We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Gem”
Review of The Blue Hen Cafe

The Blue Hen Cafe
Ranked #8 of 655 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Diner, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A recommendation from a local brewery....did not disappoint. Sweet little cafe with a lot of charm, friendly service and great food. I had the fried green tomatoes appetizer and added a side of southern slaw. It came with a great bean salad. 6 tomatoes and Icould not finish them though I tried. Awesome does not describe them justly. My husband had the fish tacos...hearty portion and he ate every last bite!
A little off the beaten track in historic Lincolnville...so happy we took the walk! Try it...you won’t be at all disappointed!!!

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank lovebostonandchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed our breakfast: corned beef hash and southern omelette with collards, swiss cheese and andouille sausage. The sweet potato fries were excellent! Good service, nicely presented.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank RKTFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

They make a great omelet and have done if the best , creamiest grits I’ve ever eaten ! They’re located in an old residential neighborhood, very picturesque. We’d go back again !

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank B1908BZnancys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went to Blue Hen on a Wednesday morning hoping for no wait for a table. All tables were taken except for a 6-top, but there were just two of us. After waiting about 10 minutes, a couple came in and the "hostess" proceeded to seat them at the 6-top. When I spoke up saying we were waiting she rudely said she was planning to seat us with the couple. I have no objection to that, but why not acknowledge us and ask us to be seated when seating them? Anyway, we ordered and waited quite a long time for the food. The waitress was very attentive with coffee and hot water refills and brought the check promptly when asked. The Zada Jane's stack with sweet potato fries was delicious. The crabmeat quiche was mediocre, and the regular home fries it came with were very dried out. After the wait to sit and then the wait for food, we were hoping for a good meal for both of us. Not the case. Too bad, because many other reviewers seem to love the place but our experience didn't match the ratings. The coffee was excellent, by the way.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank purrfectlyHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent choices for breakfast. Vert fast and friendly service in a nice atmosphere. Worth a trip to check out!

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Hen Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Blue Hen Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing