We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St Augustine BEACH is great...this place, not so much.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Augustine Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beach Club at St Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Seems everyone else has nice things to say, but I see many of them are talking about the beach ,not the hotel. The beach is beautiful! This place is clean, and the location is good. However, the staff were less than friendly (not really "unfriendly", just didn't give a darn!). The beds are as hard as rocks and I woke up each morning barely able to move. In addition, the first day we arrived they had no water service, and weren't sure when they might. It was off for over 12 hours! Plus, they offered no beach chairs (as the binder in the room suggested) so it was a bit difficult to enjoy any time lounging on the beach.
I'm sure there are lots of other - much nicer - places to stay. We only went here because it was part of RCI and we had points to spend. Next time we will pick someplace else.

Room Tip: If you value your back, stay somewhere else!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vbailey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMCFlorida, Manager at The Beach Club at St Augustine, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear about your back. We have memory foam on top of our mattresses to make them more comfortable, but everyone's preferrence in firmness is different. We have different mattress types in each building and we have found that generally if a guest finds the mattress in one building to be uncomfortable to them, they are usually comfortable with the mattresses in the other building. If you're able to stay with us again, please contact us ahead of time and we would be happy to accommodate your needs. I want to apologize for the water issue and thank you for being understanding about it. It was not expected to be off for so long. We are glad that you enjoyed our town and beaches!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
There are newer reviews for The Beach Club at St Augustine
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 264 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

We travel to St. Augustine several times a year to visit our son. We have stayed a many different locations over the years and by far our favorite is The Beach Club.The staf always goes above and beyond to assure everyone has the best vacation possible.As most of the staff has been there for many years they have an abundance of knowledge of the area and always offer up the best advice on dinning and attractions to visit during our stay.We have always been treated as if we are part of The Beach Club Family,where most places just treat you as a customer.The pool is by far the best keep pool at any location and the maintenance staff does an awesome job on the grounds and up keep of the building. In a perefect world it would all be The Beach Club.

Room Tip: Talk to the staff for the best tips on dinning and things to see in town
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Our family has enjoyed The Beach Club at St. Augustine for the past 7 summers. We have always had such a wonderful experience there, from the time our children were small and now that they are teenagers, there is something to do for everyone. The beach is clean and spacious and the views are spectacular. The grounds are kept immaculate and the staff is always very friendly and helpful. The town has so much to see and do but most of all we enjoy how family-oriented it is. The highlight of our summer every year is our trip to Florida. Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: The rooms on the North side (ending in "8") are quieter because the doors are solid rather...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We had a great time at The Beach Club. From taking in the history of the nation's oldest city to doing absolutely nothing, this place accommodates. The units and property are beautiful. Great ocean front location and the most accommodating staff. Great for all ages. I would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband and I bought into The Beach Club at Saint Augustine about 26 years ago. The management and staff are so friendly and helpful. The Beach Club has only gotten better through the years with all the upgrades to stay current. The pool and the grounds are well kept and the rooms have everything you need and if they don’t have the item you need just ask and the staff will get it for you. We look forward to a quiet fun memorable getaway where there is so much to see and explore. My favorite thing to do is to ride bikes on the beach and go as far as you can. The beach is just steps away and the town of Saint Augustine is around the corner. This year my eldest son will be going with his wife and baby girl. I know they will have a good time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We are timeshare owners here and look forward to our annual stay. We have even paid to exchange here through a different property because we enjoy it so much. St. Augustine Beach is fairly restrictive about high rises and commercialism. So if it's the beach you're wanting in a little bit quieter way, this is the place - kind of like Daytona without the crowds. Only 6 miles from downtown, which is the oldest city in the US, and within a mile for groceries. Sightseeing in a 400 year old city can hardly be described along with the many unique shopping opportunities. It's also about 15-20 miles to two outlet malls, depending on which route you take. We have watched the area develop over the last 28 years, yet keep its particular charm. The amazing staff here has changed so infrequently that it is like they are part of our family - really, our other home. There have been lots of upgrades to the grounds and units providing many amenities, including use of a health club and tennis courts. And so many restaurants to choose from within a very close proximity! Planned activities are available on a daily basis and many suggestions are provided to offer multiple choices of things to do in the area. Several state parks and gardens are also close by if you want to take that hike and have a picnic. The Beach Club accommodates all ages and family needs and is always a wonderful place to vacation.

Room Tip: Ocean Trace road runs right into the Atlantic from A1A and is on the south side of the building whic...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnTheGoBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMCFlorida, Manager at The Beach Club at St Augustine, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Glad you always enjoy your stay with us! Thank you for sharing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We have been staying at the Beach Club for 20 years. The grounds are beautiful. Every unit has a view of the ocean. It's a great location with several nice resturants, shopping, and attractions close by. The conos are well maintained and have been upgraded in the past 3 years. The staff is wonderful. My family goes every year. I highly recommend the Beach Club. It's a great vacation spot!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Augustine Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
881 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,107 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#4 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
807 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
#6 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,342 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western St. Augustine Beach Inn
Best Western St. Augustine Beach...
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Club at St Augustine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Club at St Augustine

Address: 2 Ocean Trace Rd, Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32080-6972
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range: $518 - $518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury one and two bedroom condominiums with the Atlantic Ocean just steps away! All condominiums offer fully equipped kitchens, 2 or 3 cable televisions, DVD/VCRs, private balcony or porch, central heat and air, private phones and coin operated laundry facilities on site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beach Club At St Augustine Hotel Saint Augustine Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing