We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual Dining and Good Food”
Review of Sunset Grille

Sunset Grille
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: In business since 1990, we're located #SomewhereOnA1A across from the beach! We have several seating areas for laid back dining. Whether you're interested in dining indoors, outdoors in the beautiful open air on our first floor deck, first floor patio Or something even more laid back up on the second story deck, we can accommodate you! Also, our second story deck is wheelchair accessible! We're proud to be able to say that ours is an award winning menu with the best food on the beach!
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stopped here for lunch and were very pleased with the service, food and prices. Portions are ample (1/2 pound burgers!) almost big enough to split. The usual nautical theme in the decor and the dining is strictly casual. No view to speak of but they do offer outdoor patio dining. I would like to go back and check out their dinner menu. Pretty popular but the day we went it wasn't crowded and the service was very good. Good bar scene. Lots of free parking. Worth a stop next time you are in St Augustine Beach and it's right on A1A Beach Blvd.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetGrilleA1A, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Grille, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your visit with us!

Lori
Sunset Grille Internet Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,661)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4,060 - 4,064 of 4,662 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

I had not been to the Sunset Grille in 6 or more years, and I was a little concerned as I pulled into the parking lot that "things might have changed".

It did look like they'd redone the outside a little. But the food was just as I remembered. Very good.

I had the conch chowder, and S and I both had the Ahi Tuna sandwich, which was excellent.

Our waiter was Lex and he was friendly and attentive.

A very nice late dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OldRoadWarrior60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetGrilleA1A, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Grille, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

So glad you came back to see us! We've definitely made some major changes in recent years, but our dedication to great food and great service hasn't changed. Hope you'll come back to see us again soon!

Lori
Sunset Grille Internet Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Recently, while visiting St. Augustine Beach, my husband and I ate at the Sunset Grille. Both of us had the lightly fried shrimp with two sides (We chose baked potatoes and cole slaw, but other choices were French fries, beans and rice, green beans, side salad, rice, or corn.). The food was presented nicely and was piping hot. Other people in our group got the fried goat cheese salad with grilled chicken or grilled shrimp. The salad was huge and all of us agreed that our food was great. Our server was Christine who was pleasant, efficient, and accurate with the orders. Observing the other servers in the area, they all appeared to be exceptional. The restaurant must be liked by many people because even though it was a Monday night, there was a waiting line when we exited. When we were in the parking lot, we looked up to the sky and were rewarded with a spectacular sunset that looked like it was on fire. The restaurant is across from the beach.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 19HappyTraveler94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetGrilleA1A, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Grille, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you so much for your review! We're glad you had a good time with us! Hope you'll be back again to see us.

Lori
Sunset Grille Internet Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

It was...Eh. Not good. Not awful. Just kina ewh toward the end. The views were beautiful and the location tempting so we tried it. I'd have done better in-town I think.

Thank Darelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

You will not be disappointed.Servers are the best on the beach,at both lunch and dinner.The food is always fresh and prepared properly.Mike and Pete,run a tight ship,and the customer is always right.

1  Thank Revele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Grille also viewed

 
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 

Been to Sunset Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing