We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Jaybird's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jaybird's Inn
Ranked #15 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 21, 2013

My friends and I stayed here for the weekend, and it was clean, rooms were spacious, up-to-date and very affordable. One of the best in Historic St. Augustine, and we will certainly return for a future stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank Bronna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

I appreciate you taking a few minutes to send us such positive feedback. Please feel free to contact us directly for any future accommodations. We look forward to seeing you again!

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,009 - 1,015 of 1,131 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

We booked a weekend stay at Jaybird's Inn for our anniversary and we were very pleasantly surprised! The hotel has been recently renovated and the rooms were beautiful! We had a king room and it was one of the most comfortable beds I had ever slept on! The floors had no carpet, but in a hotel, I think I prefer not to have carpet. The staff was very welcoming and we had a great time! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skheady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

It's very pleasing to read about such a great experience at Jaybird's Inn. The porcelain tile floors replaced the carpet, because it's much cleaner and, in the summer, it's much cooler. The owners kept clean and "green" in mind during our renovation. It's good to know you enjoyed the little extras in our rooms! For future reservations, please feel free to contact us directly. We'd love to have you back!

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The place was very nice and clean. We loved the newly remodeled rooms and boutique look. The fitness center was still under construction but it was still quiet. I was happy to find the rooms had a mini-fridge and microwave.

The location is good as well. It's a bit of a walk to the downtown area but they offer free bikes for 4hrs or a small fee for the whole day. Make sure you reserve bikes if you want them, they go fast! We ended up just bringing our own bikes and it was perfect! Biking to downtown was just a few minutes and we never had to pay or find parking!

The staff was friendly and helpful.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gibtronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

I'm happy to read such a great review. Our fitness center is ready for our guests to use and we hope to see you again! Please feel free to contact us directly for any future accommodations.

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

the wifey and i spend the weekend at Jay's Inn. celebrating our 24th anniversary this past weekend, and loved it. its clean, newly remodeled and the rooms are huge... skip the breakfast and go to their restaurant across the street. i will be back :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melo407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Thank you for giving Jaybird's Inn the opportunity to help make your anniversary memorable. I'm glad to know that customer expectation was met with customer service, ending with customer satisfaction. Please feel free to contact us directly for any future reservations. We'd love to have you back!

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel for one night and we were pleasantly surprised. Large room, contemporary decor, NO CARPET, extremely clean and a friendly staff. The only thing that I would complaint about was the "free continental breakfast". I would say to families with children, "do not count on this breakfast". It was mainly bread and a few bakery items, though this is not a turn off for our family, our main concern when we travel is having clean rooms and clean beds; this hotel definitely addresses that. Strategically located, a 2 mile walk to St. Augustine historic area. Do not be deter by the hotel appearance from the outside, give it a chance and you will be surprised.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yessika N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel, and for posting a review based on your experience. Since November, we've added a couple things to our continental breakfast, including a waffle iron, so there's a better variety. I appreciate your emphasis on "no carpet". Replacing carpet with porcelain tile helps maintain a clean, cool living space. Should you ever decide to revisit, please feel free to contact us directly. We hope to see you again!

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for the weekend and I didn't want to leave! The bed and pillows are so comfy! What really amazed me was how CLEAN it was. So spotless! The breakfast... Well it's very limited bagels, English muffin, muffins and cereal along with juices. So don't count on feasting for breakfast. The front office was always nice when approached. The location is perfect! Not in the busy downtown area if you prefer the calmer scenario. There is a 24 hour open CVS across so it's very convenient. The hotel is also affordable. I will defenitly be staying here again the next time I come to St. Augustine :)

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SPerez1284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

It's nice to read such kind comments. We look forward to see you again! Please feel free to contact us directly for your reservation needs.

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I would like to give this a better rating.. Old place but nicely fixed up and VERY clean... But we started to hear the trains about 4am and several more after that. Then about 630 the noise from the street! If you are a very sound sleeper this is the place, else avoid.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Dale K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Thank you for posting your review. I'm very sorry to hear your sleep was interrupted by the train and highway noise. We do have soundproof windows and concrete walls, but sometimes a room in the back helps. We'd love to be given another chance. Should you decide to reconsider, please contact me directly for your reservations.

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#10 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,373 reviews
6.3 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
899 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
1.9 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Sebastian St Augustine
5.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
#24 of 78 in St. Augustine
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaybird's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaybird's Inn

Address: 2700 N Ponce de Leon Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2641
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Augustine
#4 Best Value Hotel in St. Augustine
#6 Green Hotel in St. Augustine
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
#9 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range: $90 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jaybird's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Jaybird’s Inn, where we’ll treat you like family and provide you the best living and sleeping experience in St. Augustine. Influenced by the old Spanish design of Downtown Historic St. Augustine. When you arrive on our property, you’ll be immersed in the feel of Historic St. Augustine almost immediately. As an active living hotel we offer clean and eco-friendly rooms, and not only encourage, but will help you be active while you enjoy yourself If you’re looking for a more leisurely way to see the Old City, jump on the Red Train Tour that’s next door for a wonderful excursion around St. Augustine. After a day of healthy activity relax at the pool followed by a scrumptious meal at Jaybird’s Restaurant located next door where you’ll receive a 10% discount on all meals. Retire to your comfortable room to watch television on your 42” LCD TV with over 80 channels. Wake up to a cup of tea or Starbucks coffee in your room and then join us for a free continental breakfast in the lobby or have a full breakfast at Jaybird’s Restaurant & Pizzeria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Jaybird's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing