We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sublime! Wonderful Staff and Wonderful Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
World Golf Village Renaissance St. Augustine Resort
Ranked #29 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sublime! Wonderful Staff and Wonderful Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband is an avid golfer so for his 60th birthday celebration I surprised him with a stay and rounds of golf at the Renaissance World Golf Village Resort and I am so happy we both loved our time there. This grand hotel is well maintained with clean rooms and a view from the balcony of our allocated room, thanks to a fine manager, Chris, to take in the surroundings with delight!

Since we were there for 6 days, familiar names and faces of staff set us at ease to enjoy that feeling of being "home away from home" and they always gave us a reason to smile while running a "tight ship" of a multitude of summer holidaymakers checking in and out around the clock but they handled it so beautifully, you wouldn't even know it! True professionals!

We wish to also thank Scott who was absolutely wonderful and attentive in making my husband and I feel very special on his birthday. There's so much to see there at walking distance apart from the Golf Hall of Fame, the informal restaurant nearby and the inviting, wonderful evening strolls right there at your footsteps put the icing on the cake! Of course, the nearby places of interest in St. Augustine are just a short drive away and it felt nice to return after exploring the city to a clean, well cared for room with hospitable staff.

If you're looking for a nice balance between tranquility and exploration in St. Augustine with a lovely, fluffy pillow to relax and unwind then I'd most definitely recommend you book your stay at The Renaissance World Golf Village Resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Castlemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    298
    137
    74
    52
See reviews for
208
357
26
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
146 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We use this hotel annually for a group of about 60+ rooms because they are a full service conference oriented hotel and can accommodate both the number of rooms and the meeting space to feed the group breakfast in the morning. It's been about three years in a row and while this past year was the most challenging, we had not experienced a problem in the past and did sign a contract to return this upcoming year after some deliberations with the hotel management (they contracted all double/double beds but when we arrived we had fewer than half the number necessary to accommodate the group). The physical property is beautiful and spacious, I like the free parking and how accessible to the resort it is (park right near the front door and walk up, making trips to the car easy). The arrival experience with no real front desk but more like a podium encourages the staff to walk freely about and have more face to face interaction with the guests. When I checked in the front desk associate never even stepped behind the desk, he shook my hand when I walked the front door, we walked together to his kiosk where my keys were laying already made up on the counter, he handed them to me, nothing to swipe (I'm a Marriott Rewards Platinum and it was complimentary stay with a credit card already on file) and I was in my room in just a few minutes. The snag was quite challenging with the double beds but the hotel staff worked with me for several hours accommodating us with upgraded larger rooms, relocating some staff to a nearby hotel and paying for an executive of ours to relocate to an expensive sister property downtown. Again, we're returning this year and I'm most appreciative of management working through everything with me to encourage us to come back because it really is the only hotel in town for a group our size.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend conference. This would be great if you like to golf. Otherwise it's kind of out in the middle of the Florida swamp lands. There's not much of anything around other than the golf village and swamp. The hotel itself is very nice, but for the price you could get something ocean front.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimMiddleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here to celebrate my birthday and it was a great choice. The rooms are beautiful, ours had a love seat chair and desk chair with a king bed. Very comfortable. There was a wet bar with small fridge. The bath was nice, large shower, no tub. Housekeeping, front desk and bell men were excellent, but it appeared the maintenence staff was lacking I.e. we reported the ice maker on our floor was broken and it was never repaired. The exercise room was very impressive with well maintained equipment and a dry sauna (another maintenence issue, it wasn't functioning well). We did not have a balcony but did have a nice view overlooking the golf course and downstairs there is lots of outdoor seating. After visiting the downtown area, we were so happy we selected this property for a very relaxing visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theallygator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Rate was good. Grounds are beautiful. Quite a distance from historic St. Augustine and restaurants. Rooms are nice. Other areas need some TLC. Ladies bathrooms in lobby needs new wallpaper. Several areas have cracked tile. Roof in lobby needs repair. During an afternoon rain storm it was raining inside the lobby in 4 places. Not a bad value.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llv1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here for the 4th of July weekend, the property is a bit far away from Downtown St. Augustine so be prepared to drive or get a cab; the property does offer a complimentary shuttle service to Downtown St. Augustine but it only runs three times a day.
The hotel is very nice but the room we were given had an odd smell (I think it was the carpet) and the bathroom had an even funkier smell.
This is a great choice for Marriott Elite members as far as resort properties is concerned as they will give you a complimentary in-room movie (Much more than other resort properties I have stayed at) and they were kind enough to give us a later check-out.
We had a great view of the golf course which seemed very inviting (we just didn't have time to play) and the prices seemed reasonable ranging from $57 to $110 per person depending on the time of the day including the golf cart.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank favargas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Also, the IMAX, and the fireworks display that was scheduled for the evening of the 5th...Security was good, the county sheriff department was visable / was an all around good family environment. The room was fresh, clean, well appointed and the balcony view of the secondary firworks over the lake was neat. Thanks to the host "Chris" who made sure all of my little request were cared for since this was the first time we took advantage of this little get away so close to home...Yeah, I turned the 7,000 or so yards at the King&Bear into about 12,000 yards, but it was all fun....No complaints here....Good Job Marriott, as always...!!

Room Tip: If you want a balcony room try to request a resort view, unless you like looking out over the parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
11.5 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
St Augustine Hotel & Suites
St Augustine Hotel & Suites
#63 of 78 in St. Augustine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
10.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#21 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
6.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott St. Augustine I-95
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to World Golf Village Renaissance St. Augustine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about World Golf Village Renaissance St. Augustine Resort

Property: World Golf Village Renaissance St. Augustine Resort
Address: 500 S Legacy Trl, St. Augustine, FL 32092-2719 (Formerly The Renaissance World Golf Village Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — World Golf Village Renaissance St. Augustine Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore everything that downtown St. Augustine has to offer! Renaissance World Golf Village Resort and Convention Center offers a complimentary shuttle for individual guests to and from downtown St. Augustine(based on availability). The Renaissance World Golf Village Resort offers fresh, well appointed accommodations featuring 37 inch flat-panel televisions, sparkling new bathrooms and furnishings, high-speed wireless Internet access, spacious work areas, wet bars and refrigerators among many modern luxuries. Meet in the largest combination hotel and convention center between Orlando and Atlanta. Within 15 minutes of the resort enjoy 108 holes of championship golf, including the Slammer and Squire, located just steps from your guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your World Golf Village Renaissance St. Augustine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance World Golf Village Hotel Saint Augustine
Renaissance Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing