We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic! Look forward to our next stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
World Golf Village Renaissance St. Augustine Resort
Ranked #30 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, Tennessee, United States
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Look forward to our next stay”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

This was our first time at this resort. Really nice entrance through the golf course to the hotel. Check in was very fast. We were upgraded to a suite on the 9th floor overlooking the golf course and pool. It had a wrap around porch and plenty of sleeping space. There was a small table and two chairs outside which was nice to take in the view. The lobby of the hotel and everything we saw was in great shape. We did not use the restaurant or bar but they were both hopping each night. We did get coffee every day in the Starbucks in the lobby. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. We liked that the hotel was nice and quiet but still fairly close to downtown St Augustine (maybe 20 minutes). There is a really nice large seating area outside for drinks and/or dinner. The pool is a nice size as well as the hot tub. If you stay on a Friday night in the summer, the farmers market is next door and is great.

Room Tip: High floor looking out at the hall of fame is a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffreyOliasami, General Manager at World Golf Village Renaissance St. Augustine Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for sharing the compliments to the resort property and the service provided. We have an amazing team and I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us in this unique and beautiful location. I hope you will stay with us again when you are in St. Augustine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    303
    143
    74
    56
See reviews for
217
372
29
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I came to St. Augustine for my Mom's birthday and decided we would stay at WGV because we haven't golfed in a while. The hotel upon walking in is very nice. Staff is on hand to assist you immediately. The room was pretty clean but the bathroom walls and other areas really need to be wiped down regularly. There is a little mold in the bathroom shower grout. There was a hair on the pillow. (I personally find that gross but I know it can happen) the floors and carpet were very clean. We had a later evening snack at the bar and it was excellent. A salad and some quesadillas. The bartender was very accommodating. This morning we decided to have breakfast at the restaurant and I have to tell you I feel it should have been refunded. The buffet pancakes were over sweet, they disintegrated
when you tried to pick them up. For $17 I would expect fresher food. Just yuck. After waiting for 15 minutes to be acknowledged, the very nice wait staff did take my drink order, another 15 minutes... I ordered the egg white fritata another 15 minutes and my fiance is already finished... no egg white fritata. I took it to go. For $14 it should have at least been accompanied by fruit or toast??? Really? We have one more night we are staying here but we will eat elsewhere. I do have earplugs so the humming sound was not a huge inconvenience. I have traveled and stayed at many places all over the country and I do have to say that this was average at best. I do want to mention we are not playing golf here although both courses are very very good. The price on aerated greens is still $129. So we are at St. Johns Golf and Country Club for $50! Very NICE.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelebella1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffreyOliasami, General Manager at World Golf Village Renaissance St. Augustine Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for choosing our resort for your celebration. I appreciate your feedback and I am happy you were provided great service in the Bar at Villagio. We will address the other items that need further attention and I thank you for taking the time to share the details of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

On June 7th 2014 I stayed for one week at this prestigious resort, really I did not have much dealings with the front desk clerks but the maid was very nice and friendly, I stayed on the 4th floor overlooking the golf course, very lovely hotel in more of a secluded area.

Room Tip: choose the side overlooking the golf course where you have a balcony with chairs where you can sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Genieve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffreyOliasami, General Manager at World Golf Village Renaissance St. Augustine Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for staying at our resort and sharing your experience. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will plan to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I was there on Saturday, 7 June 2014 while attending the Battle of the Midway Dinner (an annual event sponsored by the Navy League Jacksonville, FL honoring WWII veterans/survivors). For the past few years (four or five), the event has been held at the Renaissance Resort at the World Golf Village in St. Augustine, FL. I have been to the event four times and have not been disappointed. The Renaissance always delivers exceptional service whether it's the dinner in the banquet hall, the comfortable rooms or the staff. The Renaissance even offers a discounted room rate if attending the Midway Dinner that also includes breakfast the next morning. A truly spectacular event all the way around.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayinfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffreyOliasami, General Manager at World Golf Village Renaissance St. Augustine Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
You put it best "a truly spectacular event”. Thank you for sharing your experience with others in the TripAdvisor community. The Battle of the Midway Dinner is such an important event to our resort and I am honored to be invited to attend each year as well. Please plan to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The rooms were very clean but there was constant humming sound coming out of the bathroom. The AC was was not consistent with the temperture setting. There was a green hue coming out of the AC duct. The reception desk was very courteous and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffreyOliasami, General Manager at World Golf Village Renaissance St. Augustine Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for the compliments to our guest service associates. I appreciate you sharing your concerns with the AC and we have addressed the issue with the unit. Please plan to stay with us again when you are in St. Augustine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

When things can go wrong, usually they do with me and my family . Most of the time the outcome of such things are better in the end , however I must say I am disappointed with this hotel.
When we arrived ( after 2 pm) our room still was not ready, so we have the woman behind the desk our number to call us when it was . After 2 hours and no call we decided to head back and see what was going on. The woman behind the desk told us they did call and left a message , I told her no.. No one called . She recited the number 123-456-789.... The woman who I left the number with ( who re-read the number to me didn't write down the last number to our phone number , thus no call... After seeing this she comped our breakfast for the next morning.. Fine . Then we went to our room after dinner and watched TV.. However the TV had a small glitch and was about 1/10 th Of its picture size, so we had to call maintenance who came an fixed it . The morning we left, our toilet stopped working , wouldn't flush at all... I told the front desk and we left. All in all the hotel is a wonderful location but maintenance needs to be a TOP priority at this hotel... For it is most surly lacking . I don't know if ill stay here again...

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avolonlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffreyOliasami, General Manager at World Golf Village Renaissance St. Augustine Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and please plan to visit us again. I am sorry the guest service error prevented us from being able to get you into your room early. I am happy to hear that breakfast was offered for the inconvenience and I hope that you enjoyed the restaurant. We strive to stay ahead of items needing attention in the guest rooms and I apologize that you had to report anything to us. I truly hope you will stay with us again in the future and allow us to provide a perfectly relaxing stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Let's start by saying, I don't play golf... but I chose the location as it was convenient to the places I wanted to go (St. Augustine, FL). First off, it can be seen from I-95 but it will take another five minutes or more to wind around the property to get to the hotel. Parking is hit or miss. A popular restaurant (Caddyshack) is adjacent to the hotel so parking is shared. There are no luggage carts to be found (nor trash cans). Check in was fast. As a Gold Hilton Honors member I inquired about free breakfast but since this is a report, no freebie. I was given a free movie to watch on cable. I didn't. I checked in a little before the normal check in time (4pm) and was given a room. Corner room, golf course side. Nice sunsets. Could see pool and practice putting greens. Small room but comfy. Couch and chair and desk with chair. Room also contained a wet bar. Lots of lighting. Nice TV with lots of channels. Soft towels and Aveda hair care products along with other bathroom necessities. One concern was what seemingly looked like mold in a/c vents (see photo). Hotel is beautiful with artwork hanging from ceiling and a stream in the middle. There is a "real" Starbucks inside the hotel as we did not choose to go for the pricey breakfast. Staff was friendly and attentive.

Room Tip: Ask for the golf course view. Much better, and quieter, than parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRGADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffreyOliasami, General Manager at World Golf Village Renaissance St. Augustine Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for choosing our resort and for sharing the highlights of your stay with others. We appreciate the compliments to the associates and the service they provided you. I hope you will stay with us again in the future; there is always more to see in St. Augustine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
11.5 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
6.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott St. Augustine I-95
10.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
St Augustine Hotel & Suites
St Augustine Hotel & Suites
#61 of 78 in St. Augustine
302 reviews
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to World Golf Village Renaissance St. Augustine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about World Golf Village Renaissance St. Augustine Resort

Property: World Golf Village Renaissance St. Augustine Resort
Address: 500 S Legacy Trl, St. Augustine, FL 32092-2719 (Formerly The Renaissance World Golf Village Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — World Golf Village Renaissance St. Augustine Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore everything that downtown St. Augustine has to offer! Renaissance World Golf Village Resort and Convention Center offers a complimentary shuttle for individual guests to and from downtown St. Augustine(based on availability). The Renaissance World Golf Village Resort offers fresh, well appointed accommodations featuring 37 inch flat-panel televisions, sparkling new bathrooms and furnishings, high-speed wireless Internet access, spacious work areas, wet bars and refrigerators among many modern luxuries. Meet in the largest combination hotel and convention center between Orlando and Atlanta. Within 15 minutes of the resort enjoy 108 holes of championship golf, including the Slammer and Squire, located just steps from your guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your World Golf Village Renaissance St. Augustine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance World Golf Village Hotel Saint Augustine
Renaissance Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing