We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Southern Oaks Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Oaks Inn
Ranked #10 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

I love this hotel. Great place to stay and so clean. Easy check in. The breakfast was very tasty. New furnishings in the room and very clean. Love that they have wood floors in room so not Walking around on dirty carpets. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    340
    133
    30
    12
See reviews for
393
489
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Overall awesome place to stay. It's close enough to the downtown fort and shops.

VERY clean rooms and buidling.

Outtanding customer service. The folks there could not do ENOUGH for us.

Home made breakfast with everything you could ask for. Eggs, French Toast, Bacon, home made biscuits, OJ, coffeee, just had everything. And it was delicious.

We highly recommend and will be back again !!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Great location to visit old town st Augustine. King Room was fresh clean with plenty of parking. Good hot breakfast choices that change daily made on site. Staff very helpful for ideas on restaurants and any other needs that should arise.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank searay2422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclenny, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

This was a very nice pet friendly hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful, Room was very updated and Clean. Cleaner than most hotels that don't allow pets. There is no weight limit on your four legged family member, which is great cause that is problem with us at other hotels.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brandt01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

After reading multiple reviews, we decided to stay at Southern Oaks Inn. We drove up from Fort Lauderdale and arrived a couple of hours early. We went into town to explore and received a call when our room was ready. The room was clean, with wood and tile floors. The microwave & refrigerator definitely came in handy. The water pressure in the shower was great. There was free Wi-Fi and plenty of cable channels available. This property is very pet friendly, even though we were traveling as a couple without our dogs. There was a nice fenced-in dog area and also a pool. A homemade breakfast is available everyday. Dunkin' Donuts is around the corner (very important for me) and the trolley stop is right across the street. The trolley system takes you throughout the city and stops at all of the major attractions. The bed and pillows were comfortable and there were plenty of extra towels and linens. I loved that there was no carpeting in the room and the curtains blocked out the sun very well. My only issue was that you can hear your neighbors. I sleep deeply and this is not an issue for me, but this could bother people who have difficultly sleeping. The property and amenities are simple and exactly what we needed. We spent about 10-12 hours out during the day and looked forward to resting here to tackle our next day of adventures. I will definitely return to Southern Oaks on my next venture to Saint Augustine (with my dogs!). Thanks for this gem and your Southern hospitality!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mims, FL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Nicely refurbished, clean, quiet older hotel. Delicious home cooked breakfast buffet free with room. Eggs, bacon, french toast, biscuits, sausage gravy, grits--yum! Very pet friendly--fenced dog run. Staff provide list of pet friendly attractions. This was our first stay and I am certain we will be back!
.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank loligirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

In past years, we had trouble finding a hotel close to the historic district of St. Augustine that was clean and pet friendly. Earlier this month, we found it with Southern Oaks Inn and we plan to stay here on our annual trips to St. Augustine.

So many positives to mention here! Staff was exceptional and helpful for whatever we needed. Our housekeeper mentioned how careful she was when entering the rooms to make sure our pet wouldn't run out. (We'd had the pet with us every time we left, so no worries there.) There were hardwood floors and leather furniture. We booked connecting rooms... one was two beds with a chair and the other was a king bed with a loveseat. Very nice surprise to find something a step above the usual hotel decor!

All beds were quite comfortable and the air conditioner/heater units worked without a problem or smell. (Yes, St. Augustine was cold and rainy a few days in early March and we needed the heater for a while!) The bathroom towels, I'm amazed to say, were SOFT and more like the towels people have at home. Not scratchy at all. I assume it's like that for all rooms at Southern Oaks Inn.

Our 6 night stay was made very enjoyable because of this hotel choice. Another perk was being able to walk across the street to board the red trolley. Other years we always had to drive somewhere to do that.

If I'd have to find a negative, it would be very difficult, but I'd say that I wish breakfast would be served earlier. We're early risers and the first time I went for breakfast, most things were still being made. I don't know when the official starting time is, but it was well after 7 that morning... so it appeared at 8 would be a good time to go. Not easy for someone who rises at 5 :-) but not much of a problem whatsoever.

The rooms each had a mini fridge and microwave... also important to us.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Jaybird's Inn
Jaybird's Inn
#12 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
6.4 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
#14 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
5.7 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Oaks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Oaks Inn

Property: Southern Oaks Inn
Address: 2800 N Ponce de Leon Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32084-1649
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in St. Augustine
#5 Best Value Hotel in St. Augustine
#10 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
#15 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Southern Oaks Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the northern entrance to historic Saint Augustine, Southern Oaks Inn is welcoming guests to the newly renovated and redesigned hotel. Spacious guest rooms offer comfortable queen or king beds and new furnishings. Relax by the pool, enjoy the complimentary, full hot breakfast in the spacious dining area, and visit our concierge to discover all there is to see and do in this beautiful city. Restaurants and shopping are close by, and the boarding station for the downtown trolley service is just across the street. The Inn is pet friendly, as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Oaks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Augustine Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing