We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No more than 2 nights”
Review of Jaybird's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jaybird's Inn
Ranked #15 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This was a clean, updated motel somewhat out of the nice part of St Augustine. The room was fine, but you MUST ask for the quiet side. The train and traffic could be a real deal breaker for light sleepers. And forget the "pool" area, it is pretty dismal. But for two nights it was fine. Breakfast is dry cereal and a pancake maker, Coffee and muffins, bagels. Included in the relatively inexpensive price. But there are better deals nearer the historic area of St Sugustine which is the only reason to visit.

Room Tip: Ask for the quiet side of building. And don't bring a bathing suit..pool is dreadful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandyarnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

I appreciate you taking the time to post a review based on your stay with us here at the Inn. Our breakfast menu continues to evolve based on customer feedback. In addition to the waffles, bagels, muffins, bread and cereal, we offer yogurt, juice, milk, and coffee. Our restaurant next door extends a 15% discount to guests at JBI, for those who want more than what we provide. As for the pool area being not being up to par, due to a sudden windstorm, as soon as we noticed the disarray, all items were put back in their place. We hope that you'll reconsider staying with us and thoroughly enjoying our brand new activity center and pool. Please feel free to contact us directly for any future reservations.

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

961 - 967 of 1,131 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

Having been diverted from our original plans because of the ice storms at Atlanta we decided to visit St Augustine at the last minute. Knowing very little about North Florida we looked up TripAdvisor and decided to book four nights at the Jaybird's Inn.
We were not disappointed. Our room was massive, as was the comfortable king sized bed. Perhaps for such a large room the shower and toilet area was unnecessarily small but overall the room was great and extremely good value - how do they do it for the price? - which includes free parking, coffee making facilities and the use of a well equipped pool area.
The reception staff (Wendy and Josh) were pleasant and helpful, as were the housekeeping staff who looked as if they were enjoying their jobs.
We chose to have breakfast at the Jaybird's Restaurant adjacent to the Inn and benefitted from a 15 per cent reduction as residents. Breakfast was excellent and good value even before the discount. A limited complementary continental breakfast is available at the Inn but we did not try it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alistair V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We were on our honeymoon and nothing was planned and thanks to Jaybird's and a very special young lady "McKenzie" our honeymoon was just perfect! We arrived in St .Augustine not knowing where we were going to stay or even what we were going to do. Luckily one of the locals referred us to Jaybird's Restaurant. Our waitress McKenzie became our very own welcoming committee. She had plenty of ideas about what we could do. The food was great, service even better! She suggested we stay at Jaybird's Inn! As she promised it was amazing! We loved the staff, the owners and the rooms are decorated very nice and they are very clean.

My husband and I will be back! We were treated like family and I know neither of us will ever forget this very special weekend! Thank you!

Renae and Victor Nunez...

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renae N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Affordable, centrally located. Clean. Hotel newly renovated. Suite large and comfortable. Restaurant convenient with good food. Transportation readily accessible by Red Train tours.
Staff (Josh, etc) professional and helpful. We will return.

Room Tip: suites are nice , only slightly more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macfrommo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We decided last minute to head from Tampa to St. Augustine for Valentine's Day weekend. Most of the hotels on the main strip were booked up or a little too out of our price range. Then, we stumbled upon Jaybird's Inn. The reviews seemed promising and the location was good, so we booked it! We ended up booking their Suite. It was a little pricey, but definitely worth it. HUGE and spacious room that was clearly newly re-modeled. Very clean and the floor-plan is very open. The best part is the stay came with free bike rentals! We used the bikes all day to ride to all the tourist attractions and down to the main strip (about a mile or two from the hotel). Everyone was very friendly and accommodating. Seriously SUCH an amazing stay and trip!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ERamesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Awesome hotel! For the price it is amazing! From customer service to decor, top notch. Comfy beds, tile floors even a microwave and mini fridge. The front desk was always helpful and the housekeeping staff very attentive. We will definitely be back!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank kaboatwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I cannot say enough about the Jaybird Inn. I arrived to Brandy smiling at the desk along with Josh at her side. Since our room was not ready, we went on the trolley they arranged. On our return, my car keys were missing and all our belongings were in the trunk. I was paniced but a call was made quickly to the trolley and to my surprise, they were found. Scott, the General Manager, was more than kind to go fetch the keys and the rest of the trip was on the mark! Thanks to you all. The rooms were large, modern, comfortable and well appointed in every way. Mattresses were comfortable and it was nice to have a walk in shower. The breakfast was excellent and I believe it was set up by Wendy, another friendly worker. The lobby was beautiful and comfortable. I felt like I was stopping by to visit with friends for the weekend. We did eat at the Jaybird Restaurant and did not find that as top notch as the Inn. Long wait for the wrong food. I was billed for the wrong item which was more expensive than the originially ordered item. Our check arrived and we had not been offered dessert. When we asked for it, we were told we had to get up and go look at the offerings and pick out what we wanted. Overall, we found the food service disjointed and slow. Again, thanks to the Jaybird Inn staff. I have already recommended it to a friend. Jane Griffin

Room Tip: I was in room 110 which was just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane2385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#10 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,373 reviews
6.3 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
899 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
1.9 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Sebastian St Augustine
5.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
#24 of 78 in St. Augustine
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaybird's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaybird's Inn

Address: 2700 N Ponce de Leon Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2641
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Augustine
#4 Best Value Hotel in St. Augustine
#6 Green Hotel in St. Augustine
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
#9 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range: $90 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jaybird's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Jaybird’s Inn, where we’ll treat you like family and provide you the best living and sleeping experience in St. Augustine. Influenced by the old Spanish design of Downtown Historic St. Augustine. When you arrive on our property, you’ll be immersed in the feel of Historic St. Augustine almost immediately. As an active living hotel we offer clean and eco-friendly rooms, and not only encourage, but will help you be active while you enjoy yourself If you’re looking for a more leisurely way to see the Old City, jump on the Red Train Tour that’s next door for a wonderful excursion around St. Augustine. After a day of healthy activity relax at the pool followed by a scrumptious meal at Jaybird’s Restaurant located next door where you’ll receive a 10% discount on all meals. Retire to your comfortable room to watch television on your 42” LCD TV with over 80 channels. Wake up to a cup of tea or Starbucks coffee in your room and then join us for a free continental breakfast in the lobby or have a full breakfast at Jaybird’s Restaurant & Pizzeria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Jaybird's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing