We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jaybird's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jaybird's Inn
Ranked #11 of 79 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

The place was very nice and clean. We loved the newly remodeled rooms and boutique look. The fitness center was still under construction but it was still quiet. I was happy to find the rooms had a mini-fridge and microwave.

The location is good as well. It's a bit of a walk to the downtown area but they offer free bikes for 4hrs or a small fee for the whole day. Make sure you reserve bikes if you want them, they go fast! We ended up just bringing our own bikes and it was perfect! Biking to downtown was just a few minutes and we never had to pay or find parking!

The staff was friendly and helpful.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gibtronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
I'm happy to read such a great review. Our fitness center is ready for our guests to use and we hope to see you again! Please feel free to contact us directly for any future accommodations.

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    304
    80
    30
    18
See reviews for
289
482
26
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

the wifey and i spend the weekend at Jay's Inn. celebrating our 24th anniversary this past weekend, and loved it. its clean, newly remodeled and the rooms are huge... skip the breakfast and go to their restaurant across the street. i will be back :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melo407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for giving Jaybird's Inn the opportunity to help make your anniversary memorable. I'm glad to know that customer expectation was met with customer service, ending with customer satisfaction. Please feel free to contact us directly for any future reservations. We'd love to have you back!

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel for one night and we were pleasantly surprised. Large room, contemporary decor, NO CARPET, extremely clean and a friendly staff. The only thing that I would complaint about was the "free continental breakfast". I would say to families with children, "do not count on this breakfast". It was mainly bread and a few bakery items, though this is not a turn off for our family, our main concern when we travel is having clean rooms and clean beds; this hotel definitely addresses that. Strategically located, a 2 mile walk to St. Augustine historic area. Do not be deter by the hotel appearance from the outside, give it a chance and you will be surprised.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yessika N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel, and for posting a review based on your experience. Since November, we've added a couple things to our continental breakfast, including a waffle iron, so there's a better variety. I appreciate your emphasis on "no carpet". Replacing carpet with porcelain tile helps maintain a clean, cool living space. Should you ever decide to revisit, please feel free to contact us directly. We hope to see you again!

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for the weekend and I didn't want to leave! The bed and pillows are so comfy! What really amazed me was how CLEAN it was. So spotless! The breakfast... Well it's very limited bagels, English muffin, muffins and cereal along with juices. So don't count on feasting for breakfast. The front office was always nice when approached. The location is perfect! Not in the busy downtown area if you prefer the calmer scenario. There is a 24 hour open CVS across so it's very convenient. The hotel is also affordable. I will defenitly be staying here again the next time I come to St. Augustine :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPerez1284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
It's nice to read such kind comments. We look forward to see you again! Please feel free to contact us directly for your reservation needs.

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
134 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

I would like to give this a better rating.. Old place but nicely fixed up and VERY clean... But we started to hear the trains about 4am and several more after that. Then about 630 the noise from the street! If you are a very sound sleeper this is the place, else avoid.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dale K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for posting your review. I'm very sorry to hear your sleep was interrupted by the train and highway noise. We do have soundproof windows and concrete walls, but sometimes a room in the back helps. We'd love to be given another chance. Should you decide to reconsider, please contact me directly for your reservations.

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

I am glad I followed the good feedback from Tripadvisor and booked at this hotel. Outside the hotel does not say much but once you get inside you see the hotel has been under full renovation. The front desk and waiting area is very modern as well as the rooms. I went with my mom and we had a double bed room. The decor is contemporary, bed matresses are very comfortable and the sheets and pillows are so comfy you feel like you are in a five star hotel. Bathroom is all fully renovated as well and we enjoyed the complimentary Starbucks coffee to make in our room. Also, love that floors are not carpeted and had a wood finished look, very convenient for those who suffer from allergies like myself. Breakfast was accordingly with the rate you pay. Jaybird's Inn is well located, just a few minutes by car to the tourist attractions you can even walk or take the tourist buses outside if you like. I did not check the pool nor the gym facilities to rate it but I am sure it would have similar standards accordingly with the renovation. If I visit again St. Augustine, I will book again at Jaybird's Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
It's a real joy to read such a pleasant review. Customer satisfaction is our number one goal, and it's an absolute pleasure to know when we've met that. If you ever return to this area, please give us a call. We'd love to have you back!

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We visited this hotel in the spring of this year, while it was under renovation. We liked the location, cleanliness and the friendly staff. We came back again this November after the hotel was fully renovated. The rooms are large and beautifully furnished, organized and very clean. Even the smallest details were not overlooked (Free WiFi, computer and electrical connections and the comfortable chairs are just a few things to mention)
The reception area looks like a large living room with a large TV and comfortable furniture.

What makes the place also exceptional is the friendly staff. Josh, the front office manager,should be used as a role model for people who work in the hotel industry. Always very professional, friendly and helpful, treating the guest as they should be treated. That too brings the business in. Repeated business that is....

We also visited the Jaybird's Restaurant, located next to the hotel. They serve excellent food and the staff too is very friendly.
We will definitely recommend this hotel and restaurant to our friends and family and come back again .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thanks for taking a few minutes to share your thoughts on our hotel. It's always good to know when the staff is accommodating, especially when they go above and beyond to meet the needs our guests. We'd love to have you stay with us again, should you decided to, please contact us directly for your reservations!

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#10 of 79 in Saint Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
6.3 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. A...
#26 of 79 in Saint Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN St. Augustine Beach Inn
BEST WESTERN St. Augustine Beach...
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaybird's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaybird's Inn

Property: Jaybird's Inn
Address: 2700 N Ponce de Leon Blvd, Saint Augustine, FL 32084-2641
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Saint Augustine
#4 Green Hotel in Saint Augustine
#5 Best Value Hotel in Saint Augustine
#7 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine
#9 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jaybird's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Jaybird’s Inn, where we’ll treat you like family and provide you the best living and sleeping experience in St. Augustine. Influenced by the old Spanish design of Downtown Historic St. Augustine. When you arrive on our property, you’ll be immersed in the feel of Historic St. Augustine almost immediately. As an active living hotel we offer clean and eco-friendly rooms, and not only encourage, but will help you be active while you enjoy yourself If you’re looking for a more leisurely way to see the Old City, jump on the Red Train Tour that’s next door for a wonderful excursion around St. Augustine. After a day of healthy activity relax at the pool followed by a scrumptious meal at Jaybird’s Restaurant located next door where you’ll receive a 10% discount on all meals. Retire to your comfortable room to watch television on your 42” LCD TV with over 80 channels. Wake up to a cup of tea or Starbucks coffee in your room and then join us for a free continental breakfast in the lobby or have a full breakfast at Jaybird’s Restaurant & Pizzeria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Jaybird's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing