We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for last minute”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Historical Inn
Ranked #32 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“OK for last minute”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We didn't bother to reserve a room in advance. Oops. So we ended up paying $130 for a room with double beds. We actually called the 800 number and they told us when we booked this was across the street from the beach-which is why we agreed to the $130. It is NOT on the beach. It's on the river. I was annoyed but I was also tired of looking for a room. Online the rooms away from the beaches were averaging $89 for two queen beds so they up-charge quite if you don't reserve in advance-that's everywhere. It was clean enough although the drawers needed to be wiped out. We didn't use them. The pool had a bit of algae on the bottom but not terrible. The free breakfast was small but very well planned with good quality tasty items. The WIFI signal at our room was weak. Our kindle was able to stay connected but our phones couldn't. The thermostat is not accurate. It was set at 65 but we had to sleep under just the sheet to stay comfortable. It wasn't warm but just not as cool as we would have liked. If you wish to save money on parking in the old town area you will want a room closer to that area. That by itself will save you $10 a day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aricha97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Historical Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Best Western Historical Inn. I am sorry you were misinformed about our location. We are located 1.25 miles from the center of the historical district on the northern edge. Definitely not near a beach or river. Thanks again for your review, and I hope you will consider us again on your next trip to St. Augustine.

Sincerely.


Bob Kenyon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    139
    78
    25
    18
See reviews for
150
170
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zephyrhills, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Inn was clean in all aspects, quiet providing your room is not right on US1 (ponce de leon blvd).
Excellent breakfast with the only deficiency of this hotel being its small dining area, only 4 tables for all guests using the breakfast options, which were more than sufficient. Management was helpful with every request. Located one block from San Carlo which goes directly into downtown historic area.

Room Tip: rooms in rear were more quiet, some rooms have ac operated by a wall thermostat so unit does not ru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mymei44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Historical Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write review of the Best Western Historical Inn. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you return soon, and give us a chance to earn that fifth star. Thanks again!!!

Sincerely,

Bob Kenyon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburg, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed one night here with family when they came to visit us. The hotel is in great shape and kept up very nice! Parking can be a bit of an issue, as there were several cars in the parking lot who basically just parked where they could find room. Otherwise, the service was great and the continental breakfast was above average for what we are used to. The staff were great the next day, as my daughter left a brush and mirror in the room. I explained to them what they looked like and what room we were staying in. A few minutes later, the manager returned with both items in hand! Friendly service, clean rooms, and a nice location make it a great choice if you're staying in St. Augustine! It is a bit out of the old town area, so if you want to walk to everything, pick something closer!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronniesherard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Historical Inn, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Best Western Historical Inn. I appreciate your kind words regarding our clean rooms and friendly service. We strive for both with each and every guest. Hope to see you here again real soon.

Sincerely,

Bob Kenyon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I just spend a couple of nights, it has a great location close to everything, close to the Outlets and close to the main attractions.
Room 104 need some renovations, the ceiling is falling down, but for the price I can't ask for more. breakfast is great and the staff is friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albertousky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Historical Inn, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write of a review of the Best Western Historical Inn. I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I checked the room you stayed in, and yes the ceiling does need some attention, but is most assuredly not falling down. Please come and see us again the next time you visit our beautiful city.

Sincerely,

Bob Kenyon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
157 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I was here for two days on a short tourist vacation.

Both check in and check out were excellent. Fast and efficient, I was there and gone in almost no time. Staff were friendly and accommodating. The hotel has easy access from Ponce de Leon Dr and the street behind.

The breakfast area is small, but I had no difficulty getting the same table at the window both days. Offerings are a bit better than average, and include Kashi products.

The reception, parking lot and walkways were all clean and well looked after.

The room itself was a good size, clean, and came with a microwave, coffeemaker and coffee maker. All good. Dated decor, but I didn't care.

The bed seemed due for replacement. Not a lot of support, but it was also spotlessly clean.

The WiFi tended to be a bit iffy. The signal could be strong or weak, and sometimes didn't exist at all, although it was very strong in the lobby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GWMtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Historical Inn, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Best Western Historical Inn. Ultra clean rooms and friendly service is our goal for every guest, and I am pleased we achieved that with you. Please come back and visit the next time you are in St. Augustine.


Sincerely,

Bob Kenyon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. My daughters and I were on a little weekend get-away. We spent 2 nights. The continental breakfast was ok, the standard breakfast. There is very limited seating in the room where the continental breakfast was served so we just carried it back to our room. The front desk clerk the evening we checked in was very friendly and helpful. The hotel isn't in the historic district but still within walking distance to the antique area and several nice restaurants. I would definitely stay here again. The only complaint I had was the parking is very limited.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tj03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Historical Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Best Western Historical Inn. I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on ultra clean rooms, and superior customer service. I know parking can be a little tight, especially on weekends. It is a challenge for most properties in St. Augustine, but unlike a lot of others we offer complimentary parking. Once again, thank you for your kind words, and I hope you decide to visit us again real soon.

SIncerely,

Bob Kenyon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

The hotel is not in the center of st Augustine but not far at all, you can do a lot by walk, youth fontain, the fort and the main historical street. So the price is very good for the location.
Commodity very good

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Christophe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Historical Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Best Western Historical Inn. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope you return again real soon.

Sincerely,

Bob Kenyon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
#23 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#46 of 79 in St. Augustine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#10 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Historical Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Historical Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Historical Inn
Address: 2010 North Ponce De Leon Blvd., St. Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Historical Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Historical Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Historical Hotel Saint Augustine
Best Western Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing