We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There are better hotels in St Augustine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
Ranked #56 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
rochester, NY
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“There are better hotels in St Augustine”
Reviewed April 17, 2007

We just returned from a four day stay in St Augustine at this hotel. If it weren't for the location of the hotel, it would not have much to offer. As in previous reviews, I would agree that the outside looks somewhat charming, the inside leaves much to be desired. We did not come across anything outright disgusting, but the rooms and facilities could definitely use more thorough cleaning and upkeep. They are a regular size hotel room, but are quite dark and dank inside. It is a pet friendly hotel and perhaps one would have better luck requesting a smoke free/pet free room. So, here are the good and bad:
Good: Location is good. Outside of the direct historic district, but within walking distance of most attractions. The Fountain of Youth is directly behind the property, so close you can hear the peacocks. The trolley sightseeing tours (which I would recommend by the way) stop directly at the hotel as there is a large 600 year old oak tree that is on the historic trolley route. There is a great pizza/italian restaurant a bit down the road (Borillos, I think) and a Dairy Queen and liquor store directly near by. So if you want to use the trolley or walk, the location is good for both.
Bad: Rooms dark and dank, breakfast is sparse (two kinds of dry cereal, toast, bagels, juice, coffee- no baked goods were ever available when we were there although it is stated as part of the selection and the fruit available wasn't suitable to feed to farm animals), the pool was full of leaves, quite cold, and the entire pool area was actually closed one day due to high winds (?)
After sightseeing around both the historic and beach area of St Augustine, there are tons of hotels that would probably offer better conditions within the same price range. We didn't have a horrible experience, but I definitely would not choose this hotel again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — general cleanliness and upkeep, pool area disappointing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank serenity37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    381
    342
    178
    187
See reviews for
476
531
42
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2007

Looks good on the outside, but rooms were poorly lit and cave-like. Carpet left black residue on our feet (?mildew!) Dank odor. For about $40 more, you can get a nice B&B right in the heart of the historical district.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the guest room
  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank islander244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2007

i stayed at the hotel for 3 nights during late November and have no complaints about the Hotel or room 155.I made the mistake of leaving my wallet in the room when i checked out and was returning to the UK before i missed it.I contacted the hotel who said they had my wallet safe and sound and would mail it to my UK address.Its now mid January and after 4 fone calls to the US I am still awaiting its return.Prospective guests beware!!!!!

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank cameron-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre,FL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2006

We went through three rooms before realizing the whole place is crawling with ants. The few towels provided in rooms were dirty with clumps of brown matter and stains all over. Bathrooms had mildew and hair throughout. No soundproofing here--we could hear the converstion going on in the room next door( and they weren't shouting). People had pets in designated "no pet" rooms which added to the noise. They charged us one nights tariff for early checkout. Simply cannot believe this motel is in the USA, certainly not up to the usual cleanliness standards for this country.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Insects
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FlaglerCollegeMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami fl
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2006

I made my reservation on the internet, the fare was not the lowest fare because of the holiday(jul4) the room size was ok but the customer service at front desk was not the best. They gave me room 101, was the worst room in my hole life, it was like if you were inside of those smoking rooms at the airports, everything smell, the bed, carpet, linens, courtains, everything, was terrible, i tried to stay our of the room all the time, was very dificult to sleep, with that smell going inside your nose. They didnt change the room because the dont have more available they said.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank metro1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 13, 2006

We reserved a non-smoking suite for our family to stay in.

We checked in and went to the room to find it very dirty, smelling like smoke and defintely not a suite. It was one open room with two double beds in it, not suitable for a family to sleep in.

We checked out five minutes later and drove home. We had a very hard time getting our money refunded but eventually did. This hotel is not recommended for families especially.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 24, 2006

The outside of the Howard Johnson looks Spanish and charming, but the inside is old, in poor repair and generally unattractive. The lamps have 60 watt light bulbs which give the room a very poorly-lit, gloomy look and if you like reading in bed, you'd better bring a flashlight! It doesn't feel clean, and the sheets are so old and dingy that they look as though they haven't been changed from the night before. There were some things I liked about the motel though. It's inexpensive, about a mile from the historic center (a pleasant walk), and it has an inviting seating/picnic area under that magnificent 600 year old live oak! It's also adjacent to Magnolia Street, a beautiful place for a morning walk along tabby walls and long tunnels of breath-taking live oaks.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn St Augustine/Historic Downtown
0.3 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
#23 of 79 in St. Augustine
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#46 of 79 in St. Augustine
404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
Address: 137 San Marco Ave, I-95 Exit#318 & SR 16E, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3264
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn-Historic St Augustine Hotel Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing