We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District
Ranked #20 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Very nice hotel. Did have a couple of minor glitches. The weight and exercise room is located on the second floor. And some of the guest would just drop the bar bells and it was very loud and it rattled our room, on our first evening and morning. But as soon as the staff was notified, they took care of the problem.

The outside pool and hot tube area was nice and well kept. But, it is located very close to a busy highway, and there are railroad tracks across the road. But remember, this is a down town hotel. And, the atmosphere was still very nice with palm trees and plants.

I enjoyed my walk to "Old Town" which is very close to the hotel. Then, I walked a little farther to Riley's believe it or not. Then, I continued to all of the shops and attractions. I would say the walk may be just a little more than a mile to the Old Fort and monument.
The rooms were clean, and the television was at least a 32 inch flat screen, with several local and satellite stations. One of the best selections for TV viewing I have ever enjoyed at a hotel.
The bathroom was clean and new. No blower fan, but the shower was awesome. And beds were very comfortable.
I found the FREE breakfast to be very good by hotel standards. They had something different every day.
I would have to say this is a very good place to stay and, Saint Augustine is a very beautiful historic city. It also has lots of shops music and night life.

Room Tip: The second floor hallway did have a slight oder. And, the weight room is located on the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kdarkes, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Rick G,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our property. I was so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and amenities. I will take your recommendations into consideration and see what can be done regarding foliage around the pool area. I was also glad to read that my staff were able to address and rectify any issues that you experienced during your stay. We do appreciate your kind words and look forward to your next visit to St. Augustine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    179
    94
    59
    18
See reviews for
199
268
17
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed here for a wedding, but checked out early. Not typical of a Hampton Inn. Very small room. Smelled musty as if problems with ventilation. No exhaust fan in bathroom. Low water pressure. Breakfast was disappointing. It appears they pre-prepared the mixed fruit in one big bowl causing to all taste odd. Definitely not fresh. Management seemed somewhat disinterested in our concerns. Would not recommend this hotel when staying in the Ancient City.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank gonoles24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kdarkes, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear gonoles24,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at our property here in St. Augustine. I was disappointed to read of the issues you endured and will be sure to resolve them to the best of my ability. I regret that you were dissatisfied with our particular property but do trust that you will enjoy other Hampton properties for your travel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This St. Augustine Hampton Inn hotel was clean and the common area is nicely decorated. It is fairly far away from the historic sections of St. Augustine. The room rate was reasonable but I visited during the off season.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Karen J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kdarkes, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Karen J F,

Thank you for your recent review of our property! We do value your comments and your kind words about our cleanliness and lobby décor were very encouraging. We value and appreciate your business and we do look forward to your next visit to our lovely city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel was clean, breakfast was very good and hotel staff was pleasant and helpful. Rooms were nice, maybe a tad small for the price. Quite a distance from the historical district. Weekday rates are reasonable. Overall enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kdarkes, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Richard R,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us here in St Augustine. I was glad to read you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and that my staff took care of you in a pleasant and efficient manner. We do appreciate your comments and thank you again for choosing Hampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennisville, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

The Hampton is located about 2 miles from the downtown district. It is a beutiful walk to the Vilano Bridge. The staff was very accommodating and kind. If you have allergies or a sensitive nose, you will want to stay on the first floor. The first floor rooms were just remodeled with new wallpaper and carpeting. The others floors have a very strong odor. The breakfast was very good and the afternoon cookies were a treat!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Winnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kdarkes, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Winnie H,

Thank you for the review of your recent stay! I was glad to read you enjoyed our location, breakfast, and afternoon cookies. I will look into the odor you have reported regarding your first room. I was pleased to hear that my staff was able to quickly accommodate your request to move rooms. As you mentioned, we have recently been undergoing renovations and I assume the odors you experienced have something to do with the new carpeting.

Thank you again for your review, we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

My family and I stayed there while taking an impromptu weekend getaway to St. Augustine. We had never been there before, so this location was PERFECT for doing the main tourist things that first timers should do. The check in was VERY efficient and fast, room was great, we were even able to buy tickets for the trolley tours at the front desk. The Front Desk Agent gave us a map of the area, and breakfast was fantastic the next morning. Beds were amazing, Housekeeping staff honest (we left electronics in our room inadvertantly) and we just couldn't have asked for a better stay.

Thanks Hampton Team for making our precious time with our daughter so fun!

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor near the lobby - Room 106 is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muffins_mom_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kdarkes, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear muffins_mom_11,
Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us. It is so great to hear such positive feedback from guests such as yourself. I appreciate your kind words regarding my staff. I feel as though we have a very strong team here at the property and your words certainly reiterate that fact. Thank you for allowing us to accommodate your needs while visiting with family. We look forward to making your next stay just an enjoyable and memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Very friendly staff. We were given good recommendations for restaurants in area. Both the lobby and room were extremely clean. Very generous breakfast offering - a nice variety of food. Yummy fresh baked chocolate chip cookies served at 5 PM each day. The coffee was extremely good. Convenient location to what we wanted to see.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Patrica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kdarkes, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Patricia M,
Thank you for your positive review on our hotel! It means so much for us to read of extreme guest satisfaction. Our entire team strives to make every guest's stay as enjoyable and memorable as possible. By the sounds of things my housekeeping staff exceeded expectation and my front desk staff was able to make some good recommendations. Its guests such as yourself that make our jobs so rewarding so thank you! We look forward to your next visit and hope to see you again very soon!
Your friends at the Hampton-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
1.4 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach
1.6 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#10 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District
Address: 2050 N. Ponce de Leon, St. Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
#25 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District Hotel Saint Augustine
Hampton Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing