We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ultimate Hotel in St. Augustine!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Ranked #16 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This property is just beautiful inside and out. The winding halls, the oversized rooms, and impeccable service.... Forgo the cookie cutters! The pool is gorgeous and has many areas to relax. The beds are very comfortable and easy to get lost in. The bathrooms are well-appointed with luxury toiletries and robes. And the room service was prompt! We spent hours just wandering the hotel's different floors, the art gallery, and the grounds. Breathtaking hotel and romantic atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becks67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit. I wish everyone would take the time as you did to explore the Casa Monica, the detail and the artists that we feature. So much of the personal touch from the Kessler family adorns the halls and walls of our historic hotel. Please visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,808)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,300 - 1,306 of 1,808 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

The hotel is located in the historical center of St. Augustine. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are ok. However, the hotel charges extras for everything else (internet, refrigerator, etc). These are usual amenities that should be included with the room but not at this Marriott.

Room Tip: Get rooms located on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Your comments are appreciated. Yes, the Casa Monica is perfectly situated in the heart of Saint Augustine's historic district and walking distance to just about everything. We are in the process of creating a add on feature that will combine many of the often used amenities for one price. Many of our guests have requested this and we are excited to launch this very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is the our third visit to the Casa Monica. The hotel is in a great location and has excellent food for lunch or dinner. The room we stayed in was, without a doubt, the smallest room I have ever stayed in....anywhere! We were paying top rate with no discount. Disappointing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WithoutATrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Our goal is to provide the desired and expected value to you when you visit the Casa Monica. While our standard rooms are comfortable yet cozy, we try to deliver a clear message that our Premium room types offer much more space and feaures such as additional seating, wet bar, and refrigerator. I will address with our team to better communicate this. Thank you for sharing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Somewhat overpriced the rooms are just average the restaurant staff are all 4 stars. The food was excellent and was well priced. The breakfast buffet was below average but lunch and dinner was excellent. If you valet park the cost is 24.00 per day! The only reason to stay at Casa Monica is the LOCATION.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for your comments. While the location in the heart of the historic district is second to none I am disappointed that you felt it was the only reason to visit the Casa Monica. Our on site parking is valet only and the price is competitive. Alternative parking is metered street side or a city facility about 4 blocks away. I am pleased that you enjoyed our 95 Cordova restaurant. I appreciate you sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The location can not be beat; easy walking distance to historic town, restaurants and stores. The hotel lobby is beautiful. The rooms are about what you expect from Marriott, no better or worse. We did have a strange low window in our room which I know is because of the historic architecture, but it made the room very dark. Hotel pool has a graceful elegant feel, but is very shallow, 3.5 feet, so really only a place for a quick dip to cool off. We were not happy that fresh coffee was not available free to guests in the lobby. Also, high parking rate per night seemed excessive. However, all in all we had a very nice stay and would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelmom21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you so much for sharing and I appreciate that you will likely return in the future. Our guests have access to the nearby Serenata Beach Club and many of our that desire a more elaborate pool atmosphere find this to be a wonderful alternative. Also, due to the uniqueness of our historic hotel many of the guestrooms offer several configurations and views. Our premium room types do provide additional space and preferred views and you may want to consider this when you return. I thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

A reunion with my girlfriend was enhanced by a long weekend at this beautiful hotel on our first visit to St. Augustine. We shared a standard 2-queen room overlooking a wedding at the pool: loved the decor, very comfy bedding, gracious staff (esp. valet guys), art show in the lobby, Starbucks on site, and walking out the door to St. George's pedestrian street and to the hop-on trolley for the must-see sites. Old world charm made us feel we were back in Europe...Worth the price!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GypsyKaryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Thank you for your review. I remember my first visit to St. Augustine nearly 20 years ago and how I fell in love with this charming city as well. I'm very happy that you enjoyed the ancient city as well. I'm glad you enjoyed the art and decor of Casa Monica and the service by our staff made such a positive impression. Please visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The Casa Monica is the oldest and allegedly most exclusive hotel in town but honestly, it's overrated and not worth the money.

We arrived by car and followed the sign which said parking, only to realise that we'd ended up in the valet parking area. When I asked where else there was parking, they said, there wasn't any. Not true. We passed a car park nearby and there are plenty of streets which are only a 5-10 minute walk away where you can park for free.

Our room was fairly spacious with a partial view of the pool area but it felt a bit dark and tired. Also, there was no duvet which you'd expect in a hotel of this calibre and the TV was something out of the dark ages.

The pool area is very small which would be an issue if there were a lot of people but I actually liked it as it had a bit of character. Be warned though - the pool itself is only 3.5 feet and it's definitely more for taking a dip and cooling off than actually swimming. Also, there just aren't enough shady areas if you want to keep out of the sun.

There's no complimentary wi-fi although if you buy a coffee downstairs, you get a voucher for free wi-fi for a fraction of the price. No one told us that and it wasn't till the last day that we spotted a small notice on the desk under the glass overlay because hotel brochures had covered the message.

Our biggest gripe was dinner. In the lobby, there was a sign saying there was a special 3 course menu for $30 so we thought we'd give the restaurant a try. We were given the menu but when we asked to see the set menu as well, we were told there wasn't one. We pointed out the sign in the lobby and the waiter spent nearly 10 minutes trying to find one for us. In the end, he said, they were printing one out. The food was hit and miss. My starter which was supposed to be chowder was disgusting - it was essentially just a bowl of tinned tomato with a couple of bits in. Tinned soup would have tasted better. My partner's main course was equally disgusting - it tasted as if they'd dropped the sugar bowl into the sweet potato which was the bulk of the meal. Worst of all, we were made to feel like we were 2nd class customers because we had dared ask for the set menu and when we left, we saw they'd taken the menu down.

To sum up - it's a good location and a fairly average hotel but for the money it costs, it's just completely overrated and the staff are quite rude.

Room Tip: Dont' stay in a room on the 2nd floor inside as you'll have the pool area right outside your...
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Gunner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Thank you for sharing. Our rooms are recently renovated and sorry that the decor does not meet with your approval. We apparently did not do a very good job of communicating that the Casa Monica offers valet parking only. Of course there are options, including a parking garage 4 blocks away and metered street parking. We also failed to remove signage once our pre fixe menu had been discontinued. My apologies that we could not offer this to you and your meal was also not to your liking. I will take your comments back to our team so that we do a much better job going forward. I do appreciate the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Collector - Luxury Inn & Gardens
0.7 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Sebastian St Augustine
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection

Address: 95 Cordova St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-4424 (Formerly Casa Monica, Autograph Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in St. Augustine
#12 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
#13 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range: $187 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Monica, Autograph Collection Hotel Saint Augustine
Casa Monica Saint Augustine
Casa Monica St Augustine
Hotel Casa Monica
Casa Monica Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing