We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Ranked #16 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Balto, MD
17
Reviewed June 3, 2004

This was a second visit to the Casa Monica. The positive: as experienced before, the hotel is well managed and kept in a good state of repair. Service is prompt and couteous. Restaurant is excellent although it may be pricey for some. Pool is open until 11:00 PM and the gates locked until morning which is good from a safety point of view and for noise comfort.

The negative: although the hotel has a "no smoking" policy, the room had a faint odor of cigar smoke which indicates the typical "tourist on a binge puffing away" guest that I often run into on the road. The room sign for "privacy" and "please clean" is on one hanging card. We had a prankster turn it from "please clean" to "privacy" and thus, no room cleaning one day until we called late in the afternoon. The hotel should change to a two sign policy (one for each situation) as have most hotels to avoid guests being inconvenienced by the occasional clown who finds it funny to change signs while walking down corridors. Some of the staff were "stuffy" which always amazes me since in this business the only thing that counts is having a paying guest who acts responsibly during his or her visit.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,793)
There are newer reviews for Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,716 - 1,722 of 1,793 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Manhatten, NY
16
Reviewed May 15, 2004

My wife and I spent four days at this most exquisite and beautiful hotel. The staff was excellent, the service warm and friendly, the accommodations very comfortable and the food superb. We had a most amazing stay and we highly recommend the Casa Monica!

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2004

We stayed at the hotel two weeks ago and having checked in were shown to a deluxe room facing onto the pool. The room was small and stank of smoke. we had previously requested a smoking room to be told that as from the first of the month they had adopted a non smoking policy, however it was quite clear that we were in a smoking room but were told if we smoked in the room we would be charged a $200 surcharge. we asked to see the Manager who duly arrived and said if we were not happy we could leave and he would waive our cancellation charge. As it was then late we had no option but to stay. Subsequently we e mailed to complain but to date have received no reply. There are no mini bars in the rooms and room service has 'the customary 22 per cent service charge added' plus a $3 fee per order. Overall a beautidul building but the management appear self satisfied and rude.

11  Thank nmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2004

Oh my gosh, where do I begin? My husband and I just returned from an Easter weekend stay at the magnificent Casa Monica. We chose a deluxe room and the "Rekindle the Romance" package which includes champagne on arrival, a carriage ride, a sail on the schooner Freedom, access to the Serenata beach club and a free breakfast at the hotel restaurant, 95 Cordova. Everything was absolutely perfect! We're not big travelers, and I have never stayed at a luxury hotel. Therefore, I was concerned that we might feel out of place. I couldn't have been more wrong. The staff was wonderful; not stuffy or phony as I had feared. From the valet who patiently and thoroughly explained that he would see to our car and our luggage (and how to call for the car later) to the concierge who expediently arranged for our sail and provided us with passes and instructions for the carriage ride and the beach club everyone was just great to us. Our room was immaculate and well appointed. It wasn't huge, but we weren't planning on having a party in it, so it was more than enough space for relaxing. The king bed was ultra comfortable and the bathroom you just have to see for yourself.
The housekeeping staff did a great job keeping our room in tip top shape and provided plenty of fresh, fluffy towels. The bathrobes and turndown service were nice touches. The champagne was delicious and the carriage ride and evening sail were most enjoyable and relaxing. The beach club (about 10 minutes by car from the hotel) was very nice. We had drinks and lunch there after lounging on the beach and were very pleased with the whole experience. We only ate the one meal (breakfast) at 95 Cordova, but it was primo. I highly recommend the seafood omelette. We had lunch at A1A Alehouse (a short walk up King Street) and it was also excellent. Try their banana split for dessert. We ate dinner at O.C. White's twice and thoroughly enjoyed both meals. I recommend sitting outdoors where you can enjoy the live entertainment.
If it is within your means (and even if you live beyond your means for a few days) you MUST stay at the Casa Monica! But save a room for us; we'll definitely be returning!

14  Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
426
Reviewed April 6, 2004

The renovation of the public areas in this historic hotel was very well done, the location was terrific, and the staff was friendly and helpful. But the room was a bit disappointing: It was so narrow, I had to turn sideways to get between the foot of the bed and the armoire.
There was very little storage or hanging space for clothes. And the high-sided setee was uncomfortable and awkwardly placed. On the positive side, the bed was comfortable, and the marble bathroom (shower only) was large and well-appointed. This is a nice hotel, but not in a class with the Breakers in Palm Beach (another historic Flagler hotel).

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2004

We just got back from two nights at the Casa Monica in April. The hotel was beautiful and it made our mini-vacation very memorable. We used valet to park our car (it is up to $15 per night now) because there is no where else to leave your car in St. Augustine. The valet was very helpful and explained where to go and what to do if you needed your car. Check in was very quick despite the tremendous amount of hustle and bustle in the hotel at that time (Friday night). In the lobby, there was an art walk-through, a wedding reception, happy hour, musicians, etc. It was kind of overwhelming at first, but it was nice to be at a place with so much to do and see. Our check in host was very courteous and offered to get us reservations at 95 Cordova. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant, but everything looked fabulous. The hotel also offered a very nice art gallery and a great bakery with Starbucks coffee (slightly overpriced).

St Augustine is a great little city. We highly recommend using the Old Trolley Tour ($16/ adult for 3 days). You will learn and see so much more than if you walked solely on foot. Flagler College is beautiful and all of the surrounding colleges are equally stunning. We toured the Castillo De San Marcos and also went to Anastasia Island and went in the lighthouse. After climbing 219 steps, the view atop the lighthouse does not disappoint.

As for dining. I had the best meal of my life at Harry's Seafood Bar and Grill (Filet Mignon and Lobster). The courtyard was very comfortable and there was live music, which was not so loud that you couldnt have a conversation. We also ate at Pizzalley on St. George Street. Sit in the back dining room. It is a cute little courtyard sitting area with painted murals. Very good pizza also! For lunch one day, we ate at Scarlett O'Hara's. It was decent, but I would have rather eaten somewhere else. Food wasnt so great and the building is kind of run down.

Everything about St Augustine was charming, especially the Casa Monica.

  • Stayed: April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank HUTCH1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Tampa, FL
16
Reviewed March 20, 2004

We decided to spend our first Valentine's as a married couple in St.
Ausgustine. We did alot of research and the Casa Monica seemed to have everything we were looking for in a romantic place to stay. The place was beautiful! The staff was very friendly. Other than the small size of our room, everything else was wonderful! The king size poster bed with soft white bedding really was a temptation not to get out of bed!
Bathroom was very nice also. The robes are also a nice treat. Having a starbucks there in the hotel was great. The only negative thing I can think about is that they charge you $10 a day for parking and the room service is expensive for what you get. But we would still definetly return!

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Collector - Luxury Inn & Gardens
0.4 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#6 of 78 in St. Augustine
927 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#4 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection

Address: 95 Cordova St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-4424 (Formerly Casa Monica, Autograph Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in St. Augustine
#12 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
#13 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range: $206 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Monica, Autograph Collection Hotel Saint Augustine
Casa Monica Saint Augustine
Casa Monica St Augustine
Hotel Casa Monica
Casa Monica Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing