We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great Hampton Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District
Ranked #21 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
St. Augustine
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not a great Hampton Inn”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Went for a college trip with my daughter. All staff very friendly but the hotel seems worn. Might have been a lower level hotel (La Quinta maybe?) that was upgraded superficially to meet Hampton standards. No closet in room, just a warddrobe, shower very short (I am 6', shower head was about 5'6"), AC was loud, pool was small and not in great condition or care. Did not see pool towels anywhere. Rest of items were OK but it just was not the best in the Hampton Inn brand. Nothing made it stand out other than friendly service and location.

Room Tip: Was overall a convenient location-close to downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank getaway00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff V, Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear guest ,


I’m Jeff Vallone GM at the Hampton Inn Historic, St. Augustine FL. Thank you for staying with us when you were in town. As GM at this property, I’m sorry that you were unhappy with the condition of our property. We do have planned renovations that will address some of the areas you discussed. Our hotel prides its self on cleanliness and customer service and your review will allow us an opportunity to improve those areas Our intent is to 100% satisfy all our guest.

Thank you Jeff and your friends at the
Hampton Inn Historic St. Augustine fl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    192
    111
    60
    19
See reviews for
228
288
19
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Free parking. Near downtown and most sights. 2 miles from lovely beaches. Good breakfast and friendly staff. Great for a weekend getaway. Nothing fancy.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff V, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear guest,


I’m Jeff Vallone GM at the Hampton Inn Historic, St. Augustine FL. Thank you for your positive feedback! I’m so glad that you enjoyed you visit to the oldest city. It’s our pleasure to offer you great Hampton service, and I’m so glad you chose our hotel for your lodging needs.

Thanks again for staying with us and for reviewing our hotel. I hope you can come back for another visit and we again can provide the accommodations’ and service that makes you feel welcome.

Hope to see you soon!

Jeff and your friends at the
Hampton Inn Historic St. Augustine fl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I was very disappointed with this Hampton Inn. Yes the building my have been older than most however that is not a reason to allow the place to fall apart. The carpet in our room had stains all over the A/C was not the best and the shower was way too small. When you remodel a building it should look almost perfect on the inside. I shouldn't be able to see the sub-floor from my bed. The Hilton in town is a much better deal.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear guest ,


I’m Jeff Vallone GM at the Hampton Inn Historic, St. Augustine FL. Thank you for staying with us when you were in town. As GM at this property, I’m sorry that you were unhappy with the condition of our property. We do have planned renovations that will address some of the areas you discussed. Our hotel prides its self on cleanliness and customer service and your review will allow us an opportunity to improve those areas Our intent is to 100% satisfy all our guest.

Thank you Jeff and your friends at the
Hampton Inn Historic St. Augustine fl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

The receptionist at check in was very nice but not very helpful about restaurants--the breakfoot food was mediocre. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfy-we got connecting rooms which was a great blessing(my mother and daughter were in one room and I was in another) but the pool was dirty and the person at the front desk (different person than at check in) was not very helpful. I do not plan to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AudreyM224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear guest ,


I’m Jeff Vallone GM at the Hampton Inn Historic, St. Augustine FL. Thank you for staying with us when you were in town. As GM at this property, I’m sorry that you were unhappy with the condition of our pool, breakfast food, and the perceived uncaring staff member during you stay at the hotel Our hotel prides its self on cleanliness and customer service and your review will allow us an opportunity to improve those areas. I’m disappointed that we will not be given another chance so that you personally can see how we have improved. I hope your stay with our hotel will not prevent you from staying with other Hilton properties. Our intent is to 100% satisfy all our guest.

Thank you Jeff and your friends at the
Hampton Inn Historic St. Augustine fl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2012

The staff at the Hampton go out of their way to make you feel welcome and to assist you in any way possible. From fresh baked cookies to the freshest scent of linen its a delight staying here, even in the rain. The atmosphere of kindness and gratitude is contagious, even if you're arriving weary and tired. Helpful and knowledgeable staff are ready to assist you above and beyond the usual. I would definitely reccommend to anyone visiting this area. Thank you all for your generosity of spirit.

Kirk and Kathryn

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winfrey w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear Kirk and Kathryn ,


I’m Jeff Vallone GM at the Hampton Inn Historic, St. Augustine FL. Thank you for your positive feedback! I’m so glad that you enjoyed you visit to the oldest city. It’s our pleasure to offer you great Hampton service, and I’m so glad you chose our hotel for your lodging needs.

Thanks again for staying with us and for reviewing our hotel. I hope you can come back for another visit and we again can provide the accommodations’ and service that makes you feel welcome.

Hope to see you soon!

Jeff and your friends at the
Hampton Inn Historic St. Augustine fl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

This was a nice hotel, the receptionist was very helpful and we got a lovely quiet room, and very comfortable beds. The historic district was about a 20 minute walk from the hotel and was a lovely walk. The Fountain of Youth was only about a 15 minute walk. There was no fridge or microwave in the room and the room was a little on the small size but overall for the price very good. The pool was right on the road side and it was a busy road. The breakfast in the morning was very good. Places to eat required a 15 minute walk which when the weather is not too hot is lovely. The sight seeing trains were quite expensive but did take you everywhere and you could get on and off anywhere during the day and get on again when you had looked round - the hotel would sort this out for you.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GOODHANDBAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Guest,


I’m Jeff Vallone GM at the Hampton Inn Historic, St. Augustine FL. Thank you for your positive feedback! I’m so glad that you enjoyed you visit to the oldest city. It’s our pleasure to offer you great Hampton service, and I’m so glad you chose our hotel for your lodging needs. We do have plans to add a fridge and microwave in all the rooms. Hopefully by your next visit to our hotel.

Thanks again for staying with us and for reviewing our hotel. I hope you can come back for another visit and we again can provide the accommodations’ and service that makes you feel welcome.

Hope to see you soon!

Jeff and your friends at the
Hampton Inn Historic St. Augustine fl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Enjoyed our stay. Staff was nice, breakfast good. Rooms relatively quiet. A little too far to walk to downtown but short drive to downtown and vilano beach. Can walk to carousel and park if you have kids. Will stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gatorjanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Guest,


I’m Jeff Vallone GM at the Hampton Inn Historic, St. Augustine FL. Thank you for your positive feedback! I’m so glad that you enjoyed you visit to the oldest city. It’s our pleasure to offer you great Hampton service, and I’m so glad you chose our hotel for your lodging needs.

Thanks again for staying with us and for reviewing our hotel. I hope you can come back for another visit and we again can provide the accommodations’ and service that makes you feel welcome.

Hope to see you soon!

Jeff and your friends at the
Hampton Inn Historic St. Augustine fl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic
1.4 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach
1.6 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#12 of 78 in St. Augustine
633 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District
Address: 2050 N. Ponce de Leon Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2622
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
#25 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District Hotel Saint Augustine
Hampton Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing