We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Roches, rust stained drains, Ashtray room, scary hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine
Ranked #59 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“2 Roches, rust stained drains, Ashtray room, scary hotel”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We took a day trip to St. Augustine's for Valentine's day while down in Florida for vacation in February 2013. All the B&Bs we walked by were booked so we found this online at $80/night. The pictures online looked nice so we drove over. The front desk lady was nice. Gave us the room for the $80 price we saw online -that's where the positives ended. We went into the room looking for some down time before heading out for the night. Right away, you felt something was off. It was kinda seedy and you felt scared. There were people sitting in their cars smoking right outside the room and they did not look like guests. The room itself was DISGUSTING!!!! We were not previously told the room she gave us was a smoking room, nor were we given any options. We saw 2 cockroaches in the bathroom. The Toilet did not flush properly and there was rust on the drain and taps. The smoke in the room was so thick we were choking. My fiance is a social smoker and even he couldn't stand the smell. We wound up putting a chair up against the door because we didn't feel safe. And we put our bags on the little table provided after seeing the roaches. I'm not a picky person, but after trying desperately to suck it up and live with it because it was cheap, my intuitions got the better of me and we left after 20minutes. THANK GOD! I told the front desk lady i couldn't stay there with the roaches and she didn't even seem surprised, just asked for the room number and confirmed she wouldn't charge our card. So far, she's been right, no charges came through. We went across the street and got the last room at the Holiday Inn for $30 more. Now there's a hotel worth staying at -non-smoking, clean, secure. GLAD I WENT WITH MY INSTINCTS AND LEFT THE QUALITY INN!!!!

Room Tip: Do NOT stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    98
    77
    62
    94
See reviews for
149
148
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cincinnati
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2013

where do you start ? no linens, toilet broke, window so dirty hard to see daylight, barking dogs in adjacent rooms, within 100 feet of a busy rail line that shook the building, some kind of long term tenants living there, definitely not tourist and scary looking, generally run down and dirty. I reserved two rooms for two nights. We stayed one night because it was late and everything was booked for a Saturday. Got out of there the next morning. I have stayed at low end hotels by my choice and price but none as disgusting as this one and these folks charge premium prices for historic st. Augustine. This was so disgusting I will never stay in a quality inn again if this place meets their standards. I do not want to hear a excuse about the place being a franchise and quality inn has no control, they put their brand on the building. They did give me a $30 break on price, but as I told the people I would not stay there again for free.

Room Tip: do not stay at this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank carol b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, MD
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed here for a couple days. Nice outdoor pool and hot tub! We were located on the back side of the hotel with a view of the bay. Room had a fridge and microwave. Rooms are dated but clean. There is a train that comes by about 2-3 times per day but it didn't bother me any.
Breakfast was fast and free (waffles, sausage patties, egg and assorted bagels, juices, same every day).
Very convenient to tour St. Augustine, we did the Old Town Trolley and they picked us up right at the lobby. We called them and they arrived in 5 minutes! Nice not to need our car and when you are finished for the day, they bring you right back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WayneinMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
280 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

When I first entered the room here it appeared pretty nice. Until I got into the bathroom. LOTS of mold on the tiles and where the tub meets the floor. Discusting. And no place in the discription of the property does it mention that there is a VERY ACTIVE train track right at the rear of the property. When I say active a very long and noisy freight train went by at 8:30 PM, Midnight and at 5:30 AM. Good luck if you can sleep thru any of the visits that the train makes. At check in the clerk made me feel like I was taking up her time. Will never stay here again and will certainly not recommend it!

Room Tip: If you end up staying here make sure you get a room NOT at the rear of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Level Contributor
107 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is in a good location for walking into St Augustine. The room could have done with renovating, the carpet especially. We had a room at the back, we were warned about the railroad but it wasn't a problem to us, the trains ran until around 11 pm and then restarted early morning, the noise did not disturb us. Breakfast was fine and the women working in the restaurant at breakfast was great, very friendly and helpful. The main downside for me was the fact that there was no pedestrian crossing to get across the main road, this may be a problem for people with mobility problems. On the whole an average hotel that is cheap and close to the town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthnRobinM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, CT
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

If you are a good sleeper and noise does not bother you, then you may want to stay here, Our room was in the back right next to the railroad tracks. It had a nice view, but a freight train went by every few hours throughout the night.
The staff was helpful very friendly. The breakfast was not great, but there was coffee,
It is in a good location, not far from downtown.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vtgramWallingford_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We had a great experience at this hotel! It is just blocks away from the historic downtown area and is always neat and clean. Felt very secure and safe there also. Nice folks there had put together a package for us including meals, carriage ride etc and it was wonderful!! highly recommend for some relaxing time away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gccinfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn St Augustine/Historic Downtown
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#47 of 78 in St. Augustine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Merida Inn & Suites
#55 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine

Property: Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine
Address: 1111 N Ponce de Leon Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3124 (Formerly Quality Inn Historic)
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine is located in scenic downtown St. Augustine, overlooking the beautiful San Sebastian River and Flagler Era railroad to the west. Leave your car and walk to area restaurants and shops, plus the town trolley and train stops are a 10 minute walk from the Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine. You will be minutes from shopping at the Belz Outlet Mall, gator viewing at the Alligator Farm Zoological Park, and the fast paced world of racing at the Daytona International Speedway are all near the Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Historic Hotel Saint Augustine
Quality Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing