We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Hotel was good for the money.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
Ranked #52 of 77 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel was good for the money.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

The people at the front desk were extremely friendly. The breakfast there was more that I expected and was nice to be able to go to before heading out for the day. Our room was quiet and there is plenty of adequate parking. It was nice to be able to catch the trolley right there in the parking lot, made it very convenient. My only issue was there were a few small bugs in our bathroom which we killed but nothing that was extreme. The over all experience was good and it was nice to go in a room that was clean smelling.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not on the right side of the tree...there is a bar close by with loud music and yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    326
    283
    144
    153
See reviews for
405
434
36
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights, as part of a trip to watch the Jacksonville Jaguars, and the hotel is a good, reasonably priced place to stay when visiting St Augustine

Check in was easy with the lady on reception being very helpful, and the rooms were basic, but clean and tidy.

There is plenty of free parking onsite and there is also a guest laundry.

The location is about a 10 minute walk to the castle, but it is an easy walk for most people.
Considering the cost of most hotels in the area, this makes a good budget alternative.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DerbyshireEvil_Homer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

The hotel is conveniently located – trolley service goes through this location. I only drove at nights to eat out. I knew the hotel was old and I was expecting a peculiar smell in the rooms. Not sure if it came from the carpet or the walls themselves … 30 minutes later you would not even notice it anymore. Couple of things they could pay a little more attention to – or perhaps the person that is staying: bathroom lighting was not working well (flickering fluorescent) and the smoke detector started beeping in the middle of the night as if the battery was running low. They did fix those immediately upon request. Complimentary breakfast was basic and sufficient for my taste.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jorgindelperu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LI NY
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Worst HoJo motel I ever stayed in. Place looks great with that old tree in the center. Just be carefull you don't get run over by the tourest trams that pass by in the parking lot every 15 minutes. Their parking lot seems to be a main street with cars going in and out. Keep the kids close. The room was old, the bathtub was not cleaned. The TV didn't get every channel. Carpet needs help. We never put our suitcases on the floor. Only one ice machine working. The check-in person didn't put much of an effert to be nice. We did stay here four years ago when it was OK Now it's the same rooms just worn out. This place needs an overhaul.

Room Tip: Check for bed bugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaptainManny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojoManager, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
We thank you for your review of our hotel, and we sincerely apologize for your stay being anything less than satisfactory. However, the Trolley and Red Train Tours are our main attractions that afford guests the opportunity to be picked up on the property, and taken to see the oldest city safely and comfortably. We assure you that our rooms and carpets are deep-cleaned regularly by professionals. HoJo thanks you for your patronage and sincerely hopes that you would reconsider coming back to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
313 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

The hotel was nice it did its job. We were only there to sleep. There was no bugs at all and the bathroom was clean. It backs up to a bar, but we didn't hear any music at all. The employees lacked personality, but were helpful when asked questions. The breakfast was ok, toast, bagels, and cereal. They could have had more food, but it saved us money.

Room Tip: Don't get a room along the bar side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Banana427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

This HJ's is older, but comfortable and quite reasonably priced. We stayed there 3rd week of Sept. 2011 for a week, it was quiet and the desk clerks were very nice and very helpful. My biggest complaint was the carpet needed cleaning. They even loaned us a pack and play for the toddler. The free continental breakfast was as you would except, but was definitely adequate along with the free newspaper. WIFI worked well without any problems. We signed up with the little Red Sightseeing train tours and it picked us up and dropped us off in the parking lot, so we rarely drove our car while on vacation. We will definitely be back next fall!

Room Tip: they have both smoking and non-smoking rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scnurse02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojoManager, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
At Howard Johnson our aim is to please you, our wonderful guests. Therefore we thank you for sharing your invaluable review. In response to your concern, our management team embarked on a mission of Deep Cleaning the carpets in each room again. Once again, thank you for making it HOJO. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We were there in July. The rooms very accessible, you park in front of them. The main attraction of the hotel is an 600 hundred year old oak sitting in the middle of it, it probably witnessed many historical events in the town. The rooms very comfortable, clean, everything was great. The free continental breakfast was adequate and a great starter.
It is located near every thing. I will not hesitate to refer my friends to that place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yoyocu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojoManager, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Thank you for sharing in and being a part of the History of Howard Johnson. We are happy when our guests are happy. You are always welcome at Howard Johnson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Augustine hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn St Augustine/Historic Downtown
Days Inn St Augustine/Historic D...
#63 of 77 in Saint Augustine
3.0 of 5 stars 733 reviews
0.2 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine
Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augu...
#60 of 77 in Saint Augustine
3.0 of 5 stars 372 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#40 of 77 in Saint Augustine
3.5 of 5 stars 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. A...
#20 of 77 in Saint Augustine
4.0 of 5 stars 673 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
#25 of 77 in Saint Augustine
4.0 of 5 stars 608 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#34 of 77 in Saint Augustine
3.5 of 5 stars 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
Address: 137 San Marco Ave, I-95 Exit#318 & SR 16E, Saint Augustine, FL 32084-3264
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 77 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn-Historic St Augustine Hotel Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing