We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent find in a strip mall”
Review of PURPLE OLIVE

PURPLE OLIVE
Ranked #105 of 584 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Fredon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent find in a strip mall”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Following other recommendations, we found the Purple Olive in Saint Augustine Beach. It only opened at 5 so we had to wait in the parking lot. The restaurant filled up quickly. Bread and water are brought out quickly and the bread and oil dip are tasty. We had the early bird special that runs from 5-6:30 and both our meals were excellent. I was looking forward to shrimp bisque but it was not offered that night so I had clam chowder which was very good. I had the shrimp scampi and that too was delicious.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolDanipete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    119
    39
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Local Gem among lots of gravel...”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Don't let the strip center location fool you, this is a place where you can enjoy top notch service and food. There is something for everyone on the menu, and the value is good for the excellent choices available.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“one of the best in St. Augustine”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Gourmet food at a great price if you take advantage of the early bird special. Service is excellent.
The menu choice is extensive so it is hard not to find something you will love.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cocodog219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
230 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Still Outstanding!”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Two years ago we had dinner here and it was excellent. We returned to St. Augustine this year and three dined here on 1/28/13. They offer a diverse and extensive Early Bird menu on Tuesdays and Thursdays (5-6:30pm) and we selected items off that menu.

Early Bird entrees come with either soup of salad plus their outstanding homemade bread. With the bread comes a small cup of herbs and spices that you mix with olive oil for an excellent bread dip. The house salad is generous and fresh with a choice of several dressings. Two had the salad and I had the Lobster Bisque - EXCELLENT.

A good wine list. A glass of the house wine is very generous. A limited but OK beer list.

We agreed that our experience here was enhanced by our server, Chris S.. He knew his menu and was very personable and efficient.

The Veal Marsala ($13) was served with real mashed potatoes and asparagus. Seafood Marinara ($12.50) had shrimp, a white fish, mussels sautéed with spinach & mushrooms with a wonderful tomatoe sauce over angel hair pasta.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dutch1638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine , FL
Level Contributor
102 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Loved the vibe but the server was a bit of a bummer”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My best friend and I are 40 days apart in birth so we try to celebrate at the 1/2 way mark each year. This year being our 55 th year we wanted something special and a place we've not visited. Called ahead for priority dining, rather unwelcoming arrival and a rather DULL server. Food was fine and we will return .

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PURPLE OLIVE also viewed

Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
St. Augustine, FL
 
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
St. Augustine, FL
 
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 

Been to PURPLE OLIVE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing