We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Usual Hampton Quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn St. Augustine - I-95
Ranked #46 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Stayed at this Hampton Inn, near I-95 in St. Augustine the nights of April 18 and 19, 2011. It is about a 10 minute drive to the Historical District. There is a closer Hampton Inn to the Historic District, but they wanted more than twice the price for a king size bed than was offered at this Hampton Inn. The room was the usual fine quality I have come to associate with Hampton - very clean, comfortable bed, everything well maintained, tastefull decor, staff very nice and friendly, no surprises. Actually there was a surpise. They serve fresh baked cookies in the lobby everynight at 6 PM. Even if you do not return to the hotel until 9 PM there are still plenty of cookies for the taking.

My only problem was some noise issues. They have a refrigerator sitting in a wooden cabinet, and I guess the cabinent becomes an amplifying baffle for the refrigerator. When the compressor came on, the hum was so loud and annoying that I turned the refrigerator off. Next, the AC unit was way too loud, as it seems to be at most motels. If you need to turn the TV louder everytime the AC comes on, and then turn it down when the AC shuts off, the AC unit is too loud. Lastly they the lights in the bathroom and the foyer by the door must have old fluorescent ballasts, because they made loud annoying hums when turned on.

All things considered, i would not hesitate to stay at this Hampton Inn again, but I wish they would address the sources of the noises in the room. I would have given this motel five stars if not for the hums and noises in the room.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cagey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (589)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

510 - 516 of 589 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2011

Initially we selected this motel because of a billboard that we passed 15 miles north of it that said rooms were $49. We stopped around 3pm and there were none of the $49 rooms available, so we had to pay double that! On our way to our room I observed that the elevator floors had been modified, and a non-standard edge created in the doorway of the elevator car. It was loose, incompletely secured with incorrect screws, and it snagged the bottom of my bags as I dragged them onto the car. The other elevator's threshold was similarly altered and posed an even greater trip hazard!
Reaching our room we found the TV to be inoperative, the refrigerator to be warm and the toilet was running. Jiggling the handle did not resolve the issue, lifting the lid and manually lowering the flapper stopped the running after the tank filled, but it would stick open each time it was flushed.
Management was advised and cheerfully changed our room immediately. After failing to gain access to the new room the manager's assistant said that all the rooms on that side of the hall have the door handles in backwards so that one has to LIFT the lever instead of lowering the handle in order to gain access. After that everything was fine, except that the toilet tank had the very same problem with the flapper sticking open after each flush...very annoying!
This has never been our experience at any of the other Hampton's we have always chosen for overnight stays.
The KFC next door was convenient but not worth much as a restaurant!

Room Tip: Call ahead from your cellphone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcunn48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

I was in town for wedding being held near fort but chose here for price. While we had to drive into old city the drive was quick & easy & the staff were very friendly. We escaped the tourist traffic & had access to Publix supermarket, I95 & resturants.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLtrvlr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

I stayed at this location for one night, with our party renting two rooms. Both rooms were nice and spacious, clean and had flat screen TV's.

The staff there were outstanding in making us feel comfortable and welcome. They served fresh cookies at 6pm and the breakfast was good too. Warm and plenty of selection.

The only complaint I have is that two phone calls to Canada of less than 30 minutes total cost $48. This isn't 1995 any more. I made an inquiry about a rate reduction at the desk on check out but was only given a business card of the manager. I was disappointed by that.

Overall, a very friendly place to stay, but do use another service to make long distance phone calls.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nascar3fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Checked in late in evening. Manager was friendly and helpful, even helped resolve internet connection problem. Room was spotless, breakfast was fresh, table clean, staff friendly. Seemed everyone had a smile. Got a call a few days after I left that a garment was left in the room and they were sending it to me. Guess I should have expected that with the level of service.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
1  Thank critic34293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2011

Hotel like new, very clean, comfortable and quiet. Location within 15 minutes to historic district.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knukenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLHoffman, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine - I-95, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2011

Thanks for your review! People are the secret to our success - both our Hampton Guests and our Hampton Team. We appreciate each and every guest - and we especially appreciate the great feedback! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

Stayed one night at the Hampton Inn on SR 16. We arrived a little early and the room was not ready but they checked us in and gave us our keys. We returned after some shopping and dinner at Sonny's Barbecue and the room was ready. The room was as advertised and clean. They forgot the fold away cot but quickly sent one up. The warm cookies were a great snack before bed. The morning breakfast was excellent and plentiful. The lady working the breakfast area worked hard to make sure everything was well stocked. The hot choices were sausage and two types of omellettes. The big hit as usual were the waffles.

Ashly on the front desk was an excellent ambassador for Hampton Inns and she was an asset to the company. She was friendly and always had a smile on her face.

We would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nepean03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLHoffman, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine - I-95, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2011

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We appreciate our people and are glad that it shows. We look forward to having as our guests next time you visit Saint Augustine and thanks for making the Hampton Inn your Home Away form Home!

Sincerely,

Robert Hoffman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott St. Augustine I-95
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott St. Augustine I-95
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites St. Augustine
0.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
#25 of 78 in St. Augustine
892 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Augustine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn St. Augustine - I-95? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn St. Augustine - I-95

Address: 2525 County Road 208, St. Augustine, FL 32092-0503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range: $119 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn St. Augustine - I-95 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn hotel is situated in St. Augustine, Florida near St. Augustine Beach and Ponte Vedra. Enjoy spacious accommodations and exceptional services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn St. Augustine - I-95 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Saint Augustine
Hampton Inn i 95
Hampton Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing