer, but you can order it as an entree. The shrimp are large and succulent--better than some of the more highly touted places for shrimp in my opinion; so, if you aren't in the mood for a complete dinner, you'll be more than satisfied with the appetizer portion, and you can steal a french fry or two from your companion's dinner to round things out! We try to go early in order to get parking and avoid a long wait--usually before six will get you a hassle free entry--but it is a very popular place, so you can almost always expect a little competition for that parking place or table. It is worth it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank magnoliamissy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetGrilleA1A, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Grille, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to post your review. Our locals are a vital part of our business so we're always glad to hear from one of ours! We hope you'll come back in to see us again soon SomewhereOnA1A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,550
    1,191
    362
    108
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I wasn't expecting anything more than a burger and fries from a restaurant across from the beach. The windows were open to let in the ocean breeze. What a surprise! The burgers are terrific. But try one of their salads with fried cheese, chowders, or any of their other menu items. You won't be sorry! Go when the weather is nice enough for them to open the windows and enjoy the ocean breeze too!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pogo07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetGrilleA1A, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Grille, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review! We're glad you enjoyed your visit with us and hope you'll come back in to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
175 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Go Here To Eat”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Great restaurant. Great food.. Try the wings or the seafood salad. It's a must go to restaurant if in Saint Augustine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Father T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetGrilleA1A, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Grille, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We're always happy to read a review from our locals and hope you'll be back in to see us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian River, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Seafood”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Tried the Sunset Grille our second evening in St. Augustine, Florida. We found the portions to be quite large and included one or two sides. Loved the Coconut Shrimp with a Pina Colada dipping sauce & a side salad with key lime vinaigretta. The wait staff were friendly and very efficient. Prices were moderate. Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pattytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetGrilleA1A, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Grille, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to post your review. We're happy you enjoyed your visit with us and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great beach restaurant”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is one of the best restaurants at the beach. The décor is tastefully beachy but not over the top. The food is always delicious and everything is consistent. You may have to wait to get a seat but I assure you that its worth it. The plates are always served with generous portions of deliciousness that you can't get everywhere. Who else has an inverted toasted ciabatta bread seafood salad sandwich served with battered fries? The value is great for the food, the food is delicious and the service is outstanding. I highly recommend going on a whim or taking out of towners to visit this restaurant. Show them what living near the beach is all about.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetGrilleA1A, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Grille, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We're always happy to hear from our North Florida locals and hope you'll be back in to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Grille also viewed

 
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 

Been to Sunset Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing