We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run away!”
Review of Southern Oaks Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Oaks Inn
Ranked #10 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Clearwater, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Run away!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This "motel" is in the middle of renovation. Two thirds of this place is closed and scary looking. The room is dark and dreary. Be careful too because you cannot close curtains sufficiently to stop people from looking in.
They are a very looooong way from making this room worth the money they are asking. I can go on and on about the tiny tv hanging with wires popping out the bottom and top to the continental breakfast that is absurd.
Unless you are desperate and need a room for the night....there are better choices.

I chose this hotel because of reviews....people missed the mark on this one.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheCruzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    364
    140
    31
    13
See reviews for
441
549
32
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mims, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Staff was very friendly. Location was great not to far from downtown. Price was good, rooms have been recently renovated. The only complaint I think I would have is the shower head being so low and no comforters. They had a sheet and a little thicker one. We had to take the other sheet off the bed we weren't using. Would definated stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quinn102012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

It's always a gamble finding reasonably priced accommodation and this was one bet that paid off.It was very close to old town and very reasonably priced fro St Augustine.
My husband and I don't need luxury as we prefer to spend our time out sightseeing so this was perfect - very clean, very safe, helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbbkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamul, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there at southern oaks inn the staff there was very courteous answered all my questions. I had forgot to grab my cell phone out of the shuttle car when I arrived there,so the staff there took the time to locate the driver to bring back the phone I then had to leave for my meeting but when I returned the phone was on my desk in the room they went above and beyond great services. the rooms very clean, the internet was very fast and the new beds are very comfortable.
the grounds are nice and clean even with the remodeling. I have to say they also brought in the best bagels and the coffee was hot and fresh.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RICHARD E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were concerned because this hotel is pet friendly and we were not traveling with a pet. We found our room very clean and comfortable. Located near the Trolleys which is convenient for touring the city. Also it doesn't cost an arm & a leg.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Rooms recently renovated with comfortable beds and spotless bathroom, hardwood floors and new TV. Staff was welcoming and helpful with everything. Location was a good balance between downtown districts and north beaches. Would definitely recommend over the "bargain" hotels in the area, don't waste your time when this is on the same block.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank echodelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This property is undergoing a major renovation. The public spaces have been tastefully tiled and furnished, and the completed guest rooms have new tile and hard wood laminate floors, fresh coats of paint, and new a/c units. The bathroom was also newly tiled. The bed was new, and was by far the most comfortable hotel mattress that I have slept upon in many years! Although a bit spartan (there was no seating to watch tv, just one rather uncomfortable kitchen-like chair at a table, and no art on the walls, so it seemed like a work in progress), the room was extra clean. I wish the owners had sprung for a few extras like removing the popcorn ceiling, replacing the bathroom door and bathroom door frame molding (ours did not stay shut and there were signs of old wood rot), putting in a new sink (the faucet had been updated) with something more modern, and updating the old towel shelving in the sink area. However, I can overlook those things for cleanliness and that awesome bed! The staff was friendly, upbeat, and accommodating. Outdoors, the pool was sparkling clean and the grounds, while not lavishly landscaped, are nicely kept. It is a dog-friendly property, and we heard a dog bark only once. There were activities to keep kids occupied during the continental breakfast. While we don't have young children anymore, this is a nice touch that sets this hotel apart from others. The location just north of the historic district is a nice walk on San Marcos. We did not feel unsafe, even at night. We will be staying at Southern Oaks Inn on our next visit to St. Augustine and will enjoy seeing the success of this property as the owners bring it back to life.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor towards the back of the property. The road noise from US 1 could di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sw33t_tart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Jaybird's Inn
Jaybird's Inn
#14 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,084 reviews
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North
5.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
#16 of 78 in St. Augustine
810 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#12 of 78 in St. Augustine
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Oaks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Oaks Inn

Property: Southern Oaks Inn
Address: 2800 N Ponce de Leon Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32084-1649
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in St. Augustine
#10 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
#15 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Southern Oaks Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the northern entrance to historic Saint Augustine, Southern Oaks Inn is welcoming guests to the newly renovated and redesigned hotel. Spacious guest rooms offer comfortable queen or king beds and new furnishings. Relax by the pool, enjoy the complimentary, full hot breakfast in the spacious dining area, and visit our concierge to discover all there is to see and do in this beautiful city. Restaurants and shopping are close by, and the boarding station for the downtown trolley service is just across the street. The Inn is pet friendly, as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Southern Oaks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Augustine Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing