We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel outside of Downtown St. Augustine!”
Review of Jaybird's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jaybird's Inn
Ranked #14 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
“Best Hotel outside of Downtown St. Augustine!”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

My boyfriend and I visited St. Augustine for my birthday this past weekend and it was so great. The hotel was perfectly cleaned and had all of the amenities we wanted from premium coffee and tea to a refrigerator and microwave. We stayed in room 210. We also had free wifi which was very important for our work and college assignments. The bed was so comfortable and the showers never ran out of hot water. The a/c was great too and quiet.
During the course of our stay I put some very valuable jewelry away but didn't remember doing so. The next morning I went looking or my jewelry to wear and couldn't find it after thirty minutes of searching. We thought to ask if anyone had been in our room during the time we were gone to rule out the possibility that it had been taken. The manager, Josh, was very accommodating and showed us how their equipment records every entry to a room including the time the room was entered so we knew no one but us had been in the room. It was great to know that we were so safe! I also felt like a dummy when I finally did find my jewelry. :)
Our rooms also came with a free continental breakfast which was very good too. Breakfast was complete with home made waffles, oatmeal, cereal, as well as plenty of milk, juice and coffee. My boyfriend is lactose intolerant and we were very happy they had non-dairy creamer.
The rooms were so nice and modern. The lobby and breakfast area was wonderful too. The staff was great as well. Brandy checked us in and told us a few things about what was going on in town such as the music festival. Our only complain was that they didn't have a dvd player or any movie channels on tv. We enjoyed our stay so much tho. We didn't get to do everything there is to do in St. Augustine but we will be back and will be staying at the Jay Bird hotel when we do!!

Room Tip: We went through a travel agency, try calling and booking directly with them. Our travel agency didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatasiaLDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    330
    91
    33
    20
See reviews for
319
511
28
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Jaybird's Inn is the best hotel I've stayed at in St. Augustine out of my many trips there. It's about a 5 minute drive to downtown/St. George street. They also provide bicycles for your use, which is very convenient if you do not want to drive.

The rooms are huge and exactly like they are pictured on their website. They were nicer than many of the hotel rooms that I saw that my friends booked. The staff was very helpful, especially the manager, Josh!

We'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiChel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipperville, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Let me start by saying that the over all experience at the Jaybirds Inn was by far one of the most pleasant and inviting places I've EVER been. From check in to check out. Chris, the bartender at the restaurant, along with Mr Jimmy, were super entertaining. Chris ' s Jamaican Peewee was OUT OF THE WORLD AWARD WINNING !!!
Mrs Shirley was beyond gracious in awarding to me the opportunity to befriend a beautiful soul. She, as well as the rest of the crew were so welcoming.
Thank you for an unforgettable vacation with your family!

���
Tanya and Catherine - South Alabama and Kathleen central Florida.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tanya E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASHLAND
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

The motel has been remodeled and they did almost everything right. I loved the tile floors throughout - I have a problem with hotel carpeting. Big room with comfortable bed and nice couch. Nice fridge and coffee maker, although you could get coffee in the lobby at any time. Nice having a decent restaurant/bar right next door. Nice neighborhoods to walk in behind the inn. You could walk to the historic district, but it is quite a trek. Nice staff. And very nice price for the area. Definitely where I will stay if I'm back in the area again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshlandMOPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Very nice and quaint hotel. the rooms have a new modern look to them and the king bed room we stayed in was very spacious and comfortable. The rooms also were able to maintain a nice cold temperature without any nasty humidity even when it was raining outside. Only thing that I could complain about, if any, is that it is not close to historic St. Augustine, but for the price and niceness, I highly recommend a stay here at Jaybirds Inn.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank galdama3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

W spent 4 days there last week and I was so very impressed. Wendy, front desk clerk, went way out of her way to assist me in every request that I had and was so gracious and friendly. I like the lack of carpeting in the rooms; makes the room feel so much cleaner. The cleaning help was most friendly and appeared to enjoy their work and the rooms were so nice and clean. Will stay there most definitely if ever back in St. Augustine.

Room Tip: Other people have complained about the train noise, but we never heard it; we were so tired from sig...
See more room tips
Green Features: They appear to try to be environmentally friendly and lik that
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island
2 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I booked this hotel for the weekend based on the trip advisor reviews I read. Im very pleased to say our stay was great. This was by far the cleanest hotel I've stayed in. I read a lot of other reviews that complained about the noise. I'm not sure if we were on the quiet side or just the fact we slept with the t.v. on, but I wasnt bothered by loud trains our anything. We agreed that for our next trip to St.Augustine we would be booking here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank shannycakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#10 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,234 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
5.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
#16 of 78 in St. Augustine
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic
6.3 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
867 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#11 of 78 in St. Augustine
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaybird's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaybird's Inn

Property: Jaybird's Inn
Address: 2700 N Ponce de Leon Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2641
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Augustine
#4 Green Hotel in St. Augustine
#5 Best Value Hotel in St. Augustine
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
#9 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jaybird's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Jaybird’s Inn, where we’ll treat you like family and provide you the best living and sleeping experience in St. Augustine. Influenced by the old Spanish design of Downtown Historic St. Augustine. When you arrive on our property, you’ll be immersed in the feel of Historic St. Augustine almost immediately. As an active living hotel we offer clean and eco-friendly rooms, and not only encourage, but will help you be active while you enjoy yourself If you’re looking for a more leisurely way to see the Old City, jump on the Red Train Tour that’s next door for a wonderful excursion around St. Augustine. After a day of healthy activity relax at the pool followed by a scrumptious meal at Jaybird’s Restaurant located next door where you’ll receive a 10% discount on all meals. Retire to your comfortable room to watch television on your 42” LCD TV with over 80 channels. Wake up to a cup of tea or Starbucks coffee in your room and then join us for a free continental breakfast in the lobby or have a full breakfast at Jaybird’s Restaurant & Pizzeria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Jaybird's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing