We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Than Average Mexican Food”

Playa Chac-Mool Mexican Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Tuesday-saturday 11:00a.m. - 9:00 P.m.sunday 11:00 A.m. - 8:00 P.m.monday Closed
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Better Than Average Mexican Food”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

We had driven past this small restaurant several times, and decided to give it a try recently. It is very small, and simply furnished inside but the food is really good and different than most Mexican or Tex-Mex places we have visited. It is apparent that they cook from scratch, and know what they are doing. The food is well seasoned, and the dishes we tried were excellent. The folks who cook and serve are very friendly, during one slow time the owner picked up his guitar to serenade for a bit. Most of the customers seemed to be locals who are regulars. We plan to return to try more of the interesting looking dishes on the menu.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    87
    34
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Small Restaurant, Big Flavor”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

When we arrived, we were disappointed at how small the restaurant was and the plain decor. However, the service the margarita, only $2.99 for happy hour was and the food were terrific. It was $18. total& tax & tip for 1 Margarita and dinner for 2. Can't beat that!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue in reho K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
2 reviews
“Great Mexican Restaurant”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My family eats here every time we visit St. Augustine and it is delicious. I love the grilled tilapia with beans, rice, guac and tortillas. It is family owned and run ... from the chefs to the servers. You will never have bad service. As some people noted, the furnishings are simple. But what really matters is that the food is delicious and the staff is sweet and attentive.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ATL2ORL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I traveled to St. Augustine with my sister, and our most frequented restaurant was Playa Chac-Mool. It had a very authentic Mexican feel to it and was absolutely delicious. The margaritas are a very generous size, and the chicken tacos were to die for. The tortilla chips and guacamole were scrumptious. The servers were incredibly kind and friendly.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank elle_lambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Interestingly great!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We arrived in St Augustine Beach late for a weekend anniversary and Playa was next door to our place ... so we gave it a shot. From a furnishings perspective, the restaurant wasn't all the great. Basic chairs, concessions at the checkout, beverage cooler in the dining area. It actually had us wondering if we should have gone elsewhere. We stuck with is, though, and were nicely rewarded. The Ceviche was fantastic while the fish tacos were adequate . The owner's father sang a few songs for us and the atmosphere, beyond the furnishings, was warm and enjoyable. Overall a great experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NSRRDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Chac-Mool Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 

Been to Playa Chac-Mool Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing