We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible place..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 St. Augustine Beach
wellston,oh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible place..”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

I had booked two rooms for me and family.There was dog poop between the adjoining doors.The carpet was so dirty you had to wear shoes all the time.I killed some type of bug in bath tub and the cleaning person never cleaned tub. Just left it there.The pool was green and dirty. We booked and paid in advance for four nights which was non-refundable.We had to stay no matter what. Good thing there was plenty of sightseeing to do. I would not recommend this place.

Room Tip: Don't go by the photos they post showing there hotel. It is not what you get all the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbishopWellston_oh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    195
    159
    86
    66
See reviews for
263
230
34
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Valrico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Great place to stay, convenient to beach and restaurants. Extremely clean rooms. Pets accepted and rooms do not smell. Would highly recommend to other travelers with pets. Convenient to St, Austine Fort. Would definitely stay there again and again.

Room Tip: Had room one room away from corner. Very quiet room is very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Clean hotel. Across from the beach. Biggest disappointment was that there were beach renovations going on and tgr beach across the street was closed. Had to go a mile down to get to the beach.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corrie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

Right across the beach from Anastasia Island State Park on the Atlantic Ocean and on my favorite road in the world A 1 A. The price is great, the people are nice and it is clean.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank foxygatorfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

We live right here in town and about once a month husband and I rent a room on the beach for three days to have a mini vacation. This was the first time we stayed at the Super 8, thanks to Priceline's name your own price. The rooms are very nice, compared to the other hotels on the beach in this price range. Very clean rooms with nice bedspreads and marble showers, mini fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, iron...we were impressed with the cleanliness. The outside is just as clean as the inside, while the grounds in front of the hotel (which are NOT part of this property) are a bit run down, the hotel property itself is immaculate. There is a swimming pool and a hot tub, both of which are clean and sparkly, and we had no problem getting in them as during the day during the week there is not alot of activity here. The staff was very friendly and joked with us when we were checking in....we are NOT morning people so we did not take advantage of the continental breakfast, but the breakfast area looked clean and cute. Overall the place was pretty quiet during a mid week stay in May and we were high fiving ourselves for finding a new place to stay on our monthly getaways. But alas....around 10 pm on the first night my husband went to get a bottle of gatorade out of the refrigerator and a german cockroach ran across the fridge. Boo!! . That was the ONLY one we saw during two nights in that room, but that ends that. Hopefully this was just a fluke, I would like to think, as this place is really clean otherwise, but we know the difference between the Florida "palmetto bugs" and the nuisance nasty german cockroaches, this one even dropped his egg case on the top of the fridge. Sigh. Oh well. Honestly, that one little bug changed this review from 5 stars to 3. I'm a city girl so it didnt' freak me out TOO bad, but it ruined my husband's whole trip. He just kept thinking they were going to stow away in our luggage. I feel bad even posting this review, as I know the management reads these and works to correct any complaints, which I think is super cool of them, and I don't want to steer any business away from them as they are nice people and this really is a nice clean place. I know it is hard when you have refrigerators and microwaves in every room to keep bugs out and hopefully this was just a minor thing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hppiefrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

We came in for one night in St Augustine and this hotel gave us a great price on priceline right around $50. We checked in at 11 P.M. the staff was very pleasant at both our check in and check out. The hotel is clean and it was right near the beach. The beach was closed for sand fixing so they wouldn't let us walk on the beach (April 2012) so hopefully on your visit it will be open. We did walk near the beach and it was right across the street. We took advantage of the continental breakfast in the morning. It was cereal, muffins, toast, juice and some fruit. This was a short drive to the historic district around 10 minutes. The hotel was a super 8 but it was one of the nicer super 8's out there. The parking was free and at 11 PM there were still spots outside our room. You can easily take your car down to the Trolley car and there is free parking down there. We were told there was a shuttle out to the beach but the hotel staff advised us to just take our car and it went smoothly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iowaloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
146 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed 1 night at the Super 8 on St Augustine Beach. Except for a musty smelling room it wasnt bad. The hotel is worn but clean and thats all we wanted. Pretty typical of most the older hotels in town or on the beach. We didnt use the small pool but we did go to the public beach/pier a block or so south of the hotel. Plenty of restaurants nearby too. 10 minutes to get to the historical area. Its not cheap at peak seasons but its the cheapest one you will find on the beach in that area that is decent. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chevelletodd72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Augustine Beach
1.2 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
0.0 mi away
Regency Inn & Suites
Regency Inn & Suites
#49 of 79 in St. Augustine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN St. Augustine Beach Inn
BEST WESTERN St. Augustine Beach...
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
1.7 mi away
St Augustine Island Inn
St Augustine Island Inn
#50 of 79 in St. Augustine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 St. Augustine Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 St. Augustine Beach

Property: Super 8 St. Augustine Beach
Address: 311 A1a Beach Blvd, Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32080-5901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 St. Augustine Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Super 8 St. Augustine Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 St. Augustine Beach Hotel Saint Augustine Beach
Super 8 Saint Augustine
Super Eight Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Super 8
Saint Augustine Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing