We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ponce St Augustine Hotel
Ranked #57 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Stayed 2 nights with family on way to Orlando. Enjoyed our stay very much. Only a ten minute stroll to the Historic District. Staff were extremely helpful. Kids enjoyed the pool. Free breakfast was ample, usual fare of waffles, pastries and a couple of hot choices. Free coffee and juice in lobby throughout the day. Room was clean. Overall a pleasant stay and good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front, as there is a rail track at the back
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sellyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Inn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Ponce St Augustine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Front desk Team
Quality Inn Historic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
There are newer reviews for The Ponce St Augustine Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 439 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2014

Very dated, small room, ice machine doesn't work, right by the rail road. no wifi, water in room tastes of salt. The staff were friendly, but at $120 a night this place is way over priced. The Days Inn right across the street would be a far better choice than this Low Quality Inn.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Inn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Ponce St Augustine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Thank you`for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.
I hopr that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have the another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Front Desk Team
Quality Inn Historic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

This place had blood stained comforter and a scum ring around the pool. There was an ashtray right outside our nkn smoking room. Nasty as hell and won't there again. Not even in a pinch. Oh yeah at night they turn on the led rope lights... yes real classy

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank BigBalue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Inn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Ponce St Augustine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. I know that if this was brought to the attention of the staff it would have immediately been taken care of. According to our records, no complaint was made to the staff and you stayed for 2 nights .
Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using this feedback to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for all of our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Front Desk Team,
Quality Inn Historic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was chosen by other family members, so we decided to stay also. The room had some kind is odor that I couldn't place but it wasn't bad enough to make me leave. The bed was clean and very comfortable. The bathroom was also clean. Everything needs updating in the room especially the carpet, chair, tv, and furniture. It was decent. I believe maybe a bit overpriced for what you get.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

I spent a week at this hotel for the second time. The staff is always so friendly and the rooms are clean. It is on the San Sebastian River just across from Denny's. I have stayed in a few different hotels in St. Augustine and this is my favorite. Discount coupons can also be found in the Florida hotel magazine found at Denny's restaurants in the lobby. Our room also included a mini refrigerator and a microwave. They also include breakfast which is an added bonus!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Hope T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

My husband and I were surprised by the quality of the quality in historic, St. Augustine! The staff was professional and courteous, the rooms exceptionally meticulously clean, and the watermelon in the kid in the breakfast buffet was surprising delight! I would recommend this hotel with great confidence and I would stay there again on my next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Normashri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Me and my daughter came to St. Augustine as a quick getaway. This being said, we had NO reservations. So we paid more for the room than anticipated, but it was soo worth it. We stayed the 12th and the 13th of July and Garry, the front desk clerk was the most helpful. So friendly. We arrived at 11 and check in wasn't until 3. When I asked about the Trolley tours, Garry stated that he just called the shuttle and I could leave my car, take the tour and come back and check in. I was hesitant at first, since the reservation was made at the front counter, but Garry assured me that even we come back after 3, I would still have the room. The room was super clean, quiet, the beds were comfortable. We will most definitely stay here again, but I will make a reservation first to get a better rate. Very customer service friendly. When I was checking out on Sunday, the manager asked why I didn't come to breakfast!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn St Augustine/Historic Downtown
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
1.0 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#11 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#51 of 78 in St. Augustine
426 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ponce St Augustine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ponce St Augustine Hotel

Address: 1111 N Ponce de Leon Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32084 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range: $94 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Ponce St Augustine Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you book with us, you’re getting great hotel deals with a variety of standard guest amenities. With a free full hot breakfast served every morning, outdoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi, and free on-site parking, you’ll find more ways to enjoy your next visit here. We're located just next to the Florida East Coast Railway designed by Henry Flagler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ponce St Augustine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Historic Hotel Saint Augustine
Quality Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing