We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Old world feel in US oldest city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Ranked #12 of 77 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Old world feel in US oldest city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here while attending the Gentlemen of the Road tour. Needless to say there were 30,000 people in town that weekend. Despite the hotel being full, the bar being filled to overflowing, the service was impeccable. There was live music in the lobby, but our room was quiet, cozy and the bed extremely comfortable. It's hard to find anything old in Florida. St Augustine is celebrating its 450th anniversary. The hotel reflects the time at the turn of the 20th century when the wealthy were lured to Florida in the winter on the railroad. This history is evident everywhere in the hotel. But, at the same time it has all the modern conveniences and it is in the center of town, so park your car and walk everywhere!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mvision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    852
    416
    187
    68
    43
See reviews for
350
766
31
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I had debated on which property to stay in while in St. Augustine, after reading other reviews it seemed apparent. I am so happy I went with Casa Monica. It was an absolutely relaxing pleasant stay. We stayed in the Premium King Room. The room and hotel very clean. Everything stated would be in room was there such as robes which I always find I have to ask for not here. Nice size rooms and bathroom very nice as well. Plenty of room for us both. All the staff very friendly and helpful. Bonus the hotel has excellent restaurant, nice lounge and plenty of things to do at your disposal. The hotel itself is historical to boot. The location is accessible to everything you will want to do while in St. Augustine. Hesitate no more this is THE PLACE to stay!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Premium King room on second floor. If you want to have easy access to gym and pool its...
See more room tips
Green Features: You have environmental choice to have linens changed every second day if you choose.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJW1928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This hotel is gorgeous! No detail was left undone. Location is everything and this place has it hands down. Across the street from Flagler College and within a short walks' distance to everything...shopping, dining, the riverfront, St George Street and all the great historical sights of St. Augustine. Our room was clean and very comfortable. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stormy1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My husband and I had been through a stressful time, so he surprised me with a night at the Casa Monica. I have always wanted to stay here because of its reputation, history, location and beauty. The hotel met my expectations and proved to be a wonderful weekend escape. We happened to be there for the First Fridays Art Walk, which was fantastic. I highly recommend planning a weekend trip around the first Friday of the month if you can. Galleries around town are open with free wine sampling and light food, and the Lightner Museum has free admission for the first floor at this time as well.

Our room was very clean. The only small issue was the nightstand lamp did not work. My husband requested a higher room with the reservation, so we were on 3rd floor with a partial view of the pool. Our room (344) overlooked a roof, then the pool. You may want to request the other side of the pool if you prefer not to overlook the roof.
We did continuous play of the Kessler Collection CD in the nightstand clock radio to get the full Kessler effect when we would come back to our room each time ;)
The room had a wine bottle opener - it's like they knew we always forget to bring one. Buy a bottle while you're out for the day, and enjoy later in your room when your feet are tired. There is a wine shop just up King St with unique, small batch selections.
The bed was extremely comfortable, and the room was pretty quiet so we had a very restful sleep.

We made good use of the pool and loved the poolside daybeds. Use the phone near the towels to call for drink service. We wish we had known! Pool is on the 2nd floor, same floor as the gym.

Staff was friendly, attentive and courteous. We used the valet service and the lobby bar. We hung out in the comfortable Lobby seating area for part of the night, relaxing and listening to the live music. Drinks are always great here, and reasonably priced compared to what we're used to in Orlando. The convenience of the location is bliss, and we were able to leave our car parked until 5pm the day of checkout, which is a very nice service. I will always remember it as a great stay.

Room Tip: Try requesting a higher room with accomodations on the reservation. Our room (344) overlooked a roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amhdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponce Inlet, Florida
Level Contributor
181 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Based soley on beauty, customer service and quality of room - I rate this hotel 5 star. However, we had 2 problems while we were there. 1. Marriott needs to work out its problems transferring points. Two couples in our party had difficulties in getting checked in. One lost their room all together and one was on the phone with Marriott for almost 2 hours trying to correct the problem (and their credit card had already been charged!). I had booked through the priority club as well, but thankfully I had an email confirmation and was able to prove the booking. It almost ruined the weekend. They lost the second night of my reservation. The whole thing was a total debacle! The staff at Casa Monica tried so hard to help us - it is clearly a Marriott problem - which needs fixed immediately. 2. A waiter at the pool charged both our credit card and room for the same rounds of drinks. We asked to have it removed and the lady working at the pool remembered that we had used our credit card. We still have not gotten this charge removed. Again, hotels fault or just shady employee? Despite the bad start and poor waiter everything else was fantiastic. We enjoyed lounging by the pool and entertaining in the lounge area of our suite. The hotel is centrally located and easy walking distance to all of the attractions. Have breakfast at La Herencia. It was wonderful! As for the hotel, I would definately stay again, however I will book directly with the hotel and bypass Marriott all together. Moral of the story - make sure you have email confirmation if booking through Marriott!

Room Tip: 5th floor is the suite floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Very clean rooms, nice staff, We did use the valet parking and that staff was exceptional. The café is really good to have breakfast ,lunch and dinner/late snack and seat outside for a beautiful view. You won't need to get your car out, as the location is right in the middle of the town. You can walk everywhere. We would stay at this property again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosariotwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is the first Kessler collection I have stayed at the end of July to August 2. It was an amazing experience and a long time dream. I know that sounds corny but I didn't think I'd be able to stay here when I first saw it years and years ago. It is lovely and the attention to detail is outstanding. It was a celebration of our 5th year of marriage. The location is perfect in St Augustine for roaming around at any time of the day or evening. The room was so lovely and I just loved it. It was a standard room we got for $129/night through travel zoo...so, it was very affordable. We stayed 3 nights and paid one full rate which was still affordable at $160 something. Our room was 203. Second floor and looked out over the courtyard with the low fountain. I heard next to no traffic noise..especially when the A/C fan was on,and that A/C fan LOUD! (Room 203) We did use the valet parking and that staff was exceptional. They weren't concerned about the tip but providing great service. I was a little disappointed our car wasn't in covered parking or a locked garage but it was great service....$24 a day. There is a photo attached of our room. Again, it was lovely. There are very few minor things that could be updated due to wear but I believe overall, they do maintain the Kessler and Marriott brand well. My husband ordered flowers which were in the room when we arrived. There were amenities in the room - a bottle of red wine ($29), water ($5 or $6), original cd ($15), lovely bathroom soaps and hair products (free), Bose sound system to use, a wet bar and fridge, large desk, overhead fan...it was more than I expected. The grounds were fantastic. We did not use the pool but walked around the halls and the pool area. The cabanas on the pool deck seemed to be a nice touch. Next time, we will take time for lounging. There was a least one oblivious staff member who served us lunch that could use retraining...she spilled some fries in my husbands lap and just kept going. She was tall, blond, and kind of bull like...just shooting ahead without stopping. She didn't apologize. We didn't hold this against the hotel..she was just one staff delivering food. We both had a hamburger and fries. There was a very limited menu at mid afternoon. It was tasty but we could get that at several other places sooo...

The other staff was fun, professional, helpful, and friendly. The front desk staff attentive. We didn't make it to the art gallery but did press our noses against the window. :)
I believe everything about our experience was outstanding and exceeded our expectations...minus the ONE wait staff...
We didn't eat dinner but did eat breakfast. I had oatmeal. Husband had a full eggs, etc breakfast. Not fast cooking service but attentive staff.(If you are in a hurry).
The sleep quality rating is mid-range because of the A/C fan noise. It was reported but affected my husband more than me.
This is an experience...not an inexpensive one, but definitely a memorable one. We love St Augustine and the Casa Monica took up our favorite city to a different level I look forward to repeating.

Room Tip: the a/c in 203 was very loud. We had to run it at night (fan rather than auto) so the noise wasn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyRcoupon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Augustine hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Ba...
#13 of 77 in Saint Augustine
4.5 of 5 stars 1,444 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. A...
#4 of 77 in Saint Augustine
4.5 of 5 stars 979 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#5 of 77 in Saint Augustine
4.5 of 5 stars 813 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 787 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casablanca Inn on the Bay
Casablanca Inn on the Bay
#23 of 77 in Saint Augustine
4.0 of 5 stars 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection

Property: Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Address: 95 Cordova St, Saint Augustine, FL 32084-4424 (Formerly Casa Monica, Autograph Collection)
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Saint Augustine
#12 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine
#13 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Marriott, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Monica, Autograph Collection Hotel Saint Augustine
Casa Monica Saint Augustine
Casa Monica St Augustine
Hotel Casa Monica
Casa Monica Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing