We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Southern Oaks Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Southern Oaks Inn
Ranked #11 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brandon, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We were referred to this motel after a one night stay at the place next door. The manager personally welcomed us and showed us our room. The outside is your typical 'walk-out' older motel, but the interior was newly refurbished, and not in the same tired old motel room decor. The floors were hardwood, and the furniture resembled what you might get at IKEA. The breakfast was fabulous, everything homemade and hot. The staff was very knowledgeable about the area attractions and restaurants. There was a great pool, unfortunately not heated, so we couldn't try it out. They are pet friendly, and have a fenced dog run, which is nice since the motel is on a busy streeet. We will definitely book again when we return to St. Augustine. Linda Walker.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    714
    375
    145
    32
    15
See reviews for
469
565
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McKellar, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

What a great place! The motel has been refurbished & everything is new,& I mean everything , right down to the door hinges. The place is immaculate and we really loved the hardwood floors.
All of the staff were friendly & will go out of their way to help you. Breakfasts were great . If you are coming to St Augustine I would really recommend the Southern Oaks. Too bad the weather wasn't great--I would love to have tried the pool - it appeared very clean & tempting. I will be back

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DEAN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellsville, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The motel has the right name! When I booked the room, I was impressed and was not disappointed when we arrived, The location is great. It is close to everything for that area. When we arrived, the staff was very friendly, helpful, ( going that extra mile), pleasant atmosphere, and willing to do for us to help our stay pleasurable. The breakfast was outstanding. Totally home-made and delicious. The room was very comfortable and clean. The manager was extra helpful with anything we ask. I recommend this motel if you want to stay in this area. The staff, service, and comfort was excellent.

Room Tip: very quite and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2014

My husband and I stayed for a weekend getaway. From the very beginning when we checked in we were impressed. The staff is very friendly and go out of the way for you. Breakfast in was awesome, homemade biscuits and gravy, bacon an eggs... YUM! We will definitely stay here again and recommend to people.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My wife and I enjoy getting away to St. Augustine, and have now found our new weekend home. Currently 50% through a complete remodel, Southern Oaks is your best choice in town. The rooms are clean with beautiful hardwood floors and ceramic tiled bathrooms. The toilets and tub/showers are new, as are all of the faucets. New beds, TV's, refrigerators, 10 cup coffee-makers, and modern and very stylish furnishings make this a wonderful experience. While the Inn is not new, yo wouldn't know it from the cleanliness and outward appearance. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The included breakfast was more than you will find in most hotels. Our stay was on a Friday night (Valentine's Day) and was all that we could ask for.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2014

The staff is super friendly, super clean rooms, love the location, the breakfast is delicious. I could not believe how clean everything was love the place. I will be recommending this to all my friend and family. Trolley stops at the hotel which was a huge bonus. The rooms are all newly renovated, very quiet and welcome atmosphere. I really did enjoy my stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dgrpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We spent valentines weekend here and had a great time! The staff is fabulous! The rooms are very comfortable. They are renovating and they only place guests in rooms that have been recently remodeled. The water pressure is not the best but it is doable. The beds are extremely comfortable. The staff made sure we had everything we needed and even left fresh baked cookies in our room for arrival.

Room Tip: These rooms are newly renovated and the beds are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nwoodham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Jaybird's Inn
Jaybird's Inn
#15 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,102 reviews
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic
5.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
#17 of 78 in St. Augustine
826 reviews
2.0 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Sebastian St Augustine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Oaks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Oaks Inn

Property: Southern Oaks Inn
Address: 2800 N Ponce de Leon Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32084-1649
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St. Augustine
#3 Best Value Hotel in St. Augustine
#10 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
#15 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Southern Oaks Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the northern entrance to historic Saint Augustine, Southern Oaks Inn is welcoming guests to the newly renovated and redesigned hotel. Spacious guest rooms offer comfortable queen or king beds and new furnishings. Relax by the pool, enjoy the complimentary, full hot breakfast in the spacious dining area, and visit our concierge to discover all there is to see and do in this beautiful city. Restaurants and shopping are close by, and the boarding station for the downtown trolley service is just across the street. The Inn is pet friendly, as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Southern Oaks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Augustine Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing