We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fire The Manager”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
World Golf Village Renaissance St. Augustine Resort
Ranked #32 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2009

This place has gone way down the drain. I wittnessed my husband being assulted by some person who gave the police a fake identity. To add insult to injury we were forced to leave. Our version of the events were dismissed. We used to frequent there often,we were very regular good customers. The manager needs some looking at. Its a shame because the food and beverage staff are wonderful . We were victimized there and then treated like trash. I am sure when my husband returns again from Iraq next year we will skip by this place as they do not like Military Officers here, as shown by the manager that was there in October of 08.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BGEFHOLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,007)
There are newer reviews for World Golf Village Renaissance St. Augustine Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

950 - 956 of 1,007 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2009

The world golf village renaissance resort has really improved over the years, we haved stayed at this hotel a number of times and with the recent make over it really shines. The resturant in the hotel is actually quite good, and moderate in price. The staff is excellent, especially the front desk. The hotel has a large pool, and hot tub, and also a huge playground area for the kids. Of course there is Golf ! There is also a little walkway around the village a couple of shops and the Hall of Fame. There is also a resturant located on the walk.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Flyerno.one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2008

My wife and I stayed at this hotel last year during rennovations and had a great experience. We stayed again this yearing following completion of the renovations and the hotel is even better! The Renaissance is located at the World Golf Village in between Ponte Vedra and St. Augustine. It is approximately 5 miles from the St. Augustine outlets located on I-95. The hotel looked fabulous following the completed renovations. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable as are the bathrooms in the room. The food at the hotel is actually good and there is nice bar with ample TVs to watch your favorite team. We have not been disappointed with this hotel and will be back again!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pic15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2008

My company hosted our regional meeting at the Renaissance Resort at the World Golf Village in St Augustine. We all had an exceptional time! The resort has a lot to offer, hotel is in great condition. The staff went over and beyond to make us welcome and their service was outstanding! This team knows what it takes make every guest happy and they are willing to take that extra step to do so. If anyone needs more information, please feel free to contact me via e-mail at gmacias@helmsbriscoe.com

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank passionforhotels29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2008

Was lead to believe that the hotel was 11 miles from historic Saint Augustine, though it was actually more than 20 miles. There was an audible humming sound in several of the rooms. It took us three tries to find a room we could stand to be in. The room doors don't go all the way to the floor, so the noise from the hotel bar is clearly audible until after closing. The concierge was not available at 10:00 a.m. Staff seemed to resent reasonable requests and was not particularly accommodating. There was water on the floor from a leaking toilet, but the maid never seemed to notice it. Room was okay, but definitely not at Marriott's highest standard.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaloAltoIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2008

this hotel is beautiful, brand new! the staff is very accomidating & pleasant, the rooms are great & the beds are awesome...we were there while tropical storm fay was coming through & everyone was so nice...there are great restaurants nearby & downtown st augustine is about 20 minutes away...the laterra spa is awesome!!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beach_mom_leesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2008

We stayed at the RR.atWGV for a long weekend. In Auguest, it is too tough to predict the weather, so we didn't want to stay near the beach, and we weren't willing to sacrifice quality for location, so we decided to stay here basedon other people reviews.

We were looking for a romantic getaway, and we found it. First, let's review the hotel itself. The hotel is about 12 miles north aand west from st.augustine. Up one exit and over about 7 miles to be more precise. The hotel is in a newly constructed area of golfer's haven. 2 amazing jack nicklaus courses are nearby, the world golf hall of fame (you have to pay to go in), a HUGE gold store, bill murray's caddyshack restaurant (typical burgers and wings type place), and the hotel/resort/convention center. The hotel is more of a convention like hotel both in the set up, ammenities, and people there. VERY few kids, but lots of people with name tags.

The staff is amazing, they are very accessible and do help with any request. The restaurant on site was REALLY good. SOO good in fact, that we gave up reservations at cordova 95 (the real expensive place to be hotel based restaurant in town). Food was very high quality, good service, and not to expensive. We split awesome appetizer, had a filet and shrimp (we split because we wanted dessert) and got a dessert all for like 44 dollars but very high quality food, like a fancy restaurant. The room service was great, the bar food was great, thebreakfast was great, and the price of the hotel off season, was fantastic. We got a room for 116 a night, king bed, nice.

The room was big, big bathroom, new shower, new decorations, awesome linens. The only drawbacks are, the design of the hotel is the type where all the rooms open into a center area where when people walk in the noise carries right up, not my favorite hotel design. and the bed itself was average, WAY not as good as the linens or the rest of the hotel, I think they should pitch in a couple more bucks and get some nicer beds.

the concierge was helpful, the GM was heloful (uday), the staff in the restaurant was great. Within walking distance is golf, imax, golf shop, golf museum, and nature trails. thereis a grocery store right nearby too.

downtown st augustine is where the action is. sight seeing, st.george street (kind of like key west without the pukeing college kids, homeless, and bikers), more sighseeing, the harbor (intracoastal). We drove to town and took the trolly around for like 28 bucks each good for 3 days, not really worth th emoney, but informative and cool.

Overall, if you are not planning on driving around, the you must stay at like the hilton or one of the many bandb near st george street or you'll be disappointed. If you have a car, staying at the rennaisance is a no brainer. You are close anough to do what you want, go to the outlets, hang out at a much nicer hotel, get in some golf, some imax, etc, without being smack in the middle of it all. The beach area for the hotel is very nice. The beach on anastasia island, not so nice, an I would not recommend staying anywhere near there, or anywhere on like route 1 for that matter out of town. st. augustine is fun, plenty of stuff to do, but don't think we'll go back, but if we do, the rennaisance is definetely a no brainer decision. WONDERFUL HOTEL!! great value.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bman577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
6.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott St. Augustine I-95
11.5 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
10.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic
15.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#4 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
806 reviews
6.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
#17 of 78 in St. Augustine
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to World Golf Village Renaissance St. Augustine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about World Golf Village Renaissance St. Augustine Resort

Address: 500 S Legacy Trl, St. Augustine, FL 32092-2719 (Formerly The Renaissance World Golf Village Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range: $131 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — World Golf Village Renaissance St. Augustine Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore everything that downtown St. Augustine has to offer! Renaissance World Golf Village Resort and Convention Center offers a complimentary shuttle for individual guests to and from downtown St. Augustine(based on availability). The Renaissance World Golf Village Resort offers fresh, well appointed accommodations featuring 37 inch flat-panel televisions, sparkling new bathrooms and furnishings, high-speed wireless Internet access, spacious work areas, wet bars and refrigerators among many modern luxuries. Meet in the largest combination hotel and convention center between Orlando and Atlanta. Within 15 minutes of the resort enjoy 108 holes of championship golf, including the Slammer and Squire, located just steps from your guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your World Golf Village Renaissance St. Augustine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance World Golf Village Hotel Saint Augustine
Renaissance Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing