We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but watch out for trains”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ponce St Augustine Hotel
Ranked #57 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good, but watch out for trains”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

On the outskirts of 'historical city' but only a 15 min walk. Rooms are ok and clean. We were at riverside and there are freight trains every four hours. If you are a light sleeper, take a room on the other side.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellehoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    101
    78
    62
    95
See reviews for
151
153
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Hotel's name carries "Historic District" in it - must be another historic district, because they're NOT in St Augustine's. Sort of a hotel in Brooklyn claiming they're in Manhattan. Receptionist seemed trained to convince guests otherwise In-room Safety deposit box broke twice. Friendly maintenance guy fixed it but nevertheless, delayed myself and my kids for dinner. Hot tub by pool was turned off and cold, and took a while to get hot (you wonder a dead cold whirlpool at 5:30 pm?). When it got going, the jets were pitiful. A pretty little girl worked with her mom in the laundry area. - is this even allowed? Breakfast was professional. There are other places to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank innonmainmanasquan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Augustine hotels

Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel on a previous trip last summer. It is always a pleasure. We were disappointed at there not being a breakfast girl anymore maybe she was just off but in the past they had a beautiful young lady who was very gracious and friendly! The manager at the front desk is always nice as well she is very accommodating and will try her best to get what you want so we thank marialena as well. We will be back and if you go ask for maria she will get you what you want.

Room Tip: Poolside is nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Nice place. Jon at the front desk went out of his way to accommodate us. We called 48 hotels starting in Brunswick Georgia on our way to Orlando. We got a late start from our North Carolina home and was hoping to stop before Jacksonville so we could get a good night sleep. Finally, 70 miles away yet, I called Quality Inn in st Augustine & he had 3 rooms. He held the room for me, gave me a warm welcome when I got there and even allowed me to get a yogurt from the breakfast area so I could take my medication. It was 2:30am at this point and I was exhausted! He gave us a good rate for a larger room & it was clean & had all I needed. I am very glad we found a nice place & thankful to Jon for all his hospitality.

Room Tip: Was Spring break week & stayed in a suite with 2 double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeHaskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marielena S, Guest Relations Manager at The Ponce St Augustine Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am so glad our team at the Quality Inn Historic was able to help you this weekend. I am happy to hear Jon did a great job at meeting your expectations and going above for you. Our team continues to try to go that extra step for each person in making them feel welcome. I will be sure to let Jon know how appreciative you are and we thank you again for your stay. Please do come back again and I am sure Jon will be here to great you with a smile!

Thank-You again!

Sincerely,

Marielena Scibelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gatordoc78
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is very dated with worn scratched furniture spout in tub came off when water turned on and hit me in foot Smokers rooms are right next to non smokers and smoke outside their rooms. They allow pets so expect some barking . They still get $130 per night for motel worth $75 Stay at Holiday Inn in same area which is much nicer and avoid this place.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gatordoc78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marielena S, Guest Relations Manager at The Ponce St Augustine Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am so sorry we failed to meet your expectations on your recent stay in St. Augustine. I understand your concerns about the smoking rooms and pet rooms. We try to be flexible and accommodate everyone. We do have one special wing for pets however, unfortunately we do have a guest at times that forgets to tell us about their pet so it does slip by at times but for the most part the team does try to keep them in the designated area. We are also in the process of renovating the bathrooms with a completion date of September 2014, so I hope by then all new tubs and tile will be in place making it very beautiful. If you would like to email me to further discuss your concerns I would be happy to talk with you anytime please email me at marielena@qualityinnhistoric.com.
Thank You for your feedback as it always helps us to continue to grow.

Sincerely,

Marielena Scibelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Had only a short weekend so had to make the most of our time. The front desk was great in helping us plan our visit. We called housekeeping (smoke alarm was beeping) They were in our room within minutes. What a great host the Manager is he was welcoming and made sure we were happy with our stay. Good location, breakfast buffet, fresh fruit available all day. When we arrived at the airport noticed that we had left a jacket in the room, called.. the hotel, they went and checked, found the jacket and mailed it to us.
If I return to St. Augustine I would most definitely stay at this hotel.
Two Ladies from Chicago

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarillonTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazelwood, Missouri, United States
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We had visited St. Augustine 10 years ago...wow...has it changed. The Quality Inn was near all the really cool things to see! Our room was great and all the staff,especially Marielena and Frank were just super!

Room Tip: We were on the first floor...corner..very quiet...even near the pool and hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn St Augustine/Historic Downtown
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#49 of 78 in St. Augustine
422 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ponce St Augustine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ponce St Augustine Hotel

Property: The Ponce St Augustine Hotel
Address: 1111 N Ponce de Leon Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32084 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Ponce St Augustine Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you book with us, you’re getting great hotel deals with a variety of standard guest amenities. With a free full hot breakfast served every morning, outdoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi, and free on-site parking, you’ll find more ways to enjoy your next visit here. We're located just next to the Florida East Coast Railway designed by Henry Flagler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ponce St Augustine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Historic Hotel Saint Augustine
Quality Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing