We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Than a Fishing Lure!”
Review of BlackFly

BlackFly
Reserve with OpenTable
BlackFly is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Zorayda Ave
Transit: A very short taxi ride from downtown.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“More Than a Fishing Lure!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I live in St. Augustine and this is our favorite place to take out of town guests for dinner. The service has always been great and the food fresh and well prepared. Although I've not tried it yet, the Mac and Lobster dish seems to be very popular. I always go for the fresh catch.

BTW...the restaurant is named for a fishing lure.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Penelope042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    131
    37
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chester, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good seafood”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Our first visit to St. Aug Beach. This place was suggested to us. When we arrived we were hesitant as it did not look impressive outside and the indoor décor, while OK, was not quite what we expect in a higher end seafood restaurant. We stayed anyway and were rewarded with a very good, meal. We would return. It was a bit pricey but not unreasonably so given the location and the quality of the food.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“With a name like that it has to be good!”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Really good food in a very comfortable setting. The dishes were very tasty and fairly priced. The linguine with clams got top marks in our group. Pity it's not nearer to where we live!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3rdrocktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
158 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best kept secret revealed”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This restaurant has amazing food, a full service bar...a terrific "Winey Wednesday" each week, is easily walkable from downtown St. Augustine, and if you drive, has off-street parking. Try the salmon. It is truly wonderful!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank seawitchflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Great Find in St Augustine”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Excellent food, great wine list, and good service - the restaurant Trifecta. There were four of us who dined and we all gave a thumbs up to our meals. Very nice environment and ambiance. Will definitely go back soon.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BlackFly also viewed

Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 

Been to BlackFly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing