We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible did not stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Howard Johnson St. Augustine/ I-95
Ranked #71 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Reviewed March 8, 2008

We were traveling from Bradenton Fl. to Pa.We stopped at the Ramada after checking several hotels that had no available rooms. The Ramada did have rooms. I should have realized that was a warning. Our room was disgusting. The bathroom had urine on the toilet. There was hair on the bathroom floor .The chair was stained unbelievable. The walls were marked and the room smelled. I called the front office and voiced my concerns .They were not helpful at all. The only had a suite available and wanted me to pay more for the suite. I explained the 100.00 that I was paying was already too much for this hotel. My parents were also traveling with us and their room was equally disgusting .Needless to say we all left. Avoid this hotel at all cost! I would suggest travel a few exits further on 95 and stay at the Marriot in Jacksonville

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank luvtravel047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1mgr, Manager at Howard Johnson St. Augustine/ I-95, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2009

Thank you very much for you candid review and accept our sincere apologies as well.
By answering your message we would like to encourage you and other travellers as well to give us another try and see how much we've improved since then on all fronts.
Please give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (899)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson St. Augustine/ I-95
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

857 - 863 of 899 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2008

For the cheap price...we got what we deserved. Our room clearly had some rust issues in the bathroom and it looks like the hotel just tried to hide some of their flaws with some paint. The hotel really needs to be renovated. But overall... the hotel staff was friendly and the free breakfast they serve was just enough to start the day. I would stay in this hotel again... IF they had some renovations done.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AJvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2008

Internet wireless: Good signal
Room: Worn out, every thing but the carpet
Bathroom: got a Ramada soap, with old stained bathroom
Breakfast: OK
Surroundings: Anything you need is there
Overall feelings: Any thing over $29.95 is over priced and over charged. I will not come back nor recommend this place to someone else.

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SouthShore10-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2008

They offer breakfast and the only thing we found was toasts, butter, coffee and juice. when we asked for cream cheese, jelly or anything else, staff was very rude. When we got to the hotel to sleep out second night, we find out we had no towels, toilet paper, trash bin was full, etc. They missed the bathroom service 100%, we had to call at 10pm requesting everything. It is a shame Ramada don't pay attention to these hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rodman4226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2007

This hotel was much less than what we expected. The room was smelly, the bathroom was tiny, the floor of the bathroom was sinking in and the tiles were cracked badly. The toilet seemed like it was about to fall into the floor. The room was not very clean. The carpets were very dirty as well. There was even someone's lid to a fast food cup on the floor by the bed. The beds were extremely hard and we all woke up with backaches. We could hear every step of the people in the room above us. Also, this hotel is not in Saint Augustine...it is outside the city limits of Saint Augustine. We would never stay at this hotel again. Thank goodness it was only for 2 nights.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2007

This hotel was conveniently located to I-95 and offered clean rooms and breakfast at a reasonable price for this highly Touristic area.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Gypsyquesito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2007

Quite a disappointing hotel. Looked great from the outside. The best parts were the friendly staff and the excellent price. But the room was badly in need of renovation. The tub/shower looked as if it had been through a war. The walls had been patched but the patches were not painted. One bed had no mattress protector -- just a flannel sheet under the regular sheet. No pillow protectors under the pillow cases. The toilet and shower were in a space so small it was a challenge. Originally this hotel was probably in good shape, but it desperately needs updating.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Richfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn ST. Augustine West
Days Inn ST. Augustine West
#69 of 78 in St. Augustine
483 reviews
0.4 mi away
Smart Stay Inn of St. Augustine
Smart Stay Inn of St. Augustine
#44 of 78 in St. Augustine
30 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western St. Augustine I-95
Best Western St. Augustine I-95
#46 of 78 in St. Augustine
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine - I-95
Hampton Inn St. Augustine - I-95
#42 of 78 in St. Augustine
555 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. Augustine I-95
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson St. Augustine/ I-95? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson St. Augustine/ I-95

Address: 2535 State Road 16, I-95 Exit 318, St. Augustine, FL 32092-0703 (Formerly Ramada Limited St. Augustine)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range: $55 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson St. Augustine/ I-95 2*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Howard Johnson St. Augustine/ I-95 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited St. Augustine Hotel Saint Augustine
Ramada Hotel Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Ramada
Ramada Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing