We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, rooms need some Renovation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District
Ranked #20 of 79 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location, rooms need some Renovation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Chose this location because the Hampton Inn Saint Augustine Beach was booked. Check in was easy with no issues. The front lobby was very clean and updated, however the rooms were less than desirable and are in need of some renovation. Location is close to historic district which is an added bonus.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MattnBrandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kdarkes, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear MattnBrandi,
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our lobby renovations and look forward to seeing you again once the room renovations are complete. As we are the closest Hampton to the Historic District I appreciate you choosing us as your second choice amongst the Hampton Inns here in St. Augustine. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    178
    94
    59
    18
See reviews for
198
268
17
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Very close to the trolley stops, historic areas, and attractions. The staff were excellent. Rooms were clean and nicely decorated. There was little space in the room, but amenities were convenient. Beds were very comfortable. Showers hot and good water pressure. Breakfast was ample in spite of the large crowd during spring break due to the attendance of the am staff in replenishing frequently.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kdarkes, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Leigh M,
Thank you for such a lovely review of our property! Our team here is working very closely to ensure that all guests have an enjoyable and memorable visit. I was happy to hear that they took such good care of you during your stay and on behalf of all of us here at the Hampton Inn Historic we do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach,VA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

The staff was extremely helpful. The hotel was perfect for touring many local attractions. Breakfast was a bonus with a nice variety of hot and cold options. We would recommend this hotel to all of our friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HD03172013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kdarkes, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear, HD03172013

I am glad see that the location of the hotel was perfect for you and it allowed you visit the sites
you wanted without any difficulties. We do have a nice breakfast and we are glad that you enjoyed it. Please tell your friends about us and we look forward to seeing them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Conveniently located near the historic district but not near the loud bars and restaurants. Front desk personnel very candid and honest with restaurant selections. Spacious breakfast area. I seek out this brand often and knew what to expect. Wasn't disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drifly77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kdarkes, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear driffy77,

I am glad to see that you enjoyed your with us and the staff was able to suggest a restaurant for dinner. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I wasn't happy with the location. Unless you are taking the trolley, it is a bit of a walk to St. George Street, which was a bit scarey after dark. The breakfast wasn't bad and the beds were comfortable, but the room was very small and the A/C unit was working poorly. Staff were not very friendly. I waited 20 minutes for coffee to brew, finally had to leave and the staff could have cared less. I think this hotel is way overpriced for what you get and its location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dianna8593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kdarkes, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear dianna8503,

I am sorry to hear of the problems you had with your stay. I will address the problems you had and speak to the staff about your comments. I assure you this is not the norm. I do hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were very happy staying at this hotel. The entire staff was professional, friendly, and helpful. No matter what we asked for, our needs were met. The trolley picking us up at the front door was also a great convenience. We would just ask the front desk to call the trolley service and it was there within a few minutes. The hotel was still under renovation but it looked like the only thing in our room that still needed changing was the carpet and that was supposedly up next to complete. The bathroom was immaculate and the room was clean and spacious. The Lobby was already renovated and was beautiful. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor and loved being close to the Lobby and breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kdarkes, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Judy B

It was nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that staff was able to take care of all your requests. We are planning to replacie all of the carpet in the hotel and this should be
completed very soon. We do look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

They claim to be renovating. Room had very squeaky door, coat hook about to fall off wall, furniture with loose or broken laminate veneer. They brought in a new desk lamp - the shade didn't cover the cfl bulb. There is no bottled water, the thermostat is on the wall about a foot from the bedside - you need reading glasses to use it.
Breakfast was cramped but all there. Cookies are only served from 5 to 6. Sad for A Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JTscarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kdarkes, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear JTscarb,

We are in the middle of our renovations and I am sorry to hear that stay with us was not up
to your standards. We will address the problems that you outlined to us right away.
We do hope that you will come back and see us again after the renovations are done and I am sure that you will have a much better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Augustine hotels
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. A...
#26 of 79 in Saint Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Ba...
#14 of 79 in Saint Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 79 in Saint Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach
1.6 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#9 of 79 in Saint Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District
Address: 2050 N. Ponce de Leon, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine
#25 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District Hotel Saint Augustine
Hampton Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing