We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great visit”
Review of Jaybird's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jaybird's Inn
Ranked #12 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Daytona Beach, Florida
1 review
“Great visit”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Loved the hotel it was nicely renovation. Staff was super friendly and answered all my questions about the town and made suggestions on where to visit. I will definitely stay again and recommend to friends when they come to st augustine. It was very convenient to downtown.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank penguinlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    325
    90
    33
    18
See reviews for
316
508
27
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Motel was great they have beautiful and remodeled rooms- the breakfast was fulfilling and well kept. Rooms are surprisingly clean and you could tell they have been taken care of very well-the staff was very nice and management was fun to mingle with. Good bang for your buck and I will be coming back to stay here

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beccap77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We only stayed for one night and got the last room. The room looked brand spanking new and completely remodeled. The hardwood floors and updated furnishings make this hotel look way more expensive than it is. The rooms remind me of ones I've stayed in while traveling through scandinavia. Anyway, for the price you get the nice room, the continental breakfast, and it is fairly close to downtown and everything else you need to get to. I think it is worth it. The only less- than-great thing we encountered seemed to be the staff. Maybe it was just an off few days for them, but my boyfriend and I thought they were somewhat cold in their demeanor. I definitely didn't feel welcomed - it was more like I was a burdening them by showing up at the front desk. Maybe it's just because we left The Cozy Inn that morning and were used to the smiling staff there who converse with you in a personable manner. Like I said before the price for what you get is excellent.

Green Features: They do what many other hotels do: the towels can be used multiple times without needing to be cleaned and that saves on water and electricity.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jordang277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

What a wonderful way to start our getaway! Hotel was recently refurbished and done very, very well. Rooms not only decorated beautifully but very clean. Breakfast good and friendly staff. Visited the restaurant and food & drinks great plus great bartender and staff. Also, hotel in a perfect location. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana- C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

This was the start of our cross country vacation and we spend 3 days in St Augustine. The Jaybirds Inn is a small, uniquely refurbished motel. It was VERY clean and comfortable and seemed to cater to all types of travelers. Breakfast was always stocked and came with a bunch of interesting folks to see and talk to. The downtown area was close and the front desk was friendly and helpful. GREAT TIME!

Green Features: I was really happy especially with the towel policy, I will use them a couple of times and lots of hotels don't give you the option to keep them! I appreciate the eco policies they have!
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lola22259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
179 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Loved the quirky updated rooms.Beds were comfortable and the room very clean. Safe family type atmosphere. Great restaurant next door and very helpful staff. Look forward to visiting again.Would recommend.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Albrecht315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

My husband and I went for a visit to St. Augustine and wanted to find a place to stay that would be different from the normal chain hotels. We selected the Jaybird's Inn because of it's unique description and reviews on tripadvisor. They just remodeled this property and also opened a new restaurant right next door to the hotel. When we arrived the lobby is very nice and we were greeted pleasantly by the front desk staff. There is a small area with snacks and drinks available and an internet/computer area in the lobby for business if needed. They have free wi-fi if you bring your own laptop. But, we were pleasantly surprised to see how nicely decorated the room was & we could tell that it had just been remodeled. The floors are beautiful, kind of nice not to have carpet for a change! It was very clean, nice lighting and pictures on the walls, there was a small kitchen area w/ a refrigerator and coffee pot/coffee available. The bathroom shower was nice and a good size, very contemporary. The beds were comfortable, nice bedspreads, and extra blankets/pillows available in the bath area. The also have a small bar and pizzeria for drinks or the night time munchies! There is a small breakfast available in the lobby, but we tried the new Jaybird's Restaurant right next door instead and highly recommend doing this over the continental in the lobby! They have a great breakfast selection and the food was fresh and delicious! The staff was very courteous, prompt, and professional. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back again, it was a nice change of pace from the chains!

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are quieter than by the lobby, but you have to go down to the lobby to get ice, t...
See more room tips
Green Features: They are definitely environmentally friendly, leaving a note if you did or did not want fresh towels, giving you the choice but also allowing you to reuse if you wanted.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraveLuvr019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#10 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,201 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
6.3 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
#14 of 78 in St. Augustine
798 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
1.8 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaybird's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaybird's Inn

Property: Jaybird's Inn
Address: 2700 N Ponce de Leon Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2641
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Augustine
#5 Green Hotel in St. Augustine
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
#9 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jaybird's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Jaybird’s Inn, where we’ll treat you like family and provide you the best living and sleeping experience in St. Augustine. Influenced by the old Spanish design of Downtown Historic St. Augustine. When you arrive on our property, you’ll be immersed in the feel of Historic St. Augustine almost immediately. As an active living hotel we offer clean and eco-friendly rooms, and not only encourage, but will help you be active while you enjoy yourself If you’re looking for a more leisurely way to see the Old City, jump on the Red Train Tour that’s next door for a wonderful excursion around St. Augustine. After a day of healthy activity relax at the pool followed by a scrumptious meal at Jaybird’s Restaurant located next door where you’ll receive a 10% discount on all meals. Retire to your comfortable room to watch television on your 42” LCD TV with over 80 channels. Wake up to a cup of tea or Starbucks coffee in your room and then join us for a free continental breakfast in the lobby or have a full breakfast at Jaybird’s Restaurant & Pizzeria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Jaybird's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing