We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint and authentic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kings Head British Pub

Kings Head British Pub
Ranked #122 of 571 Restaurants in Saint Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $14
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are an authentic British pub serving fresh homemade food Famous for beer battered fish and chips and roast beef and yorkshire pudding every Sunday. we have British beers on tap and a variety of bottled beers. We also have cider. Come and relax by our fire when the weather is chilly with friends. Or sit outside in the summer on our patio. We have a large car park, so you have no problems parking your car or motor bike. The car club (British, of course) meet the first sunday of each month. Come and see what we have to offer.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quaint and authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Hidden gem of a pub. Traditional English fare and excellent atmosphere. If you go try the steak and kidney pie!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mwboyer74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    51
    8
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Authentic Traditional British Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Its decor & setting are truly that of Bristish Pub with the correewct atmosphere & an excellent menu of ' Britsh Grub ' as found in pubs in the UK with a variety of traditional dishes all v well prepared & presented ... The service is wonderfully friendly & effecient ,,,, as an appetizer try many of the delicious items such as the Scotch Eggs & Sausage Rolls afterwhich the Fish & Chips are hard to beat ,,, but then the 'Steak & Kidney Pie' is excellent
Can Highly Recommend

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Plenty of beer, outgoing waitstaff, good food, darkish lighting, plenty of stuff to look at on the walls, the obligatory dart boards, the story of a resident ghost. That's it....What else could you want. Order the fish & chips. Lightly coated and not greasy. Good stuff. Fair prices.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank steveawningman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, USA
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Saturday Night with Friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Awsome, cozy, quaint place with great food, awesome beer & friendly help.
Good prices....great selection of beers and they had Angry Orchard on tap!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
142 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The best fish and chips in Florida!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I've eaten here with my spouse or family for the past five years and love it. I'm very picky about fish and chips, as I lived in New England, and Kings Head is hands down the closest you can get to the quality of cod they serve up there. It's about $15, which may seem pricey, but you get what you pay for. My husband loves the curry chicken, and the rest of my family has raved about the burgers.

As far as service, it can be inconsistent in quality. There is one server we've had several times, and she is wonderful-friendly and attentive. The other ones can be slow and not as friendly.

The interior is great, albeit a little too dark. It's very authentic; you feel like you've been transported to a real pub in England. They don't have a lot of seats, so if you come with a large party, you'll have some trouble.

Kings Head is located on US 1 North, past the St Augustine airport. It's a little out of the way, but it's worth the trip. Look for the British telephone booth and you'll know you're there!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vlmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kings Head British Pub also viewed

 
Saint Augustine, FL
 
Saint Augustine, FL
 

Been to Kings Head British Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing