We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
Ranked #58 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
“wonderful honeymoon”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We found the hotel easy to find. Check in was smooth. The room we stayed in was very comfortable and clean. The staff was very friendly. The hotel is centrally located to all the major attractions. We choose to use the trolly tram that stops right in the parking lot to pick up people. Breakfast you had a variety of different things. Then 2 years later we stopped and stayed here on our way to Orlanda. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon4814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hojo_Manager1235, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Happy Honeymooners,
Your honeymoon was wonderful and we are extremely happy that it was spent with us. That has always been our aim, to share with guests, like you, in the making and marking of beautiful memories. Congratulations and we will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    392
    360
    190
    199
See reviews for
496
552
44
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Our family absolutely loved this hotel which has one of the best location. It provides safe and secure accommodations. I am very careful when choosing hotels because of issues with comfortable beds but the bed at this hotel was excellent. Rooms are specious and clean. Keep the good work! I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 403Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hojo_Manager1235, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your honest opinion. Your thoughts speak volumes of our accomodations and service. We look forward to you and your family returning.

Have a HOJO day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The grounds of the hotel were very nice, the staff was friendly, but the room did feel somewhat stuffy. There was absolutely no internet connection, although it was advertised as free wireless. I had brought work with me and in order to complete my work I had to go to the hotel lobby to connect to the internet, which was very inconvenient. A customer came in one evening to report to the manager that there was poop in the pool, after a long discussion he said he would take care of it, but during the next 20 minutes I remained in the lobby on line, I did not witness him contact any maintenance personnel to handle the situation. I don't believe I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hojo_Manager1235, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Friend,

Thank you for staying with us and we sincerely apologize that during your stay, you were unable to access our Hi-Speed Wi-Fi. We had experienced minor technical difficulties, and worked very hard to improve and restore full functionality throughout the hotel. We assure you that this has not and will never happen again. In regards to your concern of sanitation, prompt action was taken and it was revealed that it was brown leaves, from The Old Senator Tree which overhangs the pool area, had settled at the bottom. Have no fear, at no time will we jeopardize the safety or health of our guests.
We do wish to have you join us again. Come and make memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Augustine hotels

Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2012

we stayed at this hojo last night. The lady, Stephany, checked us in. she was wonderful, friendly and called us after we got to the room to see if we needed anything. That evening was quiet and peaceful.

The room was clean and beds very comfy. Not far from the attractions.

The next morning was another story. After a night of drinking in the historic district we wanted to sleep in and at 9:30 the maid throws open our door without knocking (and us not being decent for guests) then says she will be back in 15 min. The breakfast was good but the man at the front desk kept staring at us like we didnt belong there. I felt stalked.

We will stay there again and overall was a very nice place. Sunday night specials were only 53.00 and well worth it.

Room Tip: do not stay at the ramada in down the street, the lady at the desk would not get off her cell phone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martina h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hojo_Manager1235, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having such an excellent taste in hotels and your stay was greatly welcomed. You have elaborated on our friendly, kind staff and our clean, comfortable rooms with unbeatable prices, situated in the historic district. However, we were shocked that such an incident had taken place and we sincerely apologize. This matter has since been addressed. It is our duty to ensure that everyone, who stays with us, is treated the best and have one of the best experiences. Your experience has spoken and we do look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We rebooked this hotel again after a visit last year. We stayed for 3 days ate end of June. This time around, no early check was allowed even though the hotel was fairly empty!! We received room 153 - 2 comfortable pillowtop queens and it was spotless with usual amenities - only thing missing was the safe (Had one last year in room 164).
Again we found the inside and outside of the hotel well presented, quiet and safe. Swimming pool and jacuzzi are very clean and great for a dip after a hot day! Breakfast is basic but you won't starve - for what you pay, it is excellent value.
Located about 1 mile to the center of St Augustine, it is a pleasant stroll. There are restaurants close by. There is a bar next door but no noise or trouble from it.
I truely am puzzled how some folks criticize the cleanliness/location of this hotel. I travel regularily on business and am used to 4 & 5 star acccomodations and most of them are great but the Hojo does not charge $250+ per night!! It is an older establishment but clean and comfortable with plenty of amenities for less that $100 per night!
We will be back next year
TIP : During the summer months, if you need a cooler room ask for a room away from 150-159 as they get direct sunshine all day - not a problem for us though!

Room Tip: TIP : During the summer months, if you need a cooler room ask for a room away from 150-159 as they g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockmanGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hojo_Manager1235, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Returning Guest,

We are glad that your overall experience was excellent. You have highlighted the cleanliness, which we strive so hard to maintain, and the proximity of our property to every piece of history in Down Town, St. Augustine. Also, that we are affordable and offer free continental breakfast each morning, giving our guests value for their money.
We apologize that you did not get an early check-in this time, but our usual check-in time is 3 o'clock. This allows a smooth transition from check-out, to the rooms being cleaned and for all rooms to be properly inspected to accomodate you, our guest.. Thank you for choosing us as your hotel of choice whenever you visit St Augustine.

Have a HOJO day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

First of all,this place is a rip off.150$ 2 night stay,sounds good right,cheap? well the closet in as big as a door,not as high though. the water had a odd smell,they have WELL water! the room was small,in the bed we found a womans hair,it was black and 5-6 strands of it! we found a hole along the bottom of the wall,and at night,cockroaches coming out of it,not Impressed.AT ALL.the pillows smelt like they werent washed for YEARS! next door is a liquor store,and in the middle of the night, drunk people will be swarming around drunk! it does though,have a historic cool tree in the middle of its property. the outside looks MUCH better than the inside,its a tourist trap,Never go to this [--] ,[--], dump!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hojo_Manager1235, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Friend,
We really regret that your stay was less than excellent. The City of St Augustine supplies the water for the entire city. As for the odd smell, that is the high Sodium content , which has contributed to it being known as the Fountain of Youth. Inspection is done regularly, so there are no holes in our walls. Also, great security measures are taken daily, in conjunction with the St Augustine Police Department to prevent unauthorized persons from entering our property and disturbing guests. We stress a clean and safe environment for everyone, who comes here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed her for 3 nights as part of a florida road trip and it was a great base to stay at. Loved the big old tree at the front! The rooms were clean and the beds comfy with nice bedding. The usual fridge and microwave in the room which are always handy. The bathroom could have done with an update but was ok for our needs and fine as we weren't staying there too long. Cheap liqor store next door - we sat under the big tree with our drinks as there were tables and chairs there - but we were bitten alive with mosquitos :( The pool area was a bit poor - and smelly from the drains - wouldn't have fancied a swim in it. It was about a 15 minute walk into the town - which was very quaint and had plenty of bars, shops and restaurants. Self service breakfast was ok too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpainloverLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn St Augustine/Historic Downtown
0.3 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#50 of 78 in St. Augustine
420 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
Address: 137 San Marco Ave, I-95 Exit#318 & SR 16E, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3264
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn-Historic St Augustine Hotel Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing