We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT VACATION EXPERIENCE”
Review of Jaybird's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jaybird's Inn
Ranked #17 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was our first visit to St. Augustine. We were so glad we chose to stay at Jaybird's Inn. the rooms were exceptional in cleanliness and décor. The beds were top of the line in comfort and the staff was very friendly. Jaybird's Restaurant is located next to the inn and offered us a wide variety of delicious food that was moderately priced. The décor at the restaurant was also very attractive. We found Jaybird's close to all of the historic attractions we wanted to visit. We would definitely stay there again and have already recommended it to friends.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have very quiet A/C units so there is no noise problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,046 - 1,052 of 1,139 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

Our stay at Jaybirds Inn was great the room was clean they had everything in the room u need the bed and bedding were very comfortable , the staff was very helpful and polite I would stay again and recommend my friends and family to stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The on-site sign at Jaybird's alludes to a "boutique" experience. While we had a very pleasant stay at Jaybird's, I would hardly call it a boutique experience, whatever that means. I am now more confused than ever.

Jaybird's is listed as a "green" facility, a factor which does matter to me. I saw environmentally- friendly light bulbs and the now-usual option not to change the sheets and towels daily, both practices which mostly help their bottom line. I was dismayed, however by the lack of recycling and by the ubiquitous styrofoam in the breakfast area. Curiously, neither recycling nor the use of biodegradable disposable dinnerware is listed as a green practice in the definition of "green" on the Trip Advisor website, which I discovered only as I was writing this review. Apparently, Jaybird's does qualify as "green" under that specific rubric, but, to my recollection, the management made no mention of the full rubric in its visitor's book. This visitor takes exception.

On the plus side, other reviewers have noted the newly renovated rooms, which are exactly as pictured in the advertising. They are clean, fresh, well-equipped, and comfortable. The toilet/shower area is tiny, but who needs that much room for the associated functions? The sink area is more spacious and is accentuated by the wall-length mirror. Housekeeping was efficient and non-intrusive.

Judging from the smell and one dead roach (completely understandably in that climate and locale), an exterminator had obviously been in the room before we arrived. It took most of the stay for the smell to dissipate. I'd rather have the smell than the roaches, and, yes, I wonder what spray was used.

The sofa is not particularly comfortable for sitting, but we found that using one of the bed pillows for a head rest while seated on the sofa made it a bit more appealing.

The plugs are regulation child-proof, I was told when I mentioned that I couldn't get any to work. It was as though each one were misaligned. Sure enough, with a bit of jiggling one could engage the outlet. A sign to that effect would b helpful, especially to those who encounter the difficulty late at night.

Some of the amenities described on the website are still theoretical. The "library," for example is still lacking books and the fitness center, which I was anticipating, is not yet open. I knew from the reviews, however, that such would probably be the case. I am sure that, in time, the facility will be fully operational.

We had come to St. Augustine for the attractions, and the staff at the hotel did a good job of connecting us to the appropriate facilities. We were delighted not to have to move our car until we left at the end of the stay. The trolley company picked us up at the hotel and dropped us back at the hotel, within the parameters of their service hours, which ended at 4:30 p.m.

As has been noted, the continental breakfast is strictly no frills. Obviously, management would like guests to patronize the restaurant next door. We never saw anyone else at breakfast so maybe the early-80s style continental breakfast offerings did the trick. We availed ourselves of the coffee (not nearly as good as the in-room Starbucks), milk, three types of juices, bagels, muffins, sliced bread, margarine, butter, sugar-frosted flakes, fruit loops.

Locals who asked where we were staying were curious about Jaybird's. I was happy to say that the site is a pleasant option but perhaps the management should be more clear what it stands for. Just saying the facility provides a boutique experience or that it has green status does not make that the reality.

Room Tip: We appreciated our ground-floor room midway down the length of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VirginiaPeregrinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel has beautiful rooms and it's location is minutes from downtown St. Augustine. The staff was super friendly and helpful in suggesting things to do while visiting the area. We will be returning next year and staying at Jaybird's Inn again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AEKx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had an AWESOME experience at the Jaybird. Our room was AWESOME, CLEAN and the people in charge were very friendly. I was kinda skeptical when my husband said that we were staying at the Jaybird. Boy was I glad that he made reservations for us. They even accommodated us when my husband called and said that we would be getting to St. Augustine earlier than we realized. We had no problem checking in or checking out. The continental breakfast was great. We would/will stay at the Jaybird again if we're traveling that area again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are easy to access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Jaybird's Inn is newly renovated. The rooms are very modern,clean, and no carpet, which I love! There is a small refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker in the room we stayed in, as well as an iron and ironing board. We had a problem with the coffee maker.. the plug did not want to fit into the electrical outlet on the counter. Good thing they have a coffee bar in the lobby!
Not on the beach but conveniently located off the main road from I-95 and a short drive to the historic section of St Augustine. Over all a good stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneM217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We just had one evening to visit St. Augustine on our way to a family reunion. I read the reviews for the Jaybird and decided to take the chance. It was a chance worth taking, the fact they are still remodeling did not hamper a great stay filled with good customer service! The room was clean with nice amenities, I would highly recommend staying here and plan to return soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#9 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,404 reviews
6.3 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
901 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North
1.9 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Sebastian St Augustine
5.7 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaybird's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaybird's Inn

Address: 2700 N Ponce de Leon Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2641
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Augustine
#5 Best Value Hotel in St. Augustine
#6 Green Hotel in St. Augustine
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range: $92 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jaybird's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Jaybird’s Inn, where we’ll treat you like family and provide you the best living and sleeping experience in St. Augustine. Influenced by the old Spanish design of Downtown Historic St. Augustine. When you arrive on our property, you’ll be immersed in the feel of Historic St. Augustine almost immediately. As an active living hotel we offer clean and eco-friendly rooms, and not only encourage, but will help you be active while you enjoy yourself If you’re looking for a more leisurely way to see the Old City, jump on the Red Train Tour that’s next door for a wonderful excursion around St. Augustine. After a day of healthy activity relax at the pool followed by a scrumptious meal at Jaybird’s Restaurant located next door where you’ll receive a 10% discount on all meals. Retire to your comfortable room to watch television on your 42” LCD TV with over 80 channels. Wake up to a cup of tea or Starbucks coffee in your room and then join us for a free continental breakfast in the lobby or have a full breakfast at Jaybird’s Restaurant & Pizzeria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Jaybird's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing