We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Historical Inn
Ranked #21 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My father and I stayed at this hotel in September 2012. We had a great stay then, other than a few complaints:
-We couldn't figure out how to work the TV, so we called guest service, and they said they would send someone over. 30 minutes later, we call them back. We tell them we had asked for someone to come, but no one came. They sent someone over within five minutes after hanging up.
-No pool.
-Far away (four miles) from downtown St. Augustine, which I guess is our problem, since there are plenty of hotels closer.
-Not a complaint: Very clean!

That's it. Other than that, we had a great stay! :D

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor, which worked out good.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi1636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob K, General Manager at Best Western Historical Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I believe that you wrote your review for the wrong Best Western. We are only 1.5 miles from the center of the historical district, and we have a very nice outdoor pool and hot tub. The hotel you described sounds like the Best Western located near the interstate. In any event thanks for choosing Best Western.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Historical Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 458 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

This facility is quite close to historic St. Augustine, hence the name. This hotel can be accessed via two parallel streets, offering the traveler easy navigation in and out. The rooms are standard sized, appearing to been recently updated, with all the standard amenities. Our particualr room, just had the carpets cleaned, leaving a musty odor. The difficulties are parking arrangements; the collective lot is shared by a rival hotel, forcing late arriving tenants to park on the on-ramp to the facility. The dining area is quaint, offering a comfortable area. Front staff members were accommodating, but reserved in their efforts.

Room Tip: In short, good for the price, will choose next door the next visit.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shooster365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob K, General Manager at Best Western Historical Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am happy you had a comftorable stay with us, but I am concerned about the musty smell in your room. I apologize for your inconvienence, and would like to extend an invitation for you to inspect the room first the next time you are in town. Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

For the most part inexpensive, nice and most importantly it was clean. Parking a little bit of an issue if you came back late. Breakfast wasn't much to rave about. Not directly near the historic district but easy enough to get to and from. It has direct TV so if the weather is bad and you decide to stay in don't plan on watching TV. Would stay there again? Yes

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dragon8664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob K, General Manager at Best Western Historical Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. The title of your review says it all. We believe in providing ultra clean rooms, together with great customer service to provide a great guest experience for each guest. I am very happy you will return to stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We arrived at the Best Western Historical Inn and found the hotel in a good location, it was clean.

The staff we helpful and we received good customer service on advising us on where we should go and visit whilst in Saint Augustine.

The breakfast was good value and I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a comfortable place to stay for a night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucy306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob K, General Manager at Best Western Historical Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. It's good to hear our staff was helpful and accomodating. Our goal is to provide a clean, comfortable room with friendly service for every guest, every time. If you ever find yourself in St. Augustine again, I would be honored if you would stay with us.

Sincerely,

Bob Kenyon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I will start with the good points, only a few. Beds were very comfortable , and air conditioner worked very good. The motel was in a good part of town, close to places to eat, and Wal Mart. Pool was very small , but still nice. We were told there would be fridge n microwave, there was NO microwave. I have never stayed in a Best Western without a microwave. The staff was terrible, had to fight with the older lady who checked us in the first night, she didn't want to honor rate we were given from calling 800 reservations. We had planned on staying 2 more nights but Bob, the manager didn't want to honor the $101 rate we were given, even though I had the email confirmation with that price. We will not stay at this best western again when we go back in August.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sllawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob K, General Manager at Best Western Historical Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Best Western Historical Inn. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Unfortunately, none of our guestrooms have microwaves at this time, and I am very sorry and shocked that someone here would tell you that we did. I would also like to apologize regarding your room rate issue, and the service you were given. We pride ourselves on ultra clean rooms, and superior customer service. When we fail to deliver on those principles, it pains me greatly. I worked the front desk the week you were here, and it was my understanding you were paying day by day. I had great conversations with your husband every morning at breakfast, and he would tell me if you were paying by cash or credit card for each day. I had no idea you had a confirmation for a different rate on the weekend, as you were do to checkout on Friday.
I would like to take this opportunity to ask for you to reconsider, and give us another try. If you contact me personally, I will take good care of you.

Sincerely,

Bob Kenyon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We didn't bother to reserve a room in advance. Oops. So we ended up paying $130 for a room with double beds. We actually called the 800 number and they told us when we booked this was across the street from the beach-which is why we agreed to the $130. It is NOT on the beach. It's on the river. I was annoyed but I was also tired of looking for a room. Online the rooms away from the beaches were averaging $89 for two queen beds so they up-charge quite if you don't reserve in advance-that's everywhere. It was clean enough although the drawers needed to be wiped out. We didn't use them. The pool had a bit of algae on the bottom but not terrible. The free breakfast was small but very well planned with good quality tasty items. The WIFI signal at our room was weak. Our kindle was able to stay connected but our phones couldn't. The thermostat is not accurate. It was set at 65 but we had to sleep under just the sheet to stay comfortable. It wasn't warm but just not as cool as we would have liked. If you wish to save money on parking in the old town area you will want a room closer to that area. That by itself will save you $10 a day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aricha97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob K, General Manager at Best Western Historical Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Best Western Historical Inn. I am sorry you were misinformed about our location. We are located 1.25 miles from the center of the historical district on the northern edge. Definitely not near a beach or river. Thanks again for your review, and I hope you will consider us again on your next trip to St. Augustine.

Sincerely.


Bob Kenyon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Inn was clean in all aspects, quiet providing your room is not right on US1 (ponce de leon blvd).
Excellent breakfast with the only deficiency of this hotel being its small dining area, only 4 tables for all guests using the breakfast options, which were more than sufficient. Management was helpful with every request. Located one block from San Carlo which goes directly into downtown historic area.

Room Tip: rooms in rear were more quiet, some rooms have ac operated by a wall thermostat so unit does not ru...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mymei44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob K, General Manager at Best Western Historical Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write review of the Best Western Historical Inn. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you return soon, and give us a chance to earn that fifth star. Thanks again!!!

Sincerely,

Bob Kenyon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic
0.4 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#11 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
1.6 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#12 of 78 in St. Augustine
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Historical Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Historical Inn

Address: 2010 N Ponce de Leon Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2622
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range: $102 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Historical Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Historical Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Historical Hotel Saint Augustine
Best Western Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing