We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty much as advertised”
Review of Jaybird's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jaybird's Inn
Ranked #15 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
miami
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Pretty much as advertised”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I concur with most of the reviewers in the cleanliness and spaciousness of the rooms. Two things to be aware of if you have kids are that the hotel is fairly far from the St. Augustine attractions and that breakfast is free but is over at 9:45 instead of 10 and replenishment stopped at around 9:20. For my wife and I this was not an issue but some guests with kids requested some items and they refused to bring out more stuff even though it was really close to 9:45. Since the rooms have nice tables, If you have kids and like to sleep late your best shot is to have someone get up early, grab stuff for everyone and eat in the room.

As for me, I liked the hotel but I will probably look for something else nearer to the attractions when I go again.

Room Tip: If you have kids and are not going to be in the breakfast room by 9:00 AM get up a little early, pic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jorgemb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and give us your feedback. I'm not sure what happened during breakfast, but I'd like to apologize for any inconveniences during your stay. Jaybird's Inn is located one mile from downtown, but we also offer free use of our bikes. While I respect your decision to stay closer to downtown next time, I feel certain that if given another opportunity, we could change your mind.

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    618
    334
    93
    33
    20
See reviews for
326
516
28
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We recently stayed at the Jaybird when we were in Florida for a wedding. We were very pleased with everything about this place. At first glance it looks like a renovated motor inn of the 70's , but once inside you see that the owners have paid attention to detail and customer comfort in their renovation. The guy at the front desk was very friendly and helpful, allowing us to watch the SU/Villa Nova basketball game on the lobby big screen tv until check in time. The bookcases in the lobby were filled with interesting books relating to "an active lifestyle", which is how this inn is billed. Our room was comfortable and modern, with comfortable king size bed, couch, laminated flooring (so much better than smelly hotel carpets), marble counter tops in the bathroom, and the best shower (large, great water pressure) I think I have ever enjoyed in a hotel! The in-room coffee maker featured Starbucks coffee, and there was a refrigerator and microwave for leftovers. We had read in previous reviews that the breakfast was weak, but we did not find this to be the case. Along with the usual staples of cereal and coffee, there were fresh muffins, bread and English muffins for toast, fruit cocktail, peanut butter and jelly packets,and a waffle maker for fresh waffles. I think this is more than adequate for a complementary breakfast! We dined in the Jaybird Restaurant on our first night in town, which is right next door to the inn, and it was surprisingly delicious! The fresh flounder was some of the best I've had, and the seafood diablo was jam packed with shrimp, scallops and fish.
Since we are walkers, we enjoyed the 10- 15 minute walk to Old Town (safe even at night), and took advantage of the complementary "fat tire" one speed bikes to cycle to the beach. The Jaybird really stands out because of all the little touches that make you feel you are getting your money's worth. I agree with previous reviewers that it was very clean and well maintained with exceptionally helpful staff. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: There was some traffic noise because hotel is on a busy street, but it did not bother us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for the positive feedback. I'm glad to know you enjoyed everything about your stay, including the bikes and the television in the lobby. It is our goal to make our guests feel like this is their home away from home, and it's always nice to know when we've achieved that. Please feel free to contact us directly for any future reservations.

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunnellon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This hotel is so nice and clean. Feels like your staying in a high end hotel. The rooms are so spacious, beautifully decorated, and "spa" like feeling. I couldn't find one thing wrong with this place. Beds are soooo comfortable and no noise!!! I was a great night sleep. They have Starbuck's coffee in the room, make-up remover and awesome soap. Not sure what kind of soap it was but it feels so nice on your skin. I'm a clean freak so I just could not get over how clean the room was. I'm telling you I couldn't find one speck of dust or dirt anywhere. The staff was so sweet. The front desk girl, Brandy, was so helpful and friendly. She was able to help us with directions and other questions we had about the area. Just a real joy to speak with. The location is great. Just a few blocks from everything. Perfect location. When I return to St. Augustine next year I will definitely stay at Jaybird's Inn again. Thanks for a beautiful stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for such kind words and for taking the time to post your review. It's so good to know that your enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again!

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We came in to St. Augustine just looking for a little fun and who knew that a place so poorly named was so wonderfully done, Breakfast was great they had a Waffle Machine and muffins, along with cereal, and your basic goodies.....juices included Orange, apple, and cranberry (my boyfriends favorite), but if your staying here then you should not be cheap and try and dine on a limited breakfast you should eat at the restaurant next door, there breakfast was GREAT, and after eating there I can see why the breakfast is limited at the hotel. The rooms were wonderful they had a new modern look and they were so clean and trust me clean is a big deal. I would recommend this place to the world and trust me I will hehehehe, In all reality this place was perfect for us and we know were we are going to stay when ever we are in North Florida

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trisha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
It's good to know you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to having you back. Please feel free to contact us directly for any future reservations.

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooperstown, New York
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Room was clean and modern. However, there was no hot water. I mean NONE. We called the desk at 9:30p to inform them, they called us back at midnight to tell us they couldn't do anything, oh by the way, did I wake you? Room had very thin walls. We could hear the neighbor's conversation, and the freight train up the street as it came through in the early AM. The free breakfast
consisted of a broken waffle maker, a toaster than wouldn't toast and a juice dispenser that dispensed a clear liquid instead of cranberry juice. I ended up eating a bowl of stale raisin bran. I cannot recommend this place, but it was the only place available on short notice.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank townie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and give us your feedback. It is unfortunate that your experience wasn't that great, due to hot water issues. We'd like to be given the opportunity to make this right. Please feel free to contact me directly for any future accommodations.

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Excellent place to stay clean rooms friendly staff great food very comfortable I highly recommend this motel I will only stay at jaybirds when I come to St Augustine I really enjoyed staying here the walk to historic down town is very takes about 10 mins but is enjoyable the food at the restaurant excellent staff very friendly and accommodating customer is number one here

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dallkeyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you in the future!

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere,Florida
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The design and decor of this room is more like a higher end hotel. Clean,uncluttered style in soothing greens and blues. Lighting is very good.Comfortable bed. nice shower.Beautiful photographs of Machu Picchu in our room. Very good location. Coffee and light breakfast included in very competitive rates. I'd like to give it 4 stars but two issues lowered my score: a musty smell from AC ( hopefully a temporary problem) and we had to run the hot water for quite awhile before it got warm enough. I believe this is a new renovation and hope these issues will be taken care of.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustinM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and send us your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Jaybird's Inn is newly renovated, so as far as the issues you had, we appreciate you bringing that to our attention. Unfortunately, sometimes things break, old and new alike. We investigated and resolved both, and hope this doesn't deter you from another stay with us. Please feel free to contact me directly for any future accommodations.

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#11 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,271 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
#18 of 78 in St. Augustine
822 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North
1.9 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Sebastian St Augustine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaybird's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaybird's Inn

Property: Jaybird's Inn
Address: 2700 N Ponce de Leon Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2641
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Augustine
#6 Green Hotel in St. Augustine
#7 Best Value Hotel in St. Augustine
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
#9 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jaybird's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Jaybird’s Inn, where we’ll treat you like family and provide you the best living and sleeping experience in St. Augustine. Influenced by the old Spanish design of Downtown Historic St. Augustine. When you arrive on our property, you’ll be immersed in the feel of Historic St. Augustine almost immediately. As an active living hotel we offer clean and eco-friendly rooms, and not only encourage, but will help you be active while you enjoy yourself If you’re looking for a more leisurely way to see the Old City, jump on the Red Train Tour that’s next door for a wonderful excursion around St. Augustine. After a day of healthy activity relax at the pool followed by a scrumptious meal at Jaybird’s Restaurant located next door where you’ll receive a 10% discount on all meals. Retire to your comfortable room to watch television on your 42” LCD TV with over 80 channels. Wake up to a cup of tea or Starbucks coffee in your room and then join us for a free continental breakfast in the lobby or have a full breakfast at Jaybird’s Restaurant & Pizzeria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Jaybird's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing