We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, clean , comfortable & very honest staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
Ranked #58 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Welcoming, clean , comfortable & very honest staff.”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We recently stayed for 3 days & found this to be a home from home.
The Hotel was ideally located as we could catch the Trolley Bus in the car park. The staff are magnificent & highly recommended to all. I inadvertently left my Kindle in the room when we checked out & I telephoned Reception the next day. My Kindle was promptly found & arrangements were made for it to be delivered to my daughter's home in Fort Lauderdale. I received my parcel within 30hrs. of checking-out of the Hotel.
Thank you for a happy ending.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hojo_Manager1235, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Ann,
Your review is so honest that we are truly touched by it. We only did what came natural to us and that is to always look out for our guests in every way and form. Quality service is built on trust and you can always trust us to do the right thing. When our guests are happy, only then are we are happy and satisfied. Thank you and we look forward to you revisiting us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    398
    363
    192
    203
See reviews for
504
558
45
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Hojo in saint Augustine is the one of the best hotel i stayed in. we stayed for a week in the hotel last month. I had a great service at the hotel. The staff were super friendly. My kids also enjoyed the stays over Hojo. Very neat room with great environment. We had a great accommodation going to the historical places, it was very close. we enjoyed the continental breakfast too. Also, we didn't really had to drive so far for food. The restaurants are like cross a street. Very calm area. There is some extra space front of hotel where my kids enjoyed playing in our free time. The beach was very close to our hotel too. I just loved the stay over HOJO. I appreciate the staff for giving me their best service. I will return for my next vacay.

Thank you Hojo!

JPatel

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jigna p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hojo_Manager1235, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Jigna,
You and your family were just wonderful guests, who truly enjoyed all the benefits of staying with us. We are truly grateful that you took the time to express this. Your unforgettable family vacation started and ended with us. Your needs for taking a vacation were met in a relaxing environment with comfortable accomodations and an unbeatable service. You came, you saw a great city with a great hotel with great people. Your family is our family. Our doors are always open to you. Have a terrific day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAINT PETERSBURG
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2012

very nice place, centrally located, good surroundings, pool & spa very nice, room housekeeping did a wonderful job, nice building & landscape & rooms, ( i would have preferred a little softer mattress) but everyone's different like that, some like firm, i dont, but other than that, i would stay there again, it was a very nice place, & staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank LAURA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hojo_Manager1235, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Laura,
It was so nice having you stay with us. Your shared experience is so honest. Our number one priority is the welfare of our guests, so we change our mattresses regularly, which contributed to your bed feeling firm. We apologize that this made your stay less than perfect, but we never sacrifice health for wealth. However, we are open to suggestions that will help to make this more comfortable for you and others. We hope you understand and this makes your next visit sooner than later. We are waiting to serve you. Make everyday a HoJo day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAINESVILLE
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Our family loved this place--it has a real St. Augustine feel and, as a bonus, it's right on the trolley and train route. We could walk to many attractions and good selection of restaurants. Nice staff and some healthy choices at the continental breakfast. We will return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank MARY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hojo_Manager1235, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Hey Mary,
Your feedback means alot to us. It tells us where we are now and where we ought to be going. We are glad that we were able to provide you with a clean, safe and quiet environment to stay at during your visit to the oldest city in America. Also, that we focussed on the well-being of our guests by meeting their nutritional needs with our balanced continental breakfast, not forgetting their need for exercise, which is an eye-opening stroll to all the historical sites. It is our daily mantra that our guests get nothing but the best in accommodation and hospitality. Come stay with us the next time you visit. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My family and I started a week's vacation with a brief stay in St. Augustine at this hotel. The location is great-- just steps away from the old mission, next to the old jail and fountain of youth, maybe 1/2 mile to the Castillo and St. George street. Two of the in-town trolleys pick up and drop off right there in the parking lot next to "The Senator" (an allegedly 500-year-old oak tree).

It is an older hotel (built in 1965) but it was renovated a few years ago and it has a very unique layout. Our room was a decent size, overall clean, and the beds were very comfortable. Wireless internet worked well, and the microwave and mini fridge came in handy to save us a few $$$ on meals. A Winn-Dixie supermarket is only a couple of miles north. The staff was great, and very friendly.

The only complaint I have is something other people have brought up before: the carpet could use a steam cleaning. The continental breakfast was also a little sparse but adequate for a nice bite before visiting the historic sites or the beach.The pool also didn't open until 10 a.m. which was a little odd.

I'd absolutely come back here though. A great value and a nice little "throwback" to simple comfortable hotels.

Room Tip: Motor lodge-style layout so you can always drive right up to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingpuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hojo_Manager1235, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Travellingpuck,
We are always happy to hear from our guests. It is our belief that this is the only way we are able to improve, so as to better serve you. You were able to experience the history of St. Augustine just by staying with us and being in such close proximity to the oldest tree in the city, The Old Senator, which has been studied and documented to be over 650 years old. In response to your concerns, which we took seriously and immediately started another deep cleaning of our carpets. For sanitation purposes, our pool is cleaned daily and opened at 10 a.m. We are sorry that you think that the breakfast is sparse, but we do serve the required layout of cereal (bran and frosted), bagel, whole wheat toast, English muffin, cinnamon rolls, apples, oranges, cream cheese, butter, jam, juice (apple and orange), Boiled eggs, oatmeal, coffee, and tea. Stop by on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I was a little hesitant after reading some of the reviews, but was pleasantly suprised. The staff was very friendly and my room was very clean. The only negative thing was that the bathroom towels were pretty rough and should be thrown away. Other than that it was a great visit and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hojo_Manager1235, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Jaime E,
Your review is greatly appreciated. Once again, we have succeeded at making another guest happy. Our only concern is you, our guests, so new towels have been purchased. You will be pleasantly surprised when you next visit. Howard Johnson maintains its reputation for excellence and rich hospitality. Have a HoJo Day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Our room was clean and the staff were friendly.
Want to take a walk down memory lane, this is it. I believe it was built in the 60's, and it showed.
The facility was clean, the brunch was average fare, and available in the lobby.
It was convenient to all sites, and the trolley stopped right in the hotel parking area by the ole Senator.
At night it was quiet and peaceful.
It was just an old motel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRSilverstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hojo_Manager1235, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Sideroads,
Thank you for visiting St. Augustine, staying with us and offering your opinion. It is well-known that the Howard Johnson brand is etched in America's history and lends itself to tradition. Therefore, the oldest city in America would not have been completed without Howard Johnson Inn. Obviously, you enjoyed the opportunity to be in walking-distance to all the major historical sites, without paying an arm or leg, nor sacrificing comfort. We emphasize excellent customer service, cleanliness and the happiness of our guests. We invite you to visit for the adventure but stay for the quality.
Have a HoJo Day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn St Augustine/Historic Downtown
0.3 mi away
The Ponce St Augustine Hotel
The Ponce St Augustine Hotel
#57 of 78 in St. Augustine
429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#48 of 78 in St. Augustine
422 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
Address: 137 San Marco Ave, I-95 Exit#318 & SR 16E, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3264
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn-Historic St Augustine Hotel Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing