We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent and Basic.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
Ranked #56 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent and Basic.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2009

I stayed at this HoJo recently and it was decent and basic.

It's a nice location for getting around- both the Red Train and Old Town trolleys have stops in the courtyard and drive through the lot. The Fountain of Youth park is footsteps away, and it backs up to Magnolia Ave- possibly the most beautiful street in America. It's also a pleasant not-too-long walk to the historic district while not, technically, what I would say as actually BEING in the historic district.

Plus, the old-fashioned set-up makes it so you can park directly in front of your room. No hassle to bring your bags in from the car! But that same set-up makes it so if you want natural light in your room you have to be prepared for your room to be very open to everyone that walks, drives, or trolley rides by.

I was very happy to see the trolleys going by and liked being able to catch snippets of what the guides were saying when in my room during the day. Although, the rooms aren't exactly soundproofed and if you don't like hearing the ring of the trolley bells every twenty minutes, it might be a bit annoying.

While I stayed, it was the coldest week Florida had seen in a while and it was a pleasant surprise to find out that the heating and cooling unit in the room did work excellently and kept the room toasty for when I came back after walking around in the chilled air.

A few issues I did have, though:

1) Very few electrical outlets in the room, especially considering the location was recently renovated. To plug in the wall-mounted hair dryer, I had to unplug the microwave. And if I had wanted to make coffee, I would've then had to decide between unplugging the hair dryer or the mini fridge. I had to unplug the alarm clock to charge my phone while keeping it near the bed. And my laptop had to be plugged in on the other side of the room- thank goodness I brought its cord extender!

2) The wind picked up one day and blew my Do Not Disturb sign away, resulting in housekeeping knocking on my door when I very much wasn't expecting it. The man doing housekeeping that day kindly gave me a new sign that I took to shutting half in the door for the rest of my stay. It'd be nice for there to be signs that held up better against the elements considering it's all outdoor access and very open.

3) I extended my stay at one point, having fallen in love with the city, and almost regretted not just going to a different motel when I was treated somewhat like a burden for wanting to give more money to the establishment. But I was treated very kindly when I did check out, so maybe it was just an off night. I almost didn't want to mention it.

4) The internet router and mess of wires in the upper corner of the room was a bit bizarre. Is that the best placement they could get?

The room was pretty clean, though. Some odd blue marks in the tub but nothing frightening, mind you. The double locks on the door made me feel very safe while staying alone. And it was a perfect set up for just wanting to keep to myself and wander the St. Augustine for a few days.

  • Liked — Being right near Magnolia Avenue
  • Disliked — Not what I expected for being "newly renovated".
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank duchessdogberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    382
    342
    178
    187
See reviews for
476
532
43
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galax VA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2009

Spent one night at HOJO St. Augustine 01/16/09. The hotel is an older style Motor Court from the 50's that has been upgraded. The room with two queens was clean and pretty basic. Had a coffee maker and fridge. Nothing special, but we just wanted a clean place for the night. One advantage to the location is that it is one of the stops for the Oldtowne Trolley Tour and some other trolleys. We purchased our tickets at the hotel office for the tours. (Highly recommend the Oldtown Trolley because you can get on and off and they have regular stops. Also excellent tourguide/drivers).

We were not at all impressed by their Continental Breakfast, so we went elsewhere. All in all, would stay there again because elegant and plush lodging is not important to me or my family. We prefer to spend our travel money on sightseeing and meals and HOJO St. Augs. fit our bill perfectly.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — A bit rough around the edges wth maintenance.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank galaxrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2008

This hotel is in a pretty good location although a bit of a walk to get back to the centre. The room was quite dark and the first bed I intended on sleeping in had dirty sheets. But I was on my own so I used the other bed. All the appliences were very old and stained so I decided to eat out. There must be better hotels in the area?

  • Liked — The layout of the hotel
  • Disliked — The dark and dingy rooms
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank tk0306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2008

On our summer vacation, our family of four stayed at this HOJO for a week. The hotel staff is very friendly, the manager was very helpful in guiding us in selecting sightseeing places as well as giving us coupons and arranging for the trolly tour.

The rooms were clean and comfortable. Our room was recently renovated with what seemed to be new furniture, including new bed. The manager told us that all the rooms have been recently renovated.

The motel has historic ambiance with one of the sightseeing attractions right in it's courtyard. It is called the "Old Senator", it's one of the oldest trees in the country. Also, both sightseeing trolley tours can pick you up right under the tree, because it is one of the stops.

The Fountain of Youth is also right behind the motel as is the "jail".

The room price also includes free continental breakfast, which is great for the price of the room.

Overall, it was an excellent value. We will definately consider coming back here again next year.

  • Liked — Very friendly and helpful staff and exceptional value
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank picassocourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st augustine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2008

when I went to hotel. we have very good experiance with frountdesk , room was very clean and everything brandnew
in the room , very good location,

  • Liked — room and location
  • Disliked — hot weather
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank StAugustineHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mars
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2008

When I got home from my stay I received a letter that said I stole some towels.I didn't. They charged the towels to the card I used.
$33 dollars. I already spent $168.80 on two nights in a very used hotel room and then they stole money from me. I could go on, but instead I'll say this...There are many hotels in beautiful
St. Augustine,
don't waste your money or your vacation in a poorly run, dirty hotel such as this Howard Johnson.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — stains
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MarsAdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojoManager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL, responded to this review, September 10, 2008
As per hotel policy, all the rooms are inspected before guest checks in and after guest checks out. The hotel is completly renovated in 2008
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2008

My best friend chose this hotel for her guests to stay at on her wedding night. It was only for the price. Man oh man.
This is what was wrong with our room.
1) Our sheets were smelly
2) Our toilet had toilet paper still in it
3) Our coffee maker had MOLD in it. ewwww.
4) We only had 2 towels, and they were the small ones!!
5) It smelled. Pretty bad.
It seems like this hotel never renovated after some hurricanes or something. The only good thing was that the staff was very nice and helpful. The breakfast was pretty simple.
Also we stayed up and drank in the courtyard, which is really cute! There's chairs and such. No one bothered us. There's a liquor store next store, that's also a plus. If you are a really young couple looking for a really cheap room and are just bar hopping, this might be for you.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bethydomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn St Augustine/Historic Downtown
0.3 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
#23 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#46 of 79 in St. Augustine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
Address: 137 San Marco Ave, I-95 Exit#318 & SR 16E, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3264
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn-Historic St Augustine Hotel Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing