We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How can this be no 5????”
Review of Jaybird's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jaybird's Inn
Ranked #17 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I would like to give this a better rating.. Old place but nicely fixed up and VERY clean... But we started to hear the trains about 4am and several more after that. Then about 630 the noise from the street! If you are a very sound sleeper this is the place, else avoid.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Dale K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Thank you for posting your review. I'm very sorry to hear your sleep was interrupted by the train and highway noise. We do have soundproof windows and concrete walls, but sometimes a room in the back helps. We'd love to be given another chance. Should you decide to reconsider, please contact me directly for your reservations.

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,021 - 1,027 of 1,139 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

I am glad I followed the good feedback from Tripadvisor and booked at this hotel. Outside the hotel does not say much but once you get inside you see the hotel has been under full renovation. The front desk and waiting area is very modern as well as the rooms. I went with my mom and we had a double bed room. The decor is contemporary, bed matresses are very comfortable and the sheets and pillows are so comfy you feel like you are in a five star hotel. Bathroom is all fully renovated as well and we enjoyed the complimentary Starbucks coffee to make in our room. Also, love that floors are not carpeted and had a wood finished look, very convenient for those who suffer from allergies like myself. Breakfast was accordingly with the rate you pay. Jaybird's Inn is well located, just a few minutes by car to the tourist attractions you can even walk or take the tourist buses outside if you like. I did not check the pool nor the gym facilities to rate it but I am sure it would have similar standards accordingly with the renovation. If I visit again St. Augustine, I will book again at Jaybird's Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

It's a real joy to read such a pleasant review. Customer satisfaction is our number one goal, and it's an absolute pleasure to know when we've met that. If you ever return to this area, please give us a call. We'd love to have you back!

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We visited this hotel in the spring of this year, while it was under renovation. We liked the location, cleanliness and the friendly staff. We came back again this November after the hotel was fully renovated. The rooms are large and beautifully furnished, organized and very clean. Even the smallest details were not overlooked (Free WiFi, computer and electrical connections and the comfortable chairs are just a few things to mention)
The reception area looks like a large living room with a large TV and comfortable furniture.

What makes the place also exceptional is the friendly staff. Josh, the front office manager,should be used as a role model for people who work in the hotel industry. Always very professional, friendly and helpful, treating the guest as they should be treated. That too brings the business in. Repeated business that is....

We also visited the Jaybird's Restaurant, located next to the hotel. They serve excellent food and the staff too is very friendly.
We will definitely recommend this hotel and restaurant to our friends and family and come back again .

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thanks for taking a few minutes to share your thoughts on our hotel. It's always good to know when the staff is accommodating, especially when they go above and beyond to meet the needs our guests. We'd love to have you stay with us again, should you decided to, please contact us directly for your reservations!

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is a great, affordable, boutique hotel. Once The Alhambra, it has been completely modernized while still keeping the Old Florida charm of St Augustine. Great staff, great restaurant, and great prices. We'll go there next time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post a review. We look forward to working with you for any future accommodations. Please feel free to contact us directly for your next reservation with Jaybird's Inn.

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This was our first visit to St. Augustine. We were there to attend a wedding of one of our wonderful friends. A block of rooms were set aside for this event that we were attending. We stayed at the Jaybird Inn and can tell you the rooms were immaculate, the breakfast was fabulous, the staff was outstanding. Thank you Josh for being so attentive to all our needs. Also thank you for giving us the two extra's days for the same rate. We are looking forward to another stay next year at the Jaybird Inn. I know the rooms were recently renovated and they did a wonderful job on the renovation. We also ate at the Jaybird restaurant and the food was excellent. The hamburger platter was out of this word, moist and juicy and the french fries were great too. Thank you all for a fabulous stay.

Room Tip: Convient to the historic district and also close the I95.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueEyes62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

It is a pure joy to read such an awesome review! I appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience. Please feel free to contact us directly when you're ready to book your next stay!

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Jaybird's Inn was a wonderful experience. We found it very clean and spacious. It was located very close to old St. Augustine and best of all had their own restaurant which had an excellent breakfast and dinner menu. There is even an express/takeout section that is totally dedicated to quick service.

Room Tip: Rooms on left side of check-in are great if you need adjoining rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobbyTTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thank you for sharing such kind comments about JBI and JBR. I'm glad to know you had a good experience on both sides! If you decide to revisit, please feel free to contact us directly for your accommodations!

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I just visited Saint Augustine with my wife for the weekend, and after searching for a hotel within our price range, we found Jaybirds. They had no rooms available with just one bed online so I called them. The clerk answered and told me they didn't have a regular room but they could put us into the suite room and give me a discount. We took the deal...and it exceeded our expectations. It was so clean and beautiful. Bed was comfortable and the refrigerator came in handy. Shower was great (although there wasn't any hot water early in the morning). The continental breakfast was good. They have pretty much everything you need. Bagels, muffins, cereal, juice, coffee. Starbucks coffee in the room too! The hotel is far enough away from everything that you feel like you are escaping the hustle and bustle of downtown but close enough that you can save on gas! What I liked most of all, was the design of the room. It just looks good! Least of all, I didn't like no hot water in the early morning but Overall, fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberto B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

I appreciate you taking the time to send us your feedback. We've been aggressive with the hot water issue, and so far, so good! I hope that you'll consider us during your next visit to Saint Augustine. We'd love to have you back!

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#10 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,399 reviews
6.3 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
901 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North
1.9 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Sebastian St Augustine
5.7 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaybird's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaybird's Inn

Address: 2700 N Ponce de Leon Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2641
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Augustine
#5 Best Value Hotel in St. Augustine
#6 Green Hotel in St. Augustine
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range: $93 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jaybird's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Jaybird’s Inn, where we’ll treat you like family and provide you the best living and sleeping experience in St. Augustine. Influenced by the old Spanish design of Downtown Historic St. Augustine. When you arrive on our property, you’ll be immersed in the feel of Historic St. Augustine almost immediately. As an active living hotel we offer clean and eco-friendly rooms, and not only encourage, but will help you be active while you enjoy yourself If you’re looking for a more leisurely way to see the Old City, jump on the Red Train Tour that’s next door for a wonderful excursion around St. Augustine. After a day of healthy activity relax at the pool followed by a scrumptious meal at Jaybird’s Restaurant located next door where you’ll receive a 10% discount on all meals. Retire to your comfortable room to watch television on your 42” LCD TV with over 80 channels. Wake up to a cup of tea or Starbucks coffee in your room and then join us for a free continental breakfast in the lobby or have a full breakfast at Jaybird’s Restaurant & Pizzeria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Jaybird's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing