We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,704)
Filter reviews
1,704 results
Traveler rating
990
483
175
37
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
990
483
175
37
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdog runcheese gritslaminate floorsdog parkroom was cleanred trainhome friespet friendly hotelfrench toasthot breakfastacross the streetfree breakfastyogurtgreat place to staystay there againbreakfast staffclose to downtown
Filter
Updating list...
399 - 404 of 1,704 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2017 via mobile

I visited St. Augustine last week for the eclipse and luckily stumbled upon Southern Oaks! The hotel was quaint and freshly remodeled with fantastic staff and helpful service. The front desk was very helpful and friendly. Lucas (I believe was his name) was especially helpful and offered little tips and tid-bits of where to go in town, what to see and how to get there. These were often more "local" places off the tourist path!

Thank you to Lucas (?) and the other employees at Southern Oaks for a great time! Sometimes it is challenging to find dependable service in smaller, privately run hotels, but this place delivered! From the professional and friendly staff, great location and comfortable rooms, this is a great place to visit when in St. Aug!

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
2  Thank K1RKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOI-Marketing, Marketing at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at the Southern Oaks Inn! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed St. Augustine and our hotel, with such a convenient location so close to the main attractions.
Thank you for complimenting the cleanliness and comfort of our renovated rooms, as well as the hospitality provided by our staff. We always make sure our guests are well accommodated and they have everything they need.
We greatly appreciate the wonderful words you have said about Lucas. He is a great example of a hard working employee at our hotel.
We hope to have the opportunity to do this for you and your family again in the future.
Thank you for recommending us.
When you're making your next reservation with us, make sure to always call us directly for the guaranteed lowest rates. 904-342-2354. Also join our Loyalty Rewards program for extra discounts, first to hear about our promotions and other great perks.
- Guest Services Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2017

This hotel is located in the middle of the hotel district just outside town. Most of these hotel have the same motel formula but the Southern Oaks seemed just a little bit better than its direct competitors. The building is freshly painted and renovated, it has walk in showers in stead of bath tubs, there is more staff around than usual and the breakfast is more elaborate. The rooms are a good size, very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HansCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOI-Marketing, Marketing at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2017

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. Our goal as a staff is to provide every guest with high-quality service during their stay. I am happy to hear that our hotel exceeded the expectations during your stay. Our staff is delighted to know that you enjoyed our well-done paint job on our building, our recently renovated rooms, and our delicious breakfast.
We do hope that you continue to stay with us whenever you're in St. Augustine.

- Guest Services Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2017 via mobile

Room a little musty and dusty, but staff (especially young woman who checked us in) so welcoming and generous in recommending how to have the best short experience in St Augustine on our road trip. Nice breakfast and pool- key for young kids.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOI-Marketing, Marketing at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2017

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. We are always looking to improve our hotel for our guest's experiences. We do apologize for the room you stayed in was a little musty and dusty. Understand this is not the Southern Oaks Inn standard. I will be sure to speak with the head of housekeeping so situations like this are not repeated.
Our very hard working staff is here to make sure your trip is jam packed with things to do in St. Augustine. No matter the age of the people in your stay or the duration of your stay, our staff will keep you busy.
We do hope you and your family return to our hotel.
- Guest Services Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2017

This would not have been a romantic anniversary type hotel but most of the bandb's in town were a minimum 2 night stay on the weekends so we opted to save the money and stay here.It is an older looking hotel but the rooms were clean and updated. They have a breakfast buffet, but they do serve you all the hot items which were the standard fare but you could go back for more if you choose.It wasn't the cheapest place in town but you never know what your going to get with places under 100 dollars.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank kerry19571125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOI-Marketing, Marketing at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2017

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our recently renovated rooms and our delicious hot buffet breakfast.
We strive to provide every guest with a wonderful stay while they are staying at our hotel. We do hope that our staff was able to accomplish this during the duration of your stay.
Hopefully next time you're in St. Augustine you chose to stay with our hotel.
- Guest Services Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2017

We stayed one night on our way back from Charleston to see the eclipse. The hotel was just fine for this purpose. It was clean and well maintained. The breakfast was good. The only negative was that the armchair in our room was stained.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marleneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOI-Marketing, Marketing at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2017

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the amenities provided by our hotel. We do apologize for the issues with your armchair. I will be sure to speak with the head of housekeeping to make sure this experience will not be repeated.
We do hope you chose to stay with us again.
- Guest Services Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews