We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the Best!!”
Review of The Ocean Gallery

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Augustine Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ocean Gallery
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Best of the Best!!”
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

We have been doing family vacations in St. Augustine for over 25 consecutive years...the last 2 at The Ocean Gallery. They do a great job of maintaining the property and are very efficient and responsive relative to housekeeping and/or maintenance needs. The rental office is on-site and the staff is very accomadating and a pleasure to work with. After years of staying at a different property, we've all agreed that The Ocean Gallery is the best and have re-booked for next summer.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawgy-Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    25
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
60
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Great location, great service, the person in front office even suggested places to eat. Room was clean. Had no problems with anything. This was our first trip to st. Augustine and we loved it.Also a kid friendly place. Our kids are 5 and under and they had a blast. It was not crowded or loud like some condos. Which was a plus. Wonderful experience!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zactiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

my review of this property is a little late, but I still wanted to provide some feedback based on some of the experiences I have read about. I found our unit through VRBO Listing 258375. Its a 2 bed/2 bath condo which was absolutely beautiful, well stocked with all the ameneties and comfortable. The checkin staff was not very delightful and since this is an individually owned property you essentially have to contact the unit owner to have your questions answered or get any help. The owners are extremely nice though. The view of the ocean is very minimal and the distance is really to far to hear the ocean waves. The spray from the little lagoon was a nice touch, but if want want good ocean views this is not your place. At the time when we went they had a beach buggy you could use to trek your stuff to the beach/pool and a couple of beach chairs. The grounds are very well kept. The pool is extremely nice and they do have outdoor grills but they are rather deep and our boys singed their hairs a little bit (lol). I would recommend bringing some extra long tongs. This unit is not near the elavator but is the closest to the parking lot as it is the first unit on the second floor. You do have a good walk to get to the beach from the bridge passing over the seaoats etc. and there are steps you must walk up/down on to get to the beach. This resort is not suited for handicap people in my opinion. Its an easy drive to everything. There wasn't anything I didn't like about the area and eventually want to go back to finish going through the historic downtown area. The complex is also close to grocery stores. There is not enough time in a week to experience this area and enjoy the beach too. This area of the city is very clean and isn't junked up at all. I felt safe everywhere we went. I definately recommend the alligator farm. The only downfall was there were no restaurants in the area serving all you can eat crab- there was one place that advertised they did (can't remember the name) but when we got there they said it was too expensive to serve all you can eat. It may be different now, but don't get your hopes up if your a crab lover.

Room Tip: beach access is not suited for handicap people and is not close to the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UBTRU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012 via mobile

We've stayed at Ocean Gallery for nearly every spring break for the last 9 years. We always get one of the ocean facing units. We have never been disappointed. We already have reservations for July 2012. A great place to stay in a great beach community!!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Spent 9 days in a condo at Ocean Gallery. No wireless connection in the condo, outlets didn't work, man working in condo when I arrived, sliding door didn't open, screen door didn't open, old tv, mold in shower, carpets need replaced, bug spray co. had key to condo and walked right in, keypad at the gate to access beach doesn't work half the time so you get locked out, pillows on beds were flat and had gross odor, beds were old and not comfortable, was given two bath towels and two wash clothes for 9 days, etc. I will never rent from this place again, not worth the money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Indiana22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We have been completely been blown away and blessed with such an amazing vacation spot at Oceans Gallery. It is such a safe, secure, and fun place to be. The indoor/outdoor heated pool is wonderful and our condo was only 300 ft from the ocean. Private beach access, racquet ball court as well as tennis and basketball, fitness center, and sauna are some of the perks of staying here. Will definitely be booking my next Florida vacation here!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NurseMarsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I have stayed several times in VDL 78 its a two bedroom two bath unit. It is completely updated with hardwood floors, new kitchen and baths and has a beautiful sun room. The resort has many ammenities and everything is always clean and neat. The private beach access is wonderful. We love St. Augustine and it's a short distance between downtown and Ocean Gallery. I would definitely recommend Ocean Gallery.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Augustine Beach hotels
2.1 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
865 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,099 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western St. Augustine Beach Inn
Best Western St. Augustine Beach...
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
748 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
#6 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,310 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#4 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Gallery

Property: The Ocean Gallery
Address: 4600 A1a S, Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32080-7440
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Saint Augustine Beach
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront premium condominium resort with array variety of condos from one bedroom to three bedrooms, each offering view of the water; either ocean front or ocean side view, pool or tropical lagoon views. Vacation rentals offered from two nights minimum, weekly and monthly. Secured gated, family oriented, friendly community offers state of the art amenities right on the beach! 4 outdoor pools and hot tubs, one indoor/outdoor heated pool with hot tub, saunas, fitness room, beach chairs and umbrellas, beach cruisers and much, much more to explore through our concierge service. Beautifully decorated individually owned condos offer comfort of home away from home with fully equipped kitchens, fully furnished bedrooms and living spaces, offering enclosed patios or opened balconies on all of the units. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ocean Gallery Hotel Saint Augustine Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing