We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
Ranked #56 of 79 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
237 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Having just spent 2 nights as part of a tour group, I cannot understand the positive reviews for this despicable property. We heard of some rooms that were up to par, but most were poorly maintained and in serious need of upgrades. There were too many things to mention, from very rough towels and too narrow bathtubs to beat up furniture to badly stained box springs.

Room Tip: Look at the room first and be sure it is FULLY upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TripMember10192015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    367
    328
    171
    179
See reviews for
456
512
41
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Hill
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We arrived early and we were able to park our car on the motel lot until check in. The staff was friendly. They did a great job of stocking the continental breakfast and keeping fresh coffee. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Dee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

we had a great time the staff was very nice and we were treated very well unfortiantly we had to leave a day early due to family emergency but the tim e we were there was great thank you

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are old and bathroom is very small. It's a good value if you just want a place to sleep. The free breakfast is ok just cereal, juice, and breads. It will fill you until lunch. We would go there again if we are staying for one night.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indialantic, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We would stay at the St. Augustine HOJO again. While not the nicest of hotels, for the price it was adequate and the location was quite convenient. You can walk to the Fountain of Youth, the old jail, and several museums. Best of all, both of the cities trolleys stop on the premises. The free continental breakfast was weak at best (plain oatmeal, cold cereals, toast/bagels, overcooked hard boiled eggs, apples/oranges... but missing other cold breakfast essentials such as yogurt and bananas). We chose to eat breakfast out after the first morning's disappointment. Our room was clean and contained a few bonus amenities (fridge/microwave/coffee pot). The staff was friendly and accommodating towards our entire family (we had three separate rooms). Oh, and I nearly forgot to mention that there is a liquor store attached to the hotel property with phenomenal prices. Have wine, beer, and liquor next door whenever we wanted some made for a nice vacation perk.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GatorGirl825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Augustine hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn St Augustine/Historic Downtown
Days Inn St Augustine/Historic D...
#68 of 79 in Saint Augustine
3.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
0.2 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine
Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augu...
#60 of 79 in Saint Augustine
3.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
#22 of 79 in Saint Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. A...
#26 of 79 in Saint Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#44 of 79 in Saint Augustine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#39 of 79 in Saint Augustine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
Address: 137 San Marco Ave, I-95 Exit#318 & SR 16E, Saint Augustine, FL 32084-3264
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 79 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn-Historic St Augustine Hotel Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing