We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, but pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Ranked #16 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
299 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Very nice, but pricey”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

(A number of reviews of the Casa Monica hotel can be found under the Casa Monica restaurant, and vice versa. This is for the hotel.)
This is a lovely, comfortable hotel, in a thoroughly restored and updated old building, with a great location in the heart of the historic district. If you're on an expense account as I was, go for it.
Otherwise, know that you'll pay through the nose for valet parking and internet access (although you can get a work-around password in the attached Starbuck's). There's also nowhere nearby to get a less expensive breakfast, although the Starbuck's is more reasonable than the dining room or room service. Lots of things have prices on them -- bottled water and wine in the room, bathrobes in the closet, pictures in the halls -- which gives a sort of Home Shopping Network feel to the place (and for the price of a room here, it seems they could give you some bottled water).
That said, the staff are uniformly cheerful and obliging, the bed may be the most comfortable I've ever slept in, and the food in the restaurant is very good indeed. I'll certainly stay here again, if someone else is paying.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Porcophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    936
    462
    213
    76
    50
See reviews for
402
856
34
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Garden, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

This is by far one of my favorite marriott hotels that i have stayed in. The service at the hotel was amazing from the valet staff, restaurant, check in and housekeepers. The location of the hotel made it easy to walk to most of the locations and the view from the room was great as i looked over the historic area. the hotel is in great condition all around. I highly recommend staying at this location. The only thing i wouldnt recommend id getting a room with breakfast included. when I purchased this it stated kids under 12 eat free - this wasn't the case as they gave us 50 dollars for the 4 of us to eat - this wasn't enough to cover the 2 adults and 2 kids so i had to still pay out of pocket.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, OR
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had dinner and stayed the night for our 35th anniversary. Dinner was wonderful, with the best steak I've had in years. Perfectly cooked curry shrimp appetizer and amazing lobster crab bisque. Our room had a very nice selection of furniture appropriate to the hotel style and period. Great bed!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarleneHoodRiver_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, GA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Went with group of ladies, some of whom have ambulation issues....location for our tours/walks was very good....central to museums, shopping and even some night life.....double rooms are pretty standard but the overall feeling is definitely old money and opulence.....especially in lobby and around pool....if in the area for downtown (not beaches), give it a try.

Room Tip: Avoid 2nd floor if construction still underway
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpelements
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naples
Level Contributor
109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The history of this property takes you on a first hand glimpse of the history of Florida. Cool architecture and a very nice pool deck area that is secluded. The rooms are comfy and the service is very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Please beware...had great initial meeting with Linda on Saturday and gave date of the wedding..was told would have proposal emailed to us on Monday(other venues did it on the spot)..never received proposal..waited until the following wednesday to start sending emails asking for proposal..no response..finally called her boss to complain and got proposal 10 days after initial meeting and our date was now booked by someone else..no apology, etc..we decided that if this is the way they do business, we were better off going elsewhere with our money instead of dealing with this lack of follow up over the course of planning for the wedding..needless to say we were completely sold on this place , was ready to write a check and was not going to look further until we experience this complete lack of attentiveness which completely caught us off guard...I am just glad we experienced this before we gave them any money and were locked in

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hector B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
140 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We spent 5 nights here in October....
The location is terrific, very central indeed. It's an old building and the floors are laid out like a rabbit warren,
There had been a water leak and there was work going on on Floor 3, while the work didn't disturb me there was a damp smell and quite a few workmen about
The room was fine ( two queen size beds ) we had a street view which was pleasant and also the advantage of a mini fridge and little utility basin. There was also a safe provided.
I found the light levels pretty low and if you are a reader it mat be worth taking a torch. In addition if there are two people sharing, having one bedside light between you is not ideal. The. Style of the hotel is Spanish, old dark wood and low light levels which must give a cool feel in the hot weather but is not my favourite. There was Evian water in the room, priced at $5 a bottle, wine at $29 and the. Robes which you are welcome to use are also priced....
An ironing board and iron were supplied. Our wardrobe was not full length as there was some sort of carpeted box in the bottom of it...as I like to hang my trousers up by the hems to help with creasing, this was not ideal
The hotel staff we dealt with we're pleasant and gave good restaurant advice etc.
If you are thinking of staying here you should probably know that parking is $22 a day and Internet access is a further $ 9.50 so add an additional $ 30+ a day to your room rate. Luckily I discovered the coffee shop code worked in my room. Charging for Wifi is pretty old fashioned in this day snd age surely ? There is also $ 10 a day parking nearby if you search around and if you take your car in and out of the hotel on the same day it is also cheaper for some reason...
We had a lovely meal in the restaurant one evening, service was a little slow but OK, the lighting here is low level which I guess is romantic for some but sadly it made it a challenge for me to actually read the menu!
One of our group ordered eggs for breakfast and they were served on a plastic plate, somewhat surprising at this price point.....
Overall it's a pleasant hotel but ve ry average as far as value for money is concerned....

Room Tip: Check on facilities, not all rooms have fridges for example.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BertheUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.4 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 78 in St. Augustine
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
4.0 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
838 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Collector - Luxury Inn & Gardens
The Collector - Luxury Inn & Gar...
#17 of 78 in St. Augustine
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection

Property: Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Address: 95 Cordova St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-4424 (Formerly Casa Monica, Autograph Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in St. Augustine
#12 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
#13 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Monica, Autograph Collection Hotel Saint Augustine
Casa Monica Saint Augustine
Casa Monica St Augustine
Hotel Casa Monica
Casa Monica Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing