We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusually Up-scale for the Beach Area”
Review of PURPLE OLIVE

PURPLE OLIVE
Ranked #90 of 583 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Unusually Up-scale for the Beach Area”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Despite the rather obscure location in a strip mall, the Purple Olive is a wonderful diversion to the typical beach fare. We read about this place on T/A, and most of the reviews were very positive. We're very glad we decided to try it. The atmosphere was very "classy-modern", impeccable service, and the food was excellent. A great choice to celebrate a special occasion.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Road_Warrior34655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    118
    38
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very pleasant experience”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Our supper club had a wonderful time last night at the Purple Olive. All eleven who attended raved about the food and service. Peter set us up at a table along the back which was perfect for our crowd. The restaurant has a upscale look and appears very clean. Our mothers' would have been proud because everyone cleaned their plates. I had the Salmon Moutarde with home mashed potatoes, green beans and plantains. I chose the crab bisque over salad and it was delicious. Most of us had the house wine which was very good. The restaurant has an early bird menu as well as a pre-fixe menu and the regular menu. They also had really wonderful specials. All in all we were very impressed with the Purple Olive.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reddmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglasville, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect dinner!”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised as we started off with mussels for an appetizer. My wife and I have been to many fine restaurants in Atlanta and these were probably the best mussels we had had; perfectly cooked. For our enteree, we had one of the nightly specials, flounder and lobster ravioli with crab bisque. All were large portions and perfectly prepared. The service was good even though the Saturday night dinner rush was starting. Would definitely recommend. Don't be fooled by the strip-mall locale.......

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeraldIngle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best anniversary celebration”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

What a great place to celebrate a special occasion. The service was great, Jeff our waiter went out of his way to make feel at home. Communicated it was our anniversary, and the owners took time to congratulate us.
The main entree with the available sauces made for a great experience. The crab bisque, salads and wine selection were great starters.
The experience continued with deserts that overwhelmed the taste buds.
We will make it our number one restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mwilliams157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
165 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“This restaurant is WAY to far down this list!!!”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

It is not often I write a review while still on vacation, but this restaurant is fantastic. Not to overrate myself, but living in the San Francisco Bay Area--I consider myself a bit of a foodie. The Purple Olive was a great restaurant serviing excellent meals. We are staying in St. Augustine Beach, and it is about a 10 minute drive. The only reason I found this restaurant is that is was recommended to me by a "local". The service was wonderful, they had "early bird" meals (we were there on a Thursday night), and the selection on the menu had something for everyone in our group (senior, my husband and myself, and our two kids). The desserts were amazing! Please don't be deterred by the outside and the lack of an ocean view. The interior has a nice, calm decor and is exceptionally clean. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GreekamericanMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PURPLE OLIVE also viewed

Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
St. Augustine, FL
 
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 

Been to PURPLE OLIVE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing