We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the worst hotel stays I've ever endured. The carpet...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson St. Augustine/ I-95
Ranked #73 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Reviewed January 18, 2014

One of the worst hotel stays I've ever endured. The carpet was worn and torn. The bed sagged in the middle. There was NO bathtub (it had been removed) and the shower DID NOT WORK! Had to bathe by sitting on floor where tub should have been and then try to bend over underneath the faucet. The road noise was horrible, preventing any kind of rest! Would NOT advise using this hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Dale D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (953)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

644 - 650 of 953 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We were told there was micro-fridge in room. There was not. TV is about twenty years old. Cable service consisted of about six channels...most with no sound or static on screen. Was told by front desk that it is always like this on their tvs.
Furniture was old with paint worn off along edges. Bathroom was a disaster. Entrance to room had loose stepping area under door. Advertising said WiFi in rooms, but it was available in lobby only. Not the roach motel that Knight's Inn at 16 & 95 is, but definitely NOT worth the $65 it cost us. Definitely will never stay at another Howard Johnson's motel!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bencole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The outside looks great, paint, parking lot - that's where it ends - the room are in badly needed upgrades!!!!!!!!!! First room - bed was collapsed, second room only just acceptable. There are better places to stay in Augustine. Lipstick on a pig.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Rhuppert T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank santafe47
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The entire staff from the front desk, to manager to maintenance went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Special thank yous to Crystal, Conner, Wanda, Sam, Mr. And Mrs. Mike Daxe, Steve and Joseph. They helped with directions, advice, service and above all else made us feel like we were staying with family. Amazing staff! Thank you.

Room Tip: We had both a suite and one single room non-smoking. Newly remodeled, clean and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stopped in St. Augustine enroute to Fort Lauderdale, where we spent the holidays. Tho this is an older hotel, it was clean & tidy & the price was right ($58.25 with tax), AND the fact that they allow pets is important to us. We must mention 2 employees who were particularly helpful : Crystal & Conner. This was a Ramada Inn & has apparently been taken over by Howard Johnson's. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The back side by the pool is quieter than the side next to the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAquiltR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn St Augustine West
Days Inn St Augustine West
#69 of 79 in St. Augustine
509 reviews
0.4 mi away
Smart Stay Inn of St. Augustine
Smart Stay Inn of St. Augustine
#24 of 79 in St. Augustine
77 reviews
10.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#65 of 79 in St. Augustine
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
10.6 mi away
St Augustine Island Inn
St Augustine Island Inn
#47 of 79 in St. Augustine
471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western St. Augustine I-95
Best Western St. Augustine I-95
#45 of 79 in St. Augustine
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson St. Augustine/ I-95? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson St. Augustine/ I-95

Address: 2535 State Road 16, I-95 Exit 318, St. Augustine, FL 32092-0703 (Formerly Ramada Limited St. Augustine)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range: $56 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson St. Augustine/ I-95 2*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Howard Johnson St. Augustine/ I-95 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited St. Augustine Hotel Saint Augustine
Ramada Hotel Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Ramada
Ramada Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing