We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southern Oaks Inn
Nearby Hotels
$149
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort(Saint Augustine Beach)
$195
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western St. Augustine Beach Inn(Saint Augustine Beach)(Great Value!)
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jaybird's Inn(St. Augustine)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$214
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$123
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites(Saint Augustine Beach)
$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,575)
Filter reviews
1,575 results
Traveler rating
894
458
170
36
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
894
458
170
36
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdog runcheese gritslaminate floorsdog parkroom was cleanred trainhome friespet friendly hotelfree breakfastacross the streethot breakfastfrench toastgreat place to staystay there againbreakfast staffyogurtexcellent breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
1,358 - 1,363 of 1,575 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

Staff was friendly and accommodating, the room was clean, plenty of hot water, and ice cold air. The complimentary breakfast is delicious.

The hotel is conveniently located from downtown, and within walking distance to the red train station. This accessibility allows for a pleasant comute around town without the hassles of trying to find parking. We couldn't have asked for a better stay while visiting.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Scatter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

To know your stay was everything you had expected and you enjoyed your visit to the area is the best news we can get! Thank you so much for sharing your very kind comments, and we will be looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We spent last weekend there. We had a bit of a unique situation with our dog, since we ended up having to stay until evening. The staff went above and beyond the call of duty to help us accommodate our dog in a unique situation. The rooms are clean and safe with no pet odors thanks to the laminate flooring (a nice touch for a pet friendly hotel). They have a clean dog park that we used daily. The hotel is at the edge of a neighborhood with some beautiful historic cottages that made for a nice walk every morning with the dog. The pool is much bigger than the average hotel pool. Their breakfast is great with lots of options (way better than any other hotel breakfast I've had). We will be staying there again next year. Thanks Donna and Clay for helping us with Chance!!! (our dog)!! To top everything off, they are only a 5-10 minute drive to the beach, that allow dogs and costs less than the other hotels that we looked at that were further from the beach and didn't have breakfast. Best staff in the world across the board. Everyone was great!!! I am rating the rooms as very good rather than excellent only because they weren't plush and gorgeously decorated, but they were totally sufficient and clean. The beds were very comfortable. I think they are in the process of adding decor and new mirrors and stuff that will beautify the rooms. The rooms were still great.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful comments about your recent stay. Our staff is truly 'pet friendly' and were glad that they could help! It is always important to us that your visit with us is comfortable, stress free, and relaxing. We will look forward to welcoming you - and Chance - back to Southern Oaks very soon. Regards from all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Everyone is very friendly and accommodating . The rooms are spacious but the beds are very creaky and noisy. There is a lot of traffic and its quite loud all night.
The breakfast is outstanding! Everything anyone would want! Breads, Cereals and Danish,,,then Hot eggs, biscuits & gravy, hash browns, sausage, bacon and more. juices, coffee, yogurt and too much more!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments, and for letting us know about the creaking noise in the beds. We have done some investigating and found there were adjustments that needed to be made to some of the bed frames, and our maintenance department has completed re-testing in every room to be sure the problem is resolved. We are very happy to know you enjoyed the breakfast, and we will be looking forward to welcoming you back to visit with us here at Southern Oaks Inn. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

The staff was friendly and courteous. The rooms were clean and nicer than most hotels. The breakfast was delicious and fresh. Nicely kept grounds. Cute dog park area. Good value and a great place to stay overall. We'd definitely recommend it!

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank CStevenson629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

We thank you very much for your kind comments - and for your recommendation! We hope you will be returning to stay with us next time you visit Saint Augustine and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Tried this newly refurbished hotel this weekend and was very pleased. Clean and comfortable rooms with simple furnishings and wood floors. Very dog friendly with a fenced in play yard(even thought of double gated entrance for dog safety), treats at the office desk, dog friendly staff, and even a few tables outside the breakfast area(thought we would have to take turns eating-so considerate!). And, speaking of breakfast, it is excellent. A full, freshly made assortment of goodies. Don't miss the cheese grits, hash browns, and biscuits. Nothing like the usual "breakfast included" fare. Staff if friendly, helpful, and knowledgable. Back side hotel renovation still a work in progress, but does not distract from the stay. We will return next time we are in the area with our dog, and would be more inclined to bring him after discovering Southern Oaks.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back would be a little quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

We're very glad you and your pet 'discovered' Southern Oaks Inn! It has been our goal to provide a safe and comfortable stay for guests who bring along pets - so it is good to hear you enjoyed your visit and plan to return. The breakfast team is quite creative, and I'm sure there will always be new menu items to discover when you visit. Thank you for sharing your comments and we will look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews