We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
Ranked #57 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Waxhaw, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Clean room and courteous staff at a convenient location and a great price - we enjoyed the easy walk to the fort an all the other sites to see in St. Augustine. Although the property is aging, the room was very clean and the bed very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    390
    357
    190
    197
See reviews for
493
550
43
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Did not expect too much but was pleasantly surprised. Yes, everything needs updating, but beds were good & place was clean. We had to ask for the coffee in the room to be replenished more than once as housekeeping didn't do a good job of checking that, but location was great for us. We enjoyed the 1-mi. walk into town & after 1 round on the trolley found we didn't need to use it. Pleased that breakfast was available til 10:00 a.m. rather than 9:00, & heater was quiet when we needed to use it.

Room Tip: New roof being installed. Heard one couple asking for a room change because construction noise kept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SNH122014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The price of the room was reasonable and while it's a bit too far to walk to downtown, it's still a great location. The room was clean and we slept well. Breakfast was small but the choices were varied enough to satisfy everyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here over MLK weekend and it was great. Loved that it was nostalgic but very clean and within walking distance to everything. Tracy at the front desk was very friendly, it was quiet at night and the people's pick you up in the parking lot. Breakfast was you typical continental but people seem to be enjoying it, coffee was decent. We will stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The hotel is in a great location, about a 15-20 minute walk to historic downtown St. Augustine. Overall I would say that the hotel itself was alright. After reading the other reviews I was worried that it would be hit or miss. You can tell the hotel is old but it is very clean. The room and bathroom itself are very small, but we didn't spend most of our time in the room. One disappointment was the bed... It was hard as a rock. I woke up multiple times during the night with my limbs asleep because they were crushed on the hard bed. Also the breakfast was not worth waking up early for. Overall I would have to say it was alright for the money, but if we ever visit St Augustine again I think it's safe to say we will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dejavuvu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

The exterior of the motel was great. It looks like something southwest with adobe like walls and clay tile roofs. It's not too far from attractions and on the trolley route, so if you do that, you'll save some money on parking in town.

The interior on the other hand was somewhat problematic. It wasn't dirty so much as just poor maintenance. While the walls had been recently painted, the carpet was old and had that [dingy look but too dark to see the dirt] feel. Beds were old and hard and the furniture was probably 30 years old.

Since we didn't get in till 11 pm and were leaving in the morning, the fixtures and beds were clean, and the room was paid for in advance, we just decided to stick it out for the night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Papadoc1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Augustine hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn St Augustine/Historic Downtown
0.3 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#50 of 78 in St. Augustine
419 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
Address: 137 San Marco Ave, I-95 Exit#318 & SR 16E, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3264
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn-Historic St Augustine Hotel Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing