We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Diamond in the rough”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of PURPLE OLIVE

PURPLE OLIVE
Ranked #91 of 579 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saint Augustine, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Diamond in the rough”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is by far the best restaurant on the island. Tucked away in a corner of a strip center, don't overlook The Purple Olive. Eat here once and you'll not go back to the big chain restaurants...food, service, atmoshpere are top notch. As i'm writing this, it just occured to me....it's dinner time....off to the Olive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jrhegness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    118
    38
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good food, good early bird special”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Have eaten at the Purple Olive several times, always between 5:00 and 6:30 for the early bird special. The food is very, very good. Unlike other early bird specials, there is a wide range of choices, all presented beautifully. Bread, olive oil, and a spice/cheese mix are always served with the drinks. The house wine is fine, nothing special. Service is excellent. The restaurant is bigger than it looks and always seems to fill up by 6:30. I guess there are a lot of us early bird special diners out there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballentine, South Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good dinner”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We ate here for dinner. We arrived between 5 and 6:30 pm to take advantage of the early bird menu. Prices were very reasonable and food was good. Service was excellent. They do have priority seating available via their website with 24 hour notice.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jlborden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Endwell, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We recently enjoyed dinner at the Purple Olive, a little gem of a restaurant tucked away in a small plaza along A1A, in St Augustine Beach Fl. This family owned and operated restaurant prepares delicious, creative entrees, breads and desserts all from scratch. Service was impeccable and the wine list was impressive.
We enjoyed the cheese plate appetizer which was more than enough for 4 adults to share. It included several cheeses, olives, nuts, fruit and crackers. There was fresh bread with dipping oil and olives on the table to share as well. The entrees we enjoyed were: Steak with Gorgonzola,Espresso Gorgonzola rubbed pork chop, fresh catch of the day which was Grouper and Fresh local grilled shrimp. Everything was cooked to perfection, served beautifully and just delicious.
I would highly recommend the Purple Olive for a wonderful dining experience next time you are in St Augustine Beach Florida.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Betsy712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, SC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC FOOD”
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We were very pleasantly surprised by how delicious the food and excellent the presentation were for this restaurant we found in a strip mall. The steaks were cooked perfectly, tender, flavorful. The mashed potatoes were creamy. The dessert was heavenly. The only room for improvement was on the time it took for us to get our food, but I must say it was worth the wait!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mbkissyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PURPLE OLIVE also viewed

Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 
St. Augustine, FL
St. Augustine, FL
 

Been to PURPLE OLIVE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing